We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Review of The Lifeboat House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Brancaster, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Poor - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

A5879WAja...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice enough property, but, very poor on the details”
Reviewed 8 January 2020 for a stay in December 2019

Christmas week booking, with friends.

On entering the property at 4pm first day and it was stone cold - very unwelcoming. It took 2 hours to warm up, which wasn't good especially given one of our party was elderly. The house is seriously lacking wardrobe space and only 1 solitary hanger between us! Several lightbulbs were out, so we had to start swapping lamps around. The next - most irritating issue - given the upcoming Christmas dinner celebrations, was the lack of decent crockery - we were a party of 5, so a larger party would have difficulties unless you didn't mind 'mixing & matching' bowls and plates to eat off of! Moreover, a lot of it was chipped and cracked so both unhygienic and deeply unpleasant to use. The random sized and patterened cups we found dismal too.

On a plus point, the kitchen was well stocked with glassware, utensils, knives and pots etc. The large range cooker was useful, but, using the grill tripped the electrics. The consumer unit had to be located and was found in the downstaires bedroom, extraordinarly at ceiling height! My jogging leggings got ripped by a nail whilst sitting on the bench seating in the lobby room. Very annoying.

Raising these concerns with the agent directly on the Monday did elicit a helpful response and some of the issues were put right. The owner did in fact take it upon himself to provide us with enough undamaged plates to eat our meals on and the local property manager provided light bulbs.

We enjoyed our week out and about on the beautiful beaches and were comfortable in the lounge in the evenings and mostly slept well in the beds. I do hope our complaints are fully addressed, for others to benefit but i won't be returning to this property myself in the future.

Date of stay: December 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2020
Thank you for your review of The Lifeboat House. We were made aware of the issues you have raised and as you have mentioned, we did our best to resolve these during your stay. We do take your comments on board and we hope to welcome you back to Norfolk again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMont
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dirty, badly maintained, and no wifi”
Reviewed 26 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We had used Norfolk Hideaways before and had a lovely cottage to stay in. However this experience was not good at all. Dirty bathroom, taps which didn't work, broken loo seat, broken lightbulbs, and no wifi. Norfolk Hideaways sent an engineer who confirmed Wifi was not working, and the day before we left, we were given a hub which also did not work (no wires etc). So many personal effects, and personal pictures of children - in appropriate to the rental community.
Good location, we had amazing weather, but would not recommend staying at this house. We would visit the area, but not this house.

Date of stay: October 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shar0nh0m...
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible”
Reviewed 2 February 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This property whilst lovely in its layout leaves so much to be desired we nearly left the minute we arrived for new year. Broken cots. Uncovered electrical sockets. Food in the pantry and freezer. Broken curtains. Spiders splatted stains on the walls. Chipped plates and cups. Plus the true bonus was enough personal belongings from the owners to think you had accidentally broken into a private home. Private family photos everywhere including the bathroom. Cupboards full of stuff. Drawers full of stuff. Pantry full of stuff. The electrical box wooden cover was ripped off the wall in the lower bedroom and thrown into the wardrobe. A grand total of 3 hangers in the entire property plus enough dust on all the personal belongings to give you asthma. Norfolk Hideaways were fabulous whilst we were there in their attempts to deal with the issues but since our return have ignored our correspondence after offering us a small refund as the owner was unwilling to offer any recompense.

Date of stay: December 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2018
I have spoken at length to the owner of The Lifeboat House, regarding your email and have forwarded your complaints onto him. He would very much like the opportunity to speak with you regarding your complaint as he was very disappointed to read your email as the property is his much loved second home. I rang this morning to ask if you would be happy for him to give you a call so that this matter can be resolved as promptly as possible, however I was only able to leave a voicemail. If you could let me know, it would be much appreciated. Norfolk Hideaways

I’m sorry but I am not happy to talk directly with the owner as I have spoken to you and your colleague at length as the agents for the property. I have also provided pictures and a list of our complaint.

I’m sure it is a much loved second home as I would love to own a property like this within our family. However, it is inappropriate to rent this property with such a lot of personal effects unless it is being rented with an agent such as owners direct where you rent it in the knowledge that it is a personalised space. Plus the maintenance problems are an issue that is unacceptable regardless of how the property is rented. Guest.

I do understand that you may not wish to speak with the owner of the property; he simply felt that he wanted the opportunity to discuss things with you and saw this as the best way to resolve the matter promptly. I have let him know that you would prefer to continue with Norfolk Hideaways acting as an intermediary and have asked how he wishes to proceed as of course the contract of hire is between yourself and the homeowner. Norfolk Hideaways.

On this occasion, the owner has confirmed that he does not wish to offer recompense or a refund. He has advised me that as the booking went ahead and the full 4 night stay was used, he has incurred standard costs from the housekeepers along with additional costs in having to have work done to the wood burner following coal having been burnt.

Whilst the owner does not wish to offer a refund at this time, he has requested that his sincere apologies are passed on as he appreciates that your stay was not all that he would hope for it to be. He has taken your feedback on board and has requested Norfolk Hideaways’ assistance in ensuring the property is up to the high standard we expect. We remain in discussions regarding this.

As per our conversation earlier in the week, Norfolk Hideaways’ offer of a £300.00 goodwill gesture still stands. I can credit this now to the card your balance was paid on and funds will usually take approximately 3-5 working days to appear in your account. Please let me know if you are happy for me to action this.

I look forward to hearing from you. Norfolk Hideaways.

Could you arrange the payment of £300 please as per your email below as I have been unable to speak to you since we discussed this on our last phone call.

We remain extremely disappointed by our experience in this matter.

Please advise us by email when the credit has been made. Guest.

Thank you for your email, we can confirm that, as offered in our previous correspondence, a refund of £300.00 has been processed back on to the card on which the holiday was paid for (card ending in XXXX), the credit should appear in the next couple of days.

We are very sorry that there was a need to complain but we very much hope that the above gesture of goodwill from Norfolk Hideaways brings this matter to a satisfactory conclusion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.