We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$677
Booking.comUS$677
Orbitz.comUS$677
CheapTicketsUS$677
TravelocityUS$677
ZenHotels.comUS$793
View all 10 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
167
27
6
12
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
167
27
6
12
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an amazing experience water sports overwater villa amazing property big villas jain food touch service celebration cake best days of my life restaurant service enjoyed my stay villa pool restaurant team guest experience spacious rooms amazing hospitality unforgettable trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2021

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Zafer Agacan, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2021

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 April 2021

SUMMARY - Horrible service; staff is extremely rude and inhospitable; staff is clueless about their own services/menus and wasted our time for basic things; restaurant manager harassed us; serious problems with buggy transportation; ruined our Maldives experience; not worth the money at all.

While the Radisson Blu resort in Maldives is very beautiful, the service is so pathetic that it makes it difficult to enjoy the scenic views and the peaceful ocean. Apart from a handful of restaurant staff and the front office manager, the staff was extremely clueless and extremely rude. We stayed at the resort for 4 nights and faced several new problems everyday. On the first day, when we arrived at the resort after half a day of hectic travel, the staff “welcomed us” by saying NO to all our requests. We were super hungry and wanted to order in-villa dining for lunch along with drinks. The staff on the phone was extremely clueless about the menu and basic stuff like the mini bar menu and prices. It took over an hour for us to get something from the mini bar, which should’ve been in the refrigerator in our room to begin with.

Since the resort is pretty spread out, buggies (golf carts) are used to transport guests. One of the guests in our group headed to breakfast earlier in a buggy. When the other two called for another buggy to take them to breakfast, at first they were promised a buggy within 5 minutes of the requested time, however, even after 15 minutes the buggy didn’t show up. When they called to enquire about the delay, they were questioned and SCOLDED for not going in that same buggy as the first guest and were denied an additional one. The resort had a shortage of buggies in general and the staff was not even nice about it. Instead of apologizing and telling us that a buggy is not available, they would unrealistically promise that a buggy would be there in 5 minutes or 10 minutes, which caused a delay in our plans. At some point, one of the reception staff also accused me of lying - they promised us that a buggy would arrive in 5 minutes and when we questioned them about where the buggy was after waiting for more than 30 minutes, they said they never gave us a timeframe. Unfortunately, we also visited at a time when the weather was pretty unpredictable with storms and rain all throughout the day, despite the bad weather the staff refused to help with the buggy situation considering our villa was at the extreme end of the resort. We understood that there was a shortage of buggies, but the staff was never upfront about it and made us wait unnecessarily when no buggy was scheduled for us. My group scheduled a buggy for 1:30 pm on one of the days well in advance as we were to reach the dive center for our scuba diving session. The buggy of course never came, and when we called the reception to check, they showed no urgency or no sense of apology, they just simply said the buggy will take time. We were of course late. The same no show situation for buggies happened several times, even when it started pouring and we were waiting at a restaurant or at the reception to go back to our villa.

We visited their pool side restaurant called ‘Crusoes’ and had the most awful experience there. To begin with, the staff was extremely clueless about their own menu which only had about 10 items. We ordered 2 sandwiches and we specifically requested them not to add tomatoes to either due to certain dietary restrictions, however, we received sandwiches with tomatoes. The waiter specially asked us if we would like bacon in our sandwich to which we said yes, but we received one without bacon and when we questioned them about the same, they brought the bacon on the side post our meal was over. Because of this disappointing experience and not having enjoyed our meal, we politely requested them to not charge us for the sandwich since it was not what we had requested. The waited responded saying he will check with his manager and let us know and eventually agreed to not charge us. At first we were happy that the staff understood our situation and prioritized their guests, however, little did we know this small request would later turn into a huge fiasco. The settling of the bill was followed by finding a fly in a drink we had ordered. We showed this to bar staff who was extremely rude and aggressive and requested them to hold on to the fresh drink since we had a spa appointment, however, he outrightly denied our request and aggressively told us that he won’t keep waiting for us. We thought this was the end of the whole Crusoes experience, but turns out that at night, which also happened to be our last night, the Raha restaurant manager (named LULU) post dinner brought the Crusoes incident up in front of all other guests and staff members and tried to harass and embarrass us by saying that we forced the Crusoes waiter to pay for the sandwich out of his own pocket since we refused to pay for it, even though we had just requested politely and the waiter had responded aggressively. We offered to pay for the sandwich there and then and even did so to Lulu, however, he was extremely disrespectful and out of line. He went to the extent of threatening us by saying “What will you do? Put a bad review of Trip Advisor, Whatsapp, etc.” This was a complete put off coming from someone who is a so called ‘restaurant manager’. It completely ruined our last night at the resort.

The reception staff was extremely slow and uninformed and took almost 1.5 hours to check us out. Thank god we checked out and settled our bill the night before, otherwise we would’ve surely missed our scheduled seaplane.

The resort was supposed to offer a complimentary photo shoot as mentioned in their services brochure. We went to the reception to book one and as usual had a rocky experience with this as well. The staff member was clueless about the photo shoot and wasted about 1.5 hours in getting us basic information. He was super confused and first told us that the resort no longer offers this service (FALSE). Then he said that they do offer it but it’s not part of our package. After showing him the word “COMPLIMENTARY” written on the brochure, he went back to check and told us that the service is available but we have to book it 24 hours in advance. No such information was given on the brochure, so we asked to talk to someone more senior in the staff. Information regarding booking in advance should clearly be stated along with the photo shoot information in the brochure. Judit, the front office manager, apologized to us and said that they won’t be able to arrange a photo shoot but she would send a member of the staff to click some pictures for our group on our phones. Not to our surprise, the person who was doing our photo shoot showed up much later than the scheduled time. The timing was especially critical because the photo shoot, along with our floating breakfast, was scheduled for the same morning when we were checking out and heading back. The delay almost made us miss the return seaplane.

At the same time as the photo shoot delay, there was another huge fiasco with our floating breakfast the morning we were leaving (Tuesday). We had initially scheduled the floating breakfast for Monday morning. However, it ended up raining heavily that morning so the staff called us and asked us to reschedule the breakfast for Tuesday morning. Since our return seaplane was scheduled for Tuesday at 9:45 am, and we had to leave our villa at 8:45 am, we asked them to schedule the breakfast and photoshoot for 7:30 am so we would have enough time to enjoy the breakfast, do the photoshoot and then leave the villa in time. They agreed and assured us that the floating breakfast as long as the person doing our photoshoot will be at our villa at 7:30 am. Not to our surprise, no one showed up at 7:30. When we called to check about our breakfast, the staff was clueless as always and later called us back and said that the kitchen was starting to prepare our breakfast. The person who was doing our photoshoot showed up at 8:00 am. The breakfast was nowhere to be seen. After a lot of back and forth with the front office manager and the staff member outside our villa, at about 8:20 am, we saw a golf cart with breakfast arriving. But this was not the end of it either. The breakfast tray that arrived was for a regular breakfast, not a floating breakfast. Even at this stage, the staff’s first reaction was not to apologize and admit that there was a mix up on their end and they sent us the wrong type of breakfast when we specifically requested for a floating breakfast (and even filled out a form with our choice of dishes). They first questioned us and after wasting a few more minutes, they agreed to get a floating tray and transferred the food to the floating tray, leaving us only a few minutes before we have to leave our villa and head towards our return seaplane. We did not even get any time to eat the breakfast, which was already cold after all the waiting. We were already so frustrated with the service, the delayed buggies, and the harassing episode with restaurant manager LULU from the night before, and this breakfast/photoshoot really topped all of that.

Room tip: Don't go here if you're looking for good service and hospitality.
Date of stay: March 2021
Thank ek542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zafer Agacan, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2021

Dear ek542,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review.

We have carefully read through your impressions and sentiments about the aspects of your stay which were not satisfactory, and we have thoroughly investigated the issues that you mentioned.

I understand that after a long journey, you wished to stay in the room and order in-villa dining. Our record shows that we delivered the in-villa dining according to the ordered food and beverages and in timely manner. Regards the empty minibar, the resort adheres to the recommendations related to the Covid-19 pandemic, we have to eliminate some touch points and minimize amenities inside the room, such as the minibar. We only deliver minibar upon guest request, as we have delivered this to your villa. When later, you did not consume all the items the you ordered, we accommodated your request to return all the minibar items and rebated unconsumed items.

Our beautiful resort is designed so that you will get all the benefits of the wonderful Maldives lifestyle with the natural spaces. As such, we only have a limited buggy service, to assist the infirm, the elderly, and families with young children or infants. With the feedback that we have received related to the buggy, we are in the process of procuring new buggies so we can assist more guests who need the transportation around the island.

I sincerely apologize that the service at Crusoe’s bar did not meet your expectation. We follow the procedure to repeat our guests’ order, but somehow miscommunications can still happen. Thus, upon your feedback the team agreed not to charge the sandwich. We acknowledge that there was a fly in one of your drink. Being in a tropical climate and with the outdoor setting of the bar, even with regular pest treatment, we cannot entirely control the island ecosystem. As such, the bartender served you three complimentary drinks as replacement.

I am disappointed to read about the incident with our Food and Beverage Manager, Lulu. You requested to be served complimentary drinks in the bar, which was not a part of the meal package, which only includes drinks served during the meal time, in our restaurant. Our team members present during the conversation reported that you irately threw some money at Lulu, and all the while he was politely trying to explain to you the package inclusions.

Regarding your bill settlement, our staff had prepared it for you, but since you wished for the bill to be split among the three of you, it did, of course, take time.

The complimentary photoshoot is provided by a third party operator, the Diving and Water Sport Center, this information is mentioned in their brochure and provided based on availability. As a gesture of goodwill, our Front Office Manager, Judit, offered a staff member to take your photos which was scheduled in the morning in the same time as the in-villa breakfast. Unfortunately, it was also bad weather in that morning of your departure date, that was why our staff who was assigned to take the photo arrived late to your villa, as well as the in-villa breakfast delivery.

Kindly be informed that your package inclusion was in-villa breakfast, not the floating breakfast, and the form that was filled out was also an in-villa breakfast order. Nevertheless, we tried to compensate and provide the floating breakfast. Inevitably, it is not possible to maintain the food temperature, as it was being served on a tray and placed at an open space of the pool.

We regret that despite the number of complimentary items and benefits to attempt service recovery that were provided, it seems that only giving you more rebates and discounts would have prevented the post on this platform.

Thank you again and we hope we can deliver you a better service in the future.

Warm regards,
Zafer Agacan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2021 via mobile

One of the best experiences in my life amazing resort must visit but keep in mind to bring your own food..as a Pakistani the only food i liked was the Asian cuisine in its restaurant named raha.. But resort is really amazing and lavishly constructed

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank haseebasif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zafer Agacan, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2021

Dear Haseeb,

Thank you for choosing us as your honeymoon destination. We strive to make your stay rich with memorable moments because for us every moment matters.

We are glad that you enjoyed the food in Raha restaurant. We recommend Crusoe’s bar on the adult island for more Asian cuisine option.

Thank you again for your review. We wish you both the very best and look forward to celebrate with you as you share many more years together.

Sunny regards,
Zafer Agacan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2021

The facility is nice and dreamy, however the staff’s incompetence makes it super stressful!
1. No facility tour to explain the services and your way around, we ended up discovering things on our own and missed on complimentary services .
2. They don’t pick up the phone and when they do they respond at least 4 hrs later with several follow-ups
4. Food is average and limited choices
3. The prices online are not true - once you get there everything is ++ (12% service fee + 5% tax)

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LaylaTravel35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zafer Agacan, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2021

Dear Layla,

Thank you for posting your review.

I am very disappointed to read that our team did not give you enough information regarding the resort facility and services, and that it took a while for our team to respond to your enquiry. These are not the high standard of service that we strive to deliver and I sincerely apologize for any disappointment or inconvenience this may have caused.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the food, we are always looking for ways we can cater to our guests’ culinary preferences, we have received much positive feedback for our food quality and variety.

I am concerned to read your comment that the prices online are not true. We mention clearly the tax and service charges in our website, please share with us the link which indicate otherwise to info.maldives@radisson.com, so we can put corrective actions.

We appreciate your comment that the facility is nice and dreamy as the highlight of your stay. I hope that we may have the chance to regain your confidence in your future visit to the Maldives.

Warm regards,
Zafer Agacan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2021 via mobile

It was an extremely pleasant stay, all the staff were more than helpful especially Modex, Yellow, MinYoung, Adam at Crusoes and my favorite waiter at Eats and Beats that I can’t remember his name! All round an amazing experience, I’m sad to leave.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Deenieuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zafer Agacan, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2021

Dear Deenie,

Thank you so much for the review.

I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay with the beautiful view and amazing experience.

We appreciate your praise for the genuine service delivered by all the staff, especially Modex, Yellow, Minyoung, Adam, and our team at Eats & Beats. We all cherished your kind words.

We were very sad too that you left and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Sunny regards,
Zafer Agacan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews