We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$176
US$168
View deal
SAVE US$8
Travelocity
Booking.com
PricelineUS$176
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveller rating
155
145
52
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
155
145
52
14
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 370 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2019

Copy of letter to management:

I am writing to you today to share our experience at your hotel recently.

Our suite was fine, if uninspiring. However, your "double bed" was two separate beds and mattresses with nothing to keep them together, such as a large double bed sheet. There was no retaining mechanism either, which meant that the mattresses and beds continuously and annoyingly separated. Worst of all, on arrival the mattresses were covered in a plastic sheet, which makes them hot and sticky. We are neither bed-wetting children, nor incontinent, and removed them.

The bar was closed for three days, apparently due to your inability to find cover for staff on sick leave.

Worse still, the staff members who were on duty during our two night stay were either ill trained or did not care. We remember only a few cases of being treated with the courtesy we would expect. Instead, our requests, which were not extraordinary or unusual, were met with eye rolls, shrugs or other such sultry and unfriendly responses. On other occasions we were variously ignored, not greeted, stared at, not served or given the wrong kind of information. A lost property enquiry was treated with disdain, with your staff member claiming it would take three days to investigate.

Your hotel is in an interesting historic building in a beautiful park setting. As such it has great potential, which is spoilt by rude, incompetent, overworked and sultry staff, which is not what we expected in a four star superior hotel at all. In fact, because of your staff, this has been the worst stay, by some measure, we have ever experienced in a hotel of this rating, and we urge you to rectify this through more and better training.

======

P.S. No need to reply to this with a canned answer.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BiosExp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorint_BadBrueckenau, Direktionsassistentin at Dorint Resort & Spa Bad Bruckenau, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2019

Dear BiosExp,
thank you for your feedback about your stay in our hotel and also for taking the time to do so. It is such a pity that we were unable to meet your expectations.
We would like to apologise in all our forms for any inconvenience caused to you. We are very grateful for your advices, because only in this way will we be able to make our guests' stay as pleasant as possible.
It's such a pity that you didn't like your room so much. The plastic sheet you mentioned above the mattress is actually a hygiene cover, as this is an important point of our quality standard.
We have already passed on your suggestion that the beds are falling apart to our technical team, because of course this should not be the case.
You are right, due to several cases of illness, we unfortunately had to leave our bar closed. In such a case, our guests have the opportunity to take a drink from our restaurant.
Your experience with our team does not meet our standard in any way and we are very sorry about this. Cordiality and hospitality are our top priority. Your assessment shows us that our regular training courses are essential.
Hopefully we can welcome you again and prove to you our quality and of course that we can do better. We would be very happy!
Your DORINT RESORT & SPA BAD BRÜCKENAU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2018

The Dorint Resort & Spa Bad Bruckenau is magical place to stay for a relaxing vacation. Occupying a residence of Ludwig I of Bavaria, the opulent facade of the building is awe inspiring. The restaurant is magnificent and atmospheric and the breakfast area no less so. Breakfast itself is wonderful, and the grounds and accompanying out buildings are regal. Every direction you look is sensational! The room we were allocated was good, but not great. Mots importantly though, it was spacious and clean. As befitting a Belle Epoque era building, the reception, stair cases, hallways and bar/ballroom, are epic in size and nature. It is a resort that we would happily stay at again, as we enjoyed the cosy nature of our stay.

Room tip: Stay in the main historic building.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VicNicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorint_BadBrueckenau, Direktionsassistentin at Dorint Resort & Spa Bad Bruckenau, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2019

Dear VicNicholas,
Thank you very much for the positive evaluation of your stay. It's so nice that you liked it so much and you recovered so well.
We would be very happy to see you soon. You are welcome!
Your DORINT RESORT & SPA BATH BRÜCKENAU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

The place is marvelous! All the gardens and buildings from royal baths time are creating a really pleasant atmosphere.
We stayed in the park side - new building - so the rooms are new, comfortable and clean.
The SPA facilities are great and you can really have a relaxing stay here. There are a couple of dinning possibilities around, so everything you need in one beautiful place.
The staff is helpful in general.
Would go back some time.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViatoremRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorint13, Direktionsassistentin at Dorint Resort & Spa Bad Bruckenau, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Dear ViatoremRF,
Thank you very much for your great review. It's so nice that you could enjoy your time with us and have a good rest.
We would like to welcome you once again. We would be very happy!
Your DORINT RESORT & SPA BATH BRÜCKENAU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

We stayed at this hotel for one night- last night of a 17 days vacation throughout Europe. It was the most elegant hotel and I personally fell in love with the room decor. In contrast with the classic look of the halls and large rooms downstairs, the hotel rooms have modern furnishing and decorations. The beds are comfortable, TV have a good choice of channels, the robes and slippers provided were a nice surprise, especially to use at the pool. The temperature was a little chilly the day we were there and the pool water felt cool. They say there is a pool with salty water on second floor, but we could not find it; however, there was a no swimming suits area at the third floor, which we did not visit, considering we were with a eight years old. My son was surprised with a cute stuffed toy at check in- just because. The personnel was polite and helpful- even smiling, which is a bonus in European customer service. The breakfast was rich, many, many good hot and cold choices- one of the best breakfast I had. The only negative was the honey- only one kind and solid. Overall, a pleasant stay in a nice decor that would recommend.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pittsburghlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorint13, Direktionsassistentin at Dorint Resort & Spa Bad Bruckenau, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear Sand T,
Thank you for your rating. We are very pleased that you liked it so much and that you could spend a pleasant time with us.
We hope to welcome you once again, here in the beautiful Rhön. We would be very happy!
Your DORINT RESORT & SPA BATH BRÜCKENAU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

My wife and I have just stayed one night at this hotel and the only negative thing I can say is, that we could only stay there one night.

It is a top class hotel where everything from the staff, the room, the food and even the surroundings is eminent.

Since we were only there for one night due to transit, we had just booked a standard room and it was absolut amazing, I am afraid to think about how good the other rooms are. The bed was comfortable, the room clean, the bathroom large and bright.

We chose to order room service and it worked just as it should and the food was really good.

The breakfast was out of this world - the buffet was huge and everything was fresh and tasted superb.

We did not use their spa, but it seemed that there were lots of options for treatments, etc.

The parking works fine in a parking garage behind the hotel.

A minor detail is that we were offered to get aircon for 20 euros extra. I think that it is very strange and I have only experienced that when I was younger and stayed at discount hotels. It does not matter in the big picture, but it is strange.

Am I ever near the hotel again, I will make sure to stay there for a few days.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DanielStenskov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorint13, Direktionsassistentin at Dorint Resort & Spa Bad Bruckenau, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear Daniel S,
thank you so much for your lovely comment. It's so nice, that you had a relaxing time in our hotel.
Hopefully we can welcome you again in our hotel. You are always welcome!
Your DORINT RESORT & SPA BAD BRÜCKENAU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews