We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow !”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Malena

pool view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
pool view
master bedroom airy and light blue and white bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
pool view
master bedroom airy and light
blue and white bedroom
twin bedroom
kitchen
swimminng pool
living room
yakuzzi bathroom
veranda view
veranda view
sundown
swimming in pool with infinite  and amazing view
breathtaking view from villa Malena
allmost night view  !!!
Glossa village from Malena villa
Kastani  beach 
(mama mia film)
sundown villa view
view from pool at sunset
covered terrace
relax enjoying infinite  blue
an other view of the villa
Looking at the Aegean sea from Malena villa
St. John church (mamma mia film)
sailing boats in Loutraki harbour
Green on blue
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Glossa, Skopelos, Sporades

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emma S
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wow !”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This villa is wonderful.
The owners Philipe and Kalliopi were delightful and could not have been better hosts.
The villa is just a few minutes by car from Glossa ( good car hire Dreams cars on Phlipe's recommendation) it is just off the main road on the island.
Its position is fabulous, perched high on the hillside it has amazing views across to Skiathos and far beyond.
It was quiet and secluded, the occasional noise of a car or bike was compensated for by the convenience of location. Just a couple of minutes to the well stocked supermarket owned by the happiest woman on the planet! She greeted us like long lost relatives on every visit and filled our bags with free little chocolate bars 'for the children ' every time we popped in. The bakery was next door and made the iconic Skopelos cheese pie ...
We found some beautiful beaches and great snorkelling spots, another highlight was the sunset kayaking trip run by Skopelos Kyaking. Eating out was reasonable, the Agnanti in Glossa a real treat, in fact we went back twice !
The villa is immaculately clean, spacious, and the pool as good as the photo, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it , a brilliant spot and would love to return one day !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janr1971
Holmrook, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely villa with amazing views!”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The villa has the most spectacular views out to sea which you never get tired of looking at!
It is quite well equipped and nice and spacious. The owners were very helpful, especially when we had problems when we arrived and the rental car hadn't turned up. Philip greeted us at the port and was brilliant in helping us get there and also helping us sort a new car hire which would have been a challenge otherwise. He also quickly ran us down to the local shop to get a few groceries which was really helpful as there is no welcome pack with this villa (although we were given a lovely bottle of wine as a welcome gift).

We have said the villa is good value as there is only a choice between yes, no and N/A but really what we wanted to say is that it is very close to being a little over-priced.

One of the reasons we chose this villa is because we wanted total privacy and whilst it is totally private from other villas (it is not overlooked at all), there is a road right in front (the main road that links Glossa to the rest of the island), so does impinge slight with privacy and noise, especially from the motorbikes / scooters.

The pool is really lovely, quite a good size compared to other villas we have been to and still enjoys the views without any obstructions. The only improvement could possibly be if it was heated (we didn't have great weather the first week so it was a little too cool).

The proximity to Glossa town is a 20 - 25 minute walk and the town has a couple of tavernas / restaurants with one particularly nice restaurant (Agnanti which we have also reviewed). There are also a couple of supermarkets and plenty of bakeries (a couple even have cafes attached), a pharmacy and a small gift shop plus a nice organic food shop and a church. Glossa wouldn't be suitable for people who want a more lively resort as it is very quiet and traditional and not so suitable for people with mobility issues as it is very hilly with lots of steps.

We didn't venture down to Loutraki port at night but did go down during the day and it was reasonably busy with a number of tavernas, bakers and you the ferry agent is based here so you can book your tickets here to Skiathos. If you wanted a day trip to Alonnisos without a car you can get a boat from Skopelos town but if you want to take your car it appears that you cannot do this in a day, you would have to stay overnight.

Whilst we didn't find any private coves (and we did try) many of the beaches are very quiet with pebbles, some are manned, others aren't. Unfortunately there seemed to be a problem with ants on the beaches we tried. Some of the really quiet beaches do entail a bit of a walk down to them.

Some of the roads on the island are dirt roads and are very rough so can be a bit nerve raking if you aren't a confident driver and you are expected to use these to get to some of the local beaches.

Overall it was exactly what we hoped for in the sense that it was very quiet, authentic Greece, hardly touched by tourism yet we didn't lack for anything we needed.

The island is very picturesque and is approximately 80% trees!

We hope to one day return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the pool
Liked least: Noise and proximity of the road
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franbat86
Cannon Beach, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My husband & I stayed at Villa Malena for a week in July. The property is ideally situated high above the main road just 1km outside of Glossa, with breathtaking views of the Aegean & Skiathos. We loved sitting on the terrace watching the sail boats go out while sipping our morning coffee. We also enjoyed the same terrace in the afternoon for mezes & wine. The villa was well-equipped & the pool was perfect for a daily dip. I'm hoping we have another opportunity to return soon!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views & the proximity to Glossa
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roundhayl...
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Arrived here on the 29th May for two weeks (we are still here)! It's our honeymoon! We were met by Philip coming off the ferry and he brought us up to the Villa. What a stunningly situated property. The views alone are worth the money. I could look out at that view all day and not get bored. Philip has been so helpful - showing us around, making sure we knew everything about the villa - he even invited us to Glossa for a drink. He's also here quite frequently in the morning to clean the pool (very early - we hardly noticed he had been)Such a lovely man.
The villa has everything you need and more for a lovely stay. Philip left us a bottle of wine and some Greek sweets as a honeymoon present which we thought was a lovely touch. I would say you definitely need a car whilst here. We are so blown away by Skopelos. So beautiful and almost untouched by tourists. Glossa is beautiful and we also loved Skopelos town. Cleaners come to the villa twice a week, fairly early but we were left alone in bed whilst they cleaned. The wifi is fantastic!!!! The pool is brilliant!!!! Honestly we can't wait to come back. Get booking!!! Thank you Philip xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith T
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tranquil Villa Malena with stunning view of Aegean”
Reviewed 24 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Villa Malena is very special - close to the unspoilt town of Glossa (which has a great restaurant - Agnanti) and a well stocked family run supermarket near the taxi rank. We flew to Skiathos and then took the sea-cat ferry to Glossa (Loutraki). Philip (husband of owner) met us at the ferry terminal and led the way to the villa - about 10 mins from harbour and 5 mins from Glossa (by car) where we were welcomed by his wife Kalliopi.

Glossa is much quieter than Skopelos town and the people were all so nice and friendly - to a large extent a place unspoilt by tourism.

The villa is very well equipped - Wi-fi was especially useful and reliable. A fantastic place to just relax by the stunning pool and absorb the tranquility of the olive groves.

Philip was available for entire 14 days and was ever-ready to deal with any problem.

We look forward to returning to the Villa Malena in the not too distant future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A wonderful view of Aegean (especially Skiathos) from the villa and pool
Liked least: second bedroom bed was rather uncomfortable (in comparison with bed in master bedroom)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing