We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
US$312
US$303
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
US$290
US$282
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
105
64
19
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
105
64
19
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubcausey pikeopen firefamily roomhawes endevening mealexcellent foodhidden gemboth morningsstayed for nightscomfortable roomexcellent stayfull english breakfastbaconblack puddinglarge windowsnice walk
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Enjoyed our stay in this very old,quirky building. Stayed here for three nights in a large room full of character and with a large bathroom with bath and good shower (could do with a shelf to hold toiletries). Good view from large windows.
Enjoyed good breakfast. Evening meals were good quality and reasonable prices.

Room Tip: One with view towards hills.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ScotlandHattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thanks you. All good to hear.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

We booked into this inn as was planning a walk up catbells, which is just around the corner.
We started with drinks in a beautiful setting.
Meal options during the day were limited but when arrived were very nice and plentiful.
Highly recommended

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank HomerNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

Early evening dinner with the kids. Service was friendly, but not overly so. Nice menu (adults & kids). Mostly hits on the food front (burgers & scampi were a hit, but the tomato & cheese pasta was very bland) & the beer selection was grand.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank jamestK8324LT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

Recommended to try the Swinside inn last year while visiting Portinscale and we weren’t disappointed. So on our holiday this year we had no hesitation in returning, the first night the selection was limited because the menu was changing the next day, however the food we had was very good. So we returned the next night and the new menu was on, the food again was lovely. We have visited the restaurant 3 times so far, the service was efficient and friendly even though they were very busy, the servings were large! Hot and very tasty. We will be back.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Georgina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

We stayed for four nights in mid May. OK we were blessed with amazing weather, which is never certain in the Lakes, but everything else was there to make it a great stay. The accommodation is good - we stayed in the DaleHead room - no view over the fells but plenty of space and very comfortable. The breakfasts were great, packed lunches were fine and reasonably priced (proper sandwiches), and dinners were just what was needed - good quality, good quantity and good value. Nice selection of local beer in the bar too. The location is a real bonus if you like to be somewhere quiet and where you can walk straight from the pub. Newlands valley is gorgeous. Finally, a word for the staff. They couldn't have tried harder, but they were on occasions slightly snowed under by the volume of customers. Victims of their own success I suppose - or perhaps they could just put more staff on? Either way - it didn't matter - we weren't in a hurry. Thoroughly recommended - we would come again.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cm642016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Haha. Can't dispute that one. Would you like a job? :)
Lucinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews