We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic property in country location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of L'Escale

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Saint-Ouen-La-Rouerie, Ille-et-Vilaine, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
SopranosM...
Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic property in country location”
Reviewed 31 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A stay at L'Escale does not disappoint. Quite simply it is the most comfortable accommodation that we have stayed in, in France. Paul's attention to detail is spot on and the accommodation is light, modern and spotlessly clean. We particularly like the well equipped kitchen and spacious dining area. Paul is on hand for help and advice but not all intrusive in terms of your stay. Harvey, the resident canine is also very welcoming and a master at catching the tennis ball ! All in all, this accommodation can't be faulted and we can't wait to return or our next visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2017
Thank you Karen, it is always a pleasure to welcome such nice repeat visitors to L'Escale. Harvey enjoys his treats and the attention very much. Hope to see you again soon. Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing hideaway”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

L'escale is a picturesque French long barn in a secluded part of the village. Ideally situated for both the sightseer and those who just want to get away from it all. The interior is stylishly furnished and very comfortable. There is everything you could possibly need. This includes basic items such as bread, croissant, cheese etc which are left in the gite. The owner Paul, is very accommodating and his knowledge of the local is a definite advantage.
The outside area is equally pleasant with table chairs and s bbq.
This was a return visit and we shall certainly be back again. I would highly recommend l'escale to anyone visiting this part of France.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2017
Hi Tony, thank you for such a lovely review. Always nice to see a familiar face returning again. See you next year hopefully. Kind regards Paul.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay - highly recommended”
Reviewed 13 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Had a superb weekend here, photos don't do it justice, it's a real home from home and has everything you need and more. Paul provides a fantastic service and made sure we didn't want for anything, location is good and is a short car ride to a variety of historic and picturesque towns. Can't think of anything that could have been better. If we return to the area we will definitely stay again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, if you need a base to explore the area again it would be great to see you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$105
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing