We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great for families with children”
other travellers have booked this property
Living Room with gas fireplace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room with gas fireplace
Large deck with partial lake view Fully equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Living Room with gas fireplace
Large deck with partial lake view
Fully equipped kitchen
Fully equipped kitchen
Living Room with gas fireplace
Living Room with gas fireplace
Dining table seats 8
First floor queen bedroom
Full bath with tub/shower downstairs
Second floor bedroom
Second floor bedroom
Full bath with shower upstairs
Backyard
Backyard
Back of House
Furnished deck with partial lake view
View of lake
Charcoal and propane BBQ
Cabin Fever
Cabin Fever
Ample parking for 3 cars - appox. 31' wide by 17.5' deep
Walk to the Lake
Walk to the Village
Sorry, no pets
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
917jeff
San Diego, California
1 review
“Great for families with children”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Excellent location and the most enjoyable backyard. We had a blast at Presidents' Day weekend at this location. Kids loved the backyard. Very easy walk to the lake with children considering no convenient sidewalks at Big Bear.
Perfect setting for two families since there are two bedrooms and one full bath on each floor. Owner is very easy to reach and responsive. We will definitely coming back next winter.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ragnarok...
1 review
“Big Best Lake Réveillon Escape”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Well located and very organized, the cabin was the perfect place for a family of seven to spend the holidays in peace, quietly enjoying the snowy weather.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua P
1 review
“Picturesque scenery, spacious, modern (yet rustic) cabin, and attentive owner.”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Dave (the owner) promptly answered all of my questions before the trip. Not that he needed to because he had provided a green binder in the bookcase that pre-addressed all of my questions. The cabin was clean, comfortable, and spacious. The backyard was incredible! We created lifelong Christmas memories sledding down the gentle slope that was covered in 3 feet of powdery snow. We are definitely heading back next year! Great getaway!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Yorba Linda, California
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Excellent cabin and owners! Property management company needs assistance.”
Reviewed 28 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We spent three nights in this lovely Big Bear cabin with our kids and grandson. Plenty of room to spread out and relax as well as to eat and cook. The gas fireplace provided good warmth in the living area, however, the thermostat for the furnace is in the master bedroom. When we closed our door, the rest of the cabin bedrooms got quite cold. This was also the case when the master bedroom door was left open. Just be sure to bring really warm jammies.

Communication with the owner was excellent and he was very quick to respond to our inquiries. We can't say enough about how much we appreciated this as we have not had this good communication in the past with different rentals. This location also have free, great wi-fi. We didn't watch television but there was a large library of DVDs and a big flat screen tv over the fireplace.

The location has a view through the trees of the lake. There is also a gas grill on the outside balcony but you must provide your own propane (wish we had been told this in advance). As described, It is just over a mile walk to the village, however, there are not sidewalks and is quite dangerous, especially when pushing a stroller, as the roads were well-traveled. It would be safer to drive to the village and park.

We did have some issues with the rental company and have informed the owner so that he can look into it further. There were only three and a half rolls of toilet paper for 5 people for our 3 night stay. We would not have minded bringing more if it were suggested to do so. The instructions were clear about bringing extra paper towels but should include toilet paper and tissues, as well. We contacted the rental company on two occasions to request more dishwasher soap as there were only two pods provided for our entire stay. They were apparently very busy this weekend before Thanksgiving and did not bring more to us. The instructions were clear to wash the dishes and put them away before check out or we would be charged $40. They said this fee would be waived due to the inability to bring us more. Not having the pods also required us washing dishes by hand to use at a couple of our meals. (We have not received our deposit back so we hope this will be the case.)

We have a few recommendations for the owners/rental company for future guests: It would be nice to have a cookie sheet for warming bread. A skillet that is not cast iron would be great to scramble eggs. There were two cast iron skillets but they were VERY difficult to clean. We moved a shelf unit from one of the bedrooms to the kitchen to store our food as there was no pantry space for our groceries. New, clean sponges and steel wool pads would be better than the smelly, used sponge and one rusty steel wool pad that were provided. As mentioned earlier, more than two pods for the dishwasher would also be helpful for long weekend rentals.

Lastly, it would be helpful if the departure instructions included a map (or address) to the place we were required to dump all of our trash. The owner provided a map in a notebook however we could not take it with us and forgot to take a picture before we left. There were also no instructions as to what to do with the key upon departure. We called the office and were told to return it to them, however, when we told them we were driving the other direction, she said it was okay to leave it in the cabin.

Overall it was a great rental unit. IT was much more modernized than others we compared it to and one that we will definitely return to again. Thank you Dave for the hospitality!

Gary and Chris

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The more updated setting and the ability to spread out.
Liked least: See review
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2015
Thank you for your thoughtful feedback Gary and Chris. We have made changes with your suggestions in mind. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocks-hor...
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ok rental, but missing the little things (and some big things)...”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
4
people found this review helpful

I have to begin with that I have had good interactions with the owner Dave. He seems very nice and helpful. He has a rental agency in Big Bear that manages the house. I have had not so great help from them. The house was dirty when we arrived. I found dirty plates and utensils. The rugs were filthy and the extra blankets had crusty crud on them. The couch had so many stains on it that I had to cover the couches with blankets (clean ones that the rental agency dropped off). I spent the first day cleaning and vacuuming the house, with an old vacuum. I also spent the week spraying the house with allergy febreeze and had candles going the whole time because of the old musty odor. I thought the rental agency was going to send someone to clean, but they just dropped off towels and 2 clean blankets. The house was missing some key items... workable fans (there are 2 cheap fans that are broken), a food processor or blender (or even a wisk), usable frying pans (there are 2 cast iron pans that are really old), scissors, matches. These seem like basic items in a home. These are the things I had to purchase & have left for the next renter...a fan, a blender, a lighter, reynolds wrap, garbage bags, hand soap, allergy febreeze and a bathroom rug. FYI.. There are no hand towels, washcloths or kitchen towels, so come prepared. Most of the beds are very uncomfortable and have old egg crate pads on them. The reason I do...for rent by owner... is so I don't have to worry about the above mentioned items.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pine trees and view of lake.
Liked least: The cabin..
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
I am very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations and I appreciate your helpful feedback which we will use to improve our service. We encourage our renters to contact us during their stay if there are any problem, so perhaps we could have helped improve your stay while you were there. For instance, there is blender in the broom closet and reynolds wrap above the refrigerator. I have taken measures to work with our local rental agency and cleaning crew to fix these issues.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing