We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
bathroom
kitchen
outside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Braithwaite, Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lambers20...
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
460 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 19 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Lovely basic accomodation in the heart of Braithwaite and close to Keswick.
Cosy accomodation and ideal as a base to explore the Lake District.
We'll equipped kitchen and with wifi.
Recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
0798anne
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
489 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 19 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for a week. Just got home today. Lovely little place. The rooms are very quaint as you can see from the photo. There's a courtyard and allocated parking spaces so you don't need to worry about that. They allow dogs. Not sure if there's a limit. We had our one but another family had 2. Rooms are well appointed. Kitchener with all pots and pans and cutlery. Toaster , microwave and fan oven. Fab. Shower room with wc and sink. We took our dog crate and there was room for it easily. There's a little track opposite that passes the campsite and goes into fields. Handy for dog to wee. Pub behind allows dogs but not at mealtimes. This wasn't a problem as we just sat outside on the benches and they brought our food out. The food is fab by the way - don't think I've had better in a pub. There is an office in the mews but I never saw anyone in it and the owners don't bother you. Very peaceful and stress free. Prices are good. There are hills to walk locally and it's only half a mile into Keswick if you need groceries or fish n chips. There's free wifi too. Recommended. Would return definitely.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Hard mattress gave me sore hips but to be fair I'm used to sleeping on a tempur so wasn't their fault
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy_Dola...
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely little base”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here for 3 nights . Great location. I was able to walk into Keswick, Portinscale and Whinlatter Forest, there were also signposts locally for osprey viewing points . There is a lovely walk starting here up the only fell in Braithwaite. I stayed in cottage 1. It was lovely and clean with allocated parking for 1 car. Towels aren't supplied. Two local pubs , Coldale Inn was lovely , only went in for a drink but menu looked great , menu in cottage had no veggie options but they are available. I went to Royal Oak for food but it is only dog friendly at certains times so gave it a miss. General store has been closed for some time but there is a 'shop in a box' for essentials and 2 supermarkets in Keswick. On arrival there was a notice stating dogs are allowed but not upstairs or on furniture which was difficult to explain to my pooch . I understand why but my dog is used to sleeping in crate beside my bed and sitting on my lap or on fleece blanket on sofa so she cried most of the night and I couldn't relax in the cottage .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYBERJIMB...
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Great Basic Accomodation Handy for Keswick and Surroundings”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Located in the centre of the small village of Braithwaite, the mews are 7 small bedsit type accomodations. there is a small court yard for parking which can get a bit tight if there are a few people with cars staying in the anex house. The place was clean and fresh though decor a bit dated but in keeping with olde farmhouse style. There was everything we could have needed, There is a toilet/ shower room which looks new. They are also dog friendly which is a big bonus and the place was clean with no sign of previous dog.
This is an ideal location for exploring the hills especially Catbells nearby. There is a great pub called the Royal Oak 2 mins walk from the accomodation and its food is excellent. you are a 10 min drive or 25 min walk to Keswick. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it for couples, dog lovers and walkers. Hope to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: location was ideal for exploring the lakes
Liked least: the bed could have been more comfortable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin B
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and cosy .10mins from Keswick.brill”
Reviewed 24 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very comfortable stay.bed was extremely comfy.bus stop to Keswick near by if needed.Royal oak pub and shop close by.would return again........

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing