We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Granary Barn the perfect holiday stay.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Granary Barns second bedroom can be arranged as a king or twins with a bathroom ensuite
Fully fitted kitchens in Granary Barn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Beamish, Stanley, County Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Reviewed 13 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Date of stay: April 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Apr 2018
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we are so glad you enjoyed you all enjoyed your stay and Isabel's baking. See you again soon
Kind regards Angus Louise and Isabel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shirley24...
Suffolk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wrong property”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

I booked Granary Barn but on arrival I was told that it was double booked and we were the losers. We were given Riding Cottage which we had to accept as there was no other accommodation and after driving for 5 hours didn't want to look elsewhere. The property was very tired and dated and a great disappointment as we were expecting a newly converted barn. It was not up to the 4 star rating bearing in mind we had booked a 5 star. I would rate this at 3 stars. We could not sleep in the double bed as it was solid with the springs protruding in our backs. All in all we had a very disappointing stay. I would not recommend Riding Cottage at all but we cannot comment on the other accommodation as they looked very nice.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, but obviously we are disappointed at your comments.
All our cottages are graded 4 Star Gold and 5 Star
At point of booking I explained that Granary Barn had already been booked and the only cottage we had available was Riding Cottage
I am sorry the bed was suited to your requirements and must say it is the first time it has been raised, all our guests comment on what good sleep they have.
We pride ourselves on our cottages and the service we provide but obviously on this occasion we have not lived up to your expectations which is a shame .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbara t
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Could not ask for more of a cottage or hosts”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed in Granary Barn and Bowes Barn at Riding Farm Cottages with family and Friends to explore the area. The cottages are lovely lots of nice touches a lot of care has been taken in the planning of the design and what people want and need on holiday - beds are so comfy good nights sleep. The location was ideal for us because we where so close to everything Newcastle Durham Sunderland and Northumberland but set in the countryside. Beamish Museum Durham Cathedral and Newcastle where a high light. Angus and Louise are a lovely couple who run the cottages they go out of there way to help you with vouchers to attractions extra events that are on that week- even changed my tyre on my car. We will be back

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the people the cottage and Beamish Museum
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
22 Oct 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards Angus and Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.