We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful village experience and a Villa...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Chandor, South Goa District, Goa

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Samdani_S...
Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful village experience and a Villa surrounded by nature!!”
Reviewed 19 November 2020 for a stay in March 2020
1
person found this review helpful

We came here to stay for one month but we decided to stay here for a year. We are staying here with our two children, one three and half years old and the other is one year old. We originally booked this place to stay for a month but we happily decided to extend a few times and now planning on staying for a year. The place is exactly as described in the listing. The villa itself is in a very quiet area surrounded by a lot of nature, coconut & mango trees. It is wonderful to wakeup to the sounds of nature and birds every morning. A grocery store is about 3 minutes walk from the house where we could find all the basic things we need for cooking our own meals. Chandor market is about 15 minutes walk from the Villa where one can find everything from fresh vegetables, fruits, fish, meat, milk, and groceries. There are ATMs from a few major Indian banks and a few pharmacies in the market area. Local buses to Margao, autos, and taxis are also available from the market area. There are also local vendors who come to our doorstep everyday to deliver homemade bread, snacks, milk, fish, and a few vegetables. There is a public ground across from the house where locals come to workout and play everyday, and a few elders meet up to have chats. We go there regularly for our runs and spend time with our kids. Our hosts Alex, Lency, and their kids are kind and always happy to help which made our stay very comfortable. We stayed here during the Coronavirus lockdown period and Alex & Lency gave us a lot of tips on where to find groceries, and also brought us some groceries from their contacts during lockdown. The neighbourhood is in a very calm and quiet area. Neighbours are friendly and always eager to interact and share with us about their culture. Everyone in the village and in the market are friendly and kind. Definitely a nice place to stay for short and long term.

Date of stay: March 2020
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2020
Thanks a lot Sam and Kathy and not forgeting Nora and Nina,you can stay here as long as you wish.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin D
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The real Goa”
Reviewed 11 March 2020 for a stay in January 2020
2
people found this review helpful

After many visits to the tourist areas on the coast we wanted to find out what life in a Goan community would be like. What we discovered was a quiet village where every one was friendly and the countryside beautiful, within a couple of days we were on chatting terms with everybody. Our hosts and their family where lovely and gave us a great deal of help, showing us the local area and helping make our stay more comfortable. We enjoyed a great deal of peace and tranquility whilst still being close to major towns and a lot of cultural sites to visit.
A beautiful place to stay.

Date of stay: January 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffdec1
1 review
“Our memorable stay at st Anthonys and st Xavier holiday homes”
Reviewed 10 February 2020 for a stay in December 2019

We was made very welcome by Alex/ Nancy even though we arrived late in the early hours the villa was basic (typically Goan) so nice once we settled in they was so helpful during our stay the people in the village made us Very welcome transport is a must if you need to get around local bars/restaurants (2) are a blessing top marks to Antonio/family at Lakeview bar/restaurant and the locals too many things to mention hope to return next year and stay with Alex/family again

Date of stay: December 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Goan/Portuguese style country home”
Reviewed 5 March 2019 for a stay in November 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Our holiday home was lovely and the neighbourhood full of friendly folk. A car would have been useful but we were ever being offered lifts, which we took, mainly on motor bikes and scooters. The house had good basic facilities and we used the verandah a great deal for meals, reading, studying and socialising. The morning bus from the nearby church was very handy for Margao and was punctual while the local riverside store/restaurant extremely handy and friendly. Our hosts were very attentive and tolerant of us. We felt treated like local people rather than foreign tourists and that was a delight.

Date of stay: November 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A A
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“True Goan living”
Reviewed 27 February 2019 for a stay in November 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Chandor St. Anthony/St. Francis Holiday Homes for 3 months and lived like local Goans. The experience was interesting. The owners, Alex and Lancy, with their 3 children were congenial and quite informative, helping us find our way in and around Goa. There is a bus at the corner, just a few steps away from our lodging, that takes you to Margao for shopping, a rail station, other busses and transports. It would be helpful, though, if you had your own transportation even though there are tuk-tuks and taxi cabs from Margao to back home.

The clean accomodations had wet rooms and kitchenettes along with a refridgerators and there is a small convenience store just 500 steps away. There are also fresh baked bread and fresh fish sellers that come around twice a day, every day riding bicycles.There is a restaurant that will deliver if the order at least 1,000 rupees... of fresh cooked hot Goan food. The accommodations are in a very nice, clean, safe country neighborhood and the church is directly across the street from the property. We especially enjoyed sitting on the porch reading. The weather was superb with bright sun and no rain for the entire time we were there.

You can take the bus to the many of the beaches dotted along the Arabian Sea that is not far away; those beaches are clean, well kept and have many restaurants.

This was our first experience visiting India and Alex and Lancy made us feel quite at home, in fact they invited us to their daughter's first communion party. They are good people.

If I were to choose one word to describe our experience, it would be "authenticity".

Enjoy your visit.

Date of stay: November 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.