We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Great day out

This place makes great use of the reservoir and damn. It is located in the middle of the National... read more

Reviewed 16 October 2016
Jimmuswell
,
Barnet, United Kingdom
Sunday countryside stroll!

Situated in a valley, the scenery from the dam on a clear sunny day, (like today) is breathtaking... read more

Reviewed 20 September 2015
seakingaviator
via mobile
Read all 257 reviews
  
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
105
96
33
16
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
105
96
33
16
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

We did it 7 days in a row and loved it! Just over one hour south of Napoli and the Amalfi coast this recreational place offers a unique horseback riding experience in a national park you won't expect. A beautiful lake, mountainous surroundings

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank 181Erik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Labanca, Direttore at Oasi Fiume Alento, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Thank you very much, Erik.
We hope to see you again..we'll wait you here!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

This place makes great use of the reservoir and damn. It is located in the middle of the National Park of Cilento, a massive area to the south of Campania. We were staying about an hour away on the coast and having seen the website, felt it was worth the 60 min drive to the dam. Unfortunately the weather wasn't too good on the day we went, but we could see the potential of the attraction. There are gardens, picnic area's, a restaurant, animal enclosures and great walks in the countryside. They also offer guided tours of the dam. A great family day out on a nice day.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Jimmuswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Labanca, Direttore at Oasi Fiume Alento, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2016

Thank you for your review, we hope you will have the opportunity to visit again Cilento and our oasis in the future, in a beautiful sunny day.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

Situated in a valley, the scenery from the dam on a clear sunny day, (like today) is breathtaking. Mountains, reservoir, trees and a small herd of alpacas and pygmy goats! Bizarre but true.
Spent a relaxing aftn here, walking around the whole site. €5 entrance fee each. Reasonable. We parked in the shade and went to the information area to see if we could get a mac of the trails. It was free so not sure if I was expecting too much but I seriously wouldn't bother with the map, waste of time. Most of the walking trails aren't on it! Walking is seemingly not what is popular here anyway, most patrons hire bikes, €3 each I think. But as we never intended too I didn't check out if there was a time scale on that price, however, it's not expensive anyway. On a bike you'd obviously be able to cycle round the entire park area, however again the map supplied does not include all the areas accessible. We walked in one direction for approx 65 mins and came across a boundary gate, although open it lead onto somewhere not on our map, and in actual fact we were well off the general map area by this point anyway. We doubled back. Crossed the bridge and walked back along the trail, hoping it would bring us out at the dam as per the map we'd been given. Err! Not exactly! We ended up on an access road inside the alpaca enclosure! After following a so-called walking trail.
This place is set up for visiting families, with BBQ picnic areas, kids play areas, cafe, loos etc. Whilst the mapping side of things could be vastly improved, the place itself is a lovely way to enjoy the countryside in this area, you could easily spend a day here if you brought a picnic and explored the birdwatching hides etc.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank seakingaviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Labanca, Direttore at Oasi Fiume Alento, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2016

Dear guest,
thank you for your review and for your suggestion about our maps!
Your faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The dam is the biggest in the South and the lake is significant to the local economy.
We have visited the dam with our guide Rosaria Tancredi.
She really knows a lot about it and we have also visited the inside of the dam.
And explains spontaneously and eagerly.
Visiting the dam was the best part of the day, a worthwhile experience. (Dress appropriately and with adequate shoes, it is cold inside the dam).
The success of this dam visit was thanks to the guide we had.

Entrance to the park is €5 per adult.
It includes the visit to the dam.
Summer entrance is free after 19.00. (from 1 to 25 August)

There is a Restaurant, and I bought the adult menu with the entrance, for a total of €15.
Children menu costs €8.
Food in the self service restaurant is good and abundant.
There is also a pic-nic area.
We were also allowed to take some of our own food and drinks into the restaurant.

Trip on the lake with the boat is slightly expensive at €3.50 for adults and children each. And while the guide knew a lot about the lake, it was the right questions which made him talk a lot about the birth and economy of the lake (it is important to agriculture and drinking water).
The submerged houses are an impressive view.
But you need to ask the right questions.

The park which follows the dam is 6 kilometer and is ideal to do walking or by bicycle. These can be rented in the park at €3 per hour.
You can also rent an electric car at €14 per hour.

The park is still in development and there is more to come in future.
The visit is dependent on your expectations, and your happiness with the visit depends on your own initiative.
The park is manned by a cooperative and volunteers and they are helpful, but probably need more organization and a framework (management).
The potential for development and improvement is significant.

Date of experience: August 2013
5  Thank marnixgroet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews