We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect get-away-from-it-all holiday in...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Il Mulino

Il Mulino
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Il Mulino
Swimming at the waterfall near il Mulino - a 3 minute stroll away The lounge - cosy by the log-burner but cool in the height of summer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Il Mulino
Swimming at the waterfall near il Mulino - a 3 minute stroll away
The lounge - cosy by the log-burner but cool in the height of summer
The lounge, showing guests' sketches and paintings
Main bedroom above the mill stones - listen to the music of water as you fall asleep
The kitchen - try out some of the delicious local ingredients and open a bottle or two. Cin cin!
Second bedroom - the spacious double bed converts to 2 singles too
Single bedroom - there is another pull-out bed to complete this story-book room for little ones
Shower room
Downstairs bathroom and door to sunny terrace
One of secret places to walk to in the nearby mountains
View from former mill-pond
Breakfast/sun-downer terrace, constructed from the original mill-stones
The pool nearest to the Mill
Swimming and frolics in the river!
Montebotolino - a hill-top village nearby
Local market
Countryside round Il Mulino offers walks a-plenty
A walk to Fresciano where lunch awaits us after drinking in beautiful scenery
Cookery lesson - making gnocchi at Poggio Barone, a local restaurant
river view beneath the mill
Main Terrace
June poppies
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Watermill -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Badia Tedalda, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Catherine...
Tavistock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect get-away-from-it-all holiday in Tuscany”
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What else can we say - we returned to Il Mulino this September for the third year running. We do not usually visit the same place twice, but Il Mulino and its setting keeps drawing us back. We have visited in both June and September and we loved both times of year (look out for the amazing fire flies in June). The river setting is perfect, the quiet idyllic, the Mill unique, and the mountains magnificent. You can do as little or as much as you like here; it is an ideal place for both relaxing and as a base for visiting a myriad of places (we haven't run out of places to visit yet!). There are many lovely restaurants within easy travelling distances, the local people are genuinely welcoming, and the owners, Maurice and Angela (nearby but not intrusive) are both warm and welcoming and full of helpful ideas and made our stay complete.
We absolutely adored all of our three holidays here and thoroughly and unreservedly recommend Il Mulino to those who want to get way from it all and relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2015
Thank you - grazie mille, Dick and Catherine - three-times guests who have become friends by now. We're glad you appreciate the special tranquillity of Il Mulino. This time we enjoyed taking you to meet Stefania, our local art restorer, who gave us a fascinating tour of our local Rofelle church. We hope to see you again soon. Bacioni (we know you are busily learning Italian,) so "in bocca al lupo"!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C
Cirencester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Heaven in the Hills of Tuscany”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If one wants to unwind and leave normal life behind this is an excellent retreat. The mill is very well appointed and set in the most amazing country side. The local village has all that would be expected, just take your time. The evenings are amazing sat on the terrace or down in the garden by the river with a glass an the Alfresco eating. Angela & Maurice are charming hosts, and I was lucky enough to spend an evening enjoying their hospitality. I did miss an internet connection but I was told that it is planned for the very near future. I had an amazing Sunday lunch in the next village and we also went truffle hunting. Both experiences I would highly recommend. A great week thank you Angela & Maurice

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was what I wanted it would be
Liked least: The lack of internet as it was when I visited
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan Viggo...
Copenhagen Region, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely family house with river pool for 6 persons”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A splendid house in a lowely but unknown part of the Toscana region and with a river pool second to none. The right place for grand parents together with their grand children and their parents and much cooler than in the other and lover part of Toscana and within walking distance from a very good agriculturists restaurant. Il Mulino is situated on the bank of the river close to the landlords house if anything should happen but on the other hand completely undisturbed from this house and from people coming from outside

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the river pool
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
Thank you Hilsted family for your review. It was lovely to welcome a Danish family to our little piece of Paradise and we hope you tell all your friends in Denmark about it. Welcome back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henrikgem...
Copenhagen Region, Denmark
1 review
“Perfect place”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

After a couple of weeks in very warm Bologna it was very nice coming to Il Mulino for some relaxing time. The weather was excellent and we used at lot of time bathing the river and having fun. Some good restaurants in the area.
Very relaxing place. Highly recommended

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
It was great to meet yet another generation of the Hilsted family and to hear your boys enjoying themselves so much in the river. We are still enjoying the pool that you created...great for cooling down in and drinking a sundowner. Grazie!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0cMart-n
Dorney, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing owners - bespoke holiday experience”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Is it breakfast around the millstone, the lovingly restaurateur mill or the river for your own use. Or is it Sunday Dinner at the L'ErbOsteria del Castello with 15 courses for 30 Euros, truffle hunting with Prof Toggi or having a shower in the waterfall?
It's all of those, but what impressed us most was the kindness of the owners and their going out if their way in trying to make our holidays unforgettable. All their advice was brilliant. They helped us with a ride to a mountaintop to do a downhill walk. We had a lot of lovely chats and the boys loved Maurice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The very personal treatment
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We so enjoyed meeting your special family and hope your stay at Il Mulino has set you up for the winter. Hoping to see you again...and Maurice loved the boys too! xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing