We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveller rating
256
122
58
37
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
256
122
58
37
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bar pine forest be aware lovely hotel get away pasta garden suite main building antipasti golf buggy quiet place reception desk large pool star resort beautiful location friendly and helpful staff live music
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 491 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2018

Just returned after a perfect one week vacation with my family (two adults and three children aged 8-14) at Is Arenas Resort. After reading the mixed reviews on TripAdvisor our expectations were modest, however, we were positively surprised and experienced only what you would expect from a 5 star hotel. The rooms are of high standard and made of quality materials. Spotless cleaning. We stayed in a separate building/villa, with two large balconies in the middle of a beautiful pine forest and with a view to the ocean. Not a sound - except for Mother Nature. Beach is great with sun chairs, parasol and towels included. The pool is large and very inviting. Kids loved it.

Breakfast included and something we looked forward to every morning. In addition to the standard menu (which is large) you can order omelets. Served with a smile by the always smiling and polite waiters. We had dinner at both the small and relaxed roof top restaurant at the beach (Beach Club) with fantastic view of the coast line during sunset, and at the more formal and expensive restaurant in the garden of the main building. We liked the food at both restaurants, but in particular the Sardinan Buffet Dinner with so many and well prepared local delis. At both restaurants we appreciated the surroundings, the atmosphere and the very service minded staff. We were expecting a high price level and it is not inexpensive.

The hotel is about 3 km (on a bad road) from the main road and it takes about 15-20 minutes by car to the nearest small village with a supermarket. In other words perfect if you are looking for an oasis away from crowds

Finally, we were surprised of the great spirit all staff had, from the top manager (whom we met daily both at breakfast and during the day, either talking with guests or supporting his colleagues during peak moments) to waiters, recreational, pool or beach staff. Always looking us in the eyes with a smile saying good morning etc.

We had a great vacation at this very nice resort and we felt warm welcome by everyone we met. We would love to go back.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Oles_Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHManagement, Direttore at Is Arenas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Dear Guest,

it was a pleasure to welcome you and your family at Is Arenas Resort for your holidays.

Thank you for your words about our Resort location, nestled in a great setting, where you can relax yourself surrounded by Sardinian nature and peace, inside a protected area, with a pine forest, where the characteristic fragrance of Mediterranean vegetation fills the air.

We are very glad to create positive emotions and unique experiences to our Guest, we aimed focusing on a spontaneous and overall assistance to you and make you feel like home. This is our Hospitality philosophy: genuine, authentic and sincere.

We also thank you for your kind words about staff and our food service: this year we have worked so much to improve all our Restaurants service and we are proud about that accomplishment.

Finally, thank you for the time spent for this review: your satisfaction is our most important goal.

Best regards,
Dieter Frickel,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018

Is Arenas consists of a small central building and a number of smaller ones spread in the mature forest of pines and eucalyptus, offering a pleasant, shady stroll to a long, sandy beach. Both the scenic settings and comfortable rooms are on a plus side.

It is, however, in the middle of nowhere, and the hotel management insists that there should be no facilities to make one's stay more comfortable: if one needs to buy some tooth paste, headache medicine or anti-mosquito spray (you will definitely want to buy litres of it!!), or wishes to bring some milk or juice for children to keep in the mini-fridge - you are out of luck. As the manager explained this would cut into their revenues, and they want you to buy water for 5 euros a bottle, juice for 6 euros a glass, and so on. This is fine while you are dining but all day long? (Most resorts would have a small supermarket and a lot of resorts actually bring water to the rooms every day.) Breakfasts have gotten worse year on year and offer no variety at all, and dinners are mediocre. I was served a frozen lasagna which remained icy on a side; pasta portions were minuscule; chicken looked a bit sad... In particular, often times there was nothing that children would like: no pasta, never pizze, and sometimes, no acceptable meat dish!

Lastly, the towels: twice a day there is a towel madness in the rooms - up to forty (40!) perfectly clean towels are removed and replaced. We had not had a chance to even touch them. I hate to think about the burden to the environment. I would also request the hotel to stop wasting our money on some completely senseless actions.

Room Tip: For elderly, stay in the main hotel: uneven surface of poorly lit pathways makes it precarious in the evenings to reach the restaurant.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarinaSLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIRAHotels_Mgmt, Direttore at Is Arenas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Is Arenas Resort, in the province of Oristano, the perfect place to feel immersed in nature.

We regret that your vacation experience was not entirely pleasant for you; regarding your comment about the food service, let me point out that at Is Arenas Resort, you can enjoy a carefully selected and varied culinary offering every day, an interesting combination of Sardinian, Italian and Mediterranean flavours, which results into an innovative, refined and healthy menu.

At the “Il Destriero” Restaurant’s large dining room everything combines tranquillity and wellness, from the delicacies of the breakfast buffet, a very varied offering presented exquisitely, to the bright windows whose delicate curtains mask the sea behind them. You can return here for lunch and dinner too, enjoying the sunset on the terrace, where the wonderful scents from the kitchen mingle with nature’s own perfumes.

The continental breakfast is served buffet style and includes international dishes alongside local specialities, for a delicious, nutritious and healthy first meal. The buffet consists of a wide range of breads and pastries, butter, jams and spreads, cereals and muesli, dried fruits and seeds, fresh fruit, canned fruit, cooked and raw fresh vegetables, cured meats, raw and smoked fish, cheeses, yoghurts and hot items like eggs, crepes, wafers and pancakes. Drinks on offer include mineral water, fruit juices, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, dairy milk, soy milk, rice milk.

Lunches and dinners consist of Mediterranean dishes, made with fresh and seasonal ingredients. Each course is inspired by Italian and Sardinian cuisine, but is prepared with a sophisticated and innovative twist. The menu therefore offers appetisers and salads, pasta or rice dishes to start, meat and fish main courses with side dishes, and a choice of cheeses, fruits and desserts.

There is always at least one vegetarian option per course and dishes without gluten or other allergens can always be prepared upon request.


I've already shared with all the Management your comment about the "shop-needing" inside the Resort: we are working to implement it a soon as possible.

Concerning your note about towels, i'm going to better check what has happened: we care about environment too and we usually ask our Guests to not waste those which are not being used. I really appreciate this kind of attention: thak you for that!

Finally, thank you in any case for the valuable comments that help us to understand how to improve our standards.

Best regards.
Dieter Frickel
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Nice hotel with a good pool and nice white sandy beaches very good for kids. The hotel staff very nice and helpful.
Restaurants are short for a 5 star resort. During the day, at around 4 in the afternoon, we asked to eat something in the pool bar and only 3 options available.
For dinner only 1 restaurant available. WiFi terrible all around the resort, specially in the rooms...
Good options to eat in the surroundings, but all needing to dive.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Zelasnunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIRAHotels_Mgmt, Direttore at Is Arenas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Is Arenas Resort, in the province of Oristano, the perfect place to feel immersed in nature.

We regret that your vacation experience was not entirely pleasant for you; regarding your comment about the food service, let me point out that at Is Arenas Resort, you can enjoy a carefully selected and varied culinary offering every day, an interesting combination of Sardinian, Italian and Mediterranean flavours, which results into an innovative, refined and healthy menu.

At the “Il Destriero” Restaurant’s large dining room everything combines tranquillity and wellness, from the delicacies of the breakfast buffet, a very varied offering presented exquisitely, to the bright windows whose delicate curtains mask the sea behind them. You can return here for lunch and dinner too, enjoying the sunset on the terrace, where the wonderful scents from the kitchen mingle with nature’s own perfumes.

The continental breakfast is served buffet style and includes international dishes alongside local specialities, for a delicious, nutritious and healthy first meal. The buffet consists of a wide range of breads and pastries, butter, jams and spreads, cereals and muesli, dried fruits and seeds, fresh fruit, canned fruit, cooked and raw fresh vegetables, cured meats, raw and smoked fish, cheeses, yoghurts and hot items like eggs, crepes, wafers and pancakes. Drinks on offer include mineral water, fruit juices, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, dairy milk, soy milk, rice milk.

Lunches and dinners consist of Mediterranean dishes, made with fresh and seasonal ingredients. Each course is inspired by Italian and Sardinian cuisine, but is prepared with a sophisticated and innovative twist. The menu therefore offers appetisers and salads, pasta or rice dishes to start, meat and fish main courses with side dishes, and a choice of cheeses, fruits and desserts.

There is always at least one vegetarian option per course and dishes without gluten or other allergens can always be prepared upon request.

At the Is Arenas Beach Club, the atmosphere is relaxed and peaceful, with tables sheltered by large beach tents, sofas and cushions. The cuisine on offer is tasty and natural during the day, with sandwiches, grilled dishes, salads, cold proposals, fruit, ice cream, tasty cold drinks, juices and cocktails. When evening rolls around instead, it’s aperitif time, with a selection of cocktails, long drinks and wines accompanied by crisps, nibbles and olives. For dinner, the Beach Club becomes a barbecue restaurant, offering the catch of the day, excellent Italian meat or fish and grilled vegetables and cheeses. For dinner, the Beach club may not be open in case of bad weather conditions or cold temperatures.

After dinner, a Lounge Bar area is set up on the roof of the club, with a beautiful panoramic view directly on Is Arenas Beach, which - together with the mood lighting and the right music - makes the Beach Club a charming and welcoming place to be. Here, alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks are served, product of the imagination of our barmen, along with delicious snacks. Every week also live music events in front of the sea.

The “Tradori” Pool Bar is the elegant bar of the central restaurant located near the pool, offering freshly-squeezed fruit juices, smoothies, cocktails and tasty, light snacks.The “Tradori” Pool Bar’s happy hour held every evening is an excellent opportunity to taste wines accompanied by typical cheeses and cured meats, along with local honey and bread.
After dinner, the lighting is charming and the music is always chosen with care, with live music evenings. Aperitifs, digestifs, wines, cocktails and long drinks are all served along with little delights, typical appetisers or fresh vegetable crudités.

Concerning your note about wifi, we apologize for the inconvenience: being nestled in a pineforest does not help any kind of connection and,by the way, we are happy to give our Guest a digital detox experience.

Thank you in any case for the valuable comments that help us to understand how to improve our standards.

Best regards.
Dieter Frickel
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

Are you looking for a quiet place in Sardinia? This hotel is an ideal place to resource: spacious rooms with private balcony, both bath & shower in a luxuous bathroom, big swimming pool with comfortable sunbeds. Sauna and massage available. The restaurant serves tasty food à la carte and we would recommend to take half board (every evening a 4-course dinner) because the hotel is situated in a remote area, in a pine forest next to the beach. Beach bar with terrace overlooking the resort. Stunning golf resort!! You need a car to get there. Electric mountain bikes for rent in the hotel but rather expensive, 30€ for a half day, 50€ for a day.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Els D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIRAHotels_Mgmt, Direttore at Is Arenas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Dear Guest,

it was a pleasure to welcome you at Is Arenas Resort for your holidays.

Thank you for your words about our Resort location, nestled in a great setting, where you can relax yourself surrounded by Sardinian nature and peace, inside a protected area, with a pine forest, where the characteristic fragrance of Mediterranean vegetation fills the air.

We are very glad to create positive emotions and unique experiences to our Guest, we aimed focusing on a spontaneous and overall assistance to you and make you feel like home. This is our Hospitality philosophy: genuine, authentic and sincere.

Finally, thank you for the time spent for this review: your satisfaction is our most important goal.

Best regards,
MIRA Hotels Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Very comfortable room, friendly and helpful staff, great location and facilities - everything that was expected from the hotel description. Such a shame that the restaurant food was terrible. It seems that somebody in management has decided to mass produce all the food in advance, to clear up, go home and leave it to the poor table servers to take the problem. Such a shame to spoil a hotel that could be great.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIRAHotels_Mgmt, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Is Arenas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for spending your holidays at Is Arenas Resort.

It’s a pleasure to learn that our facilities, like rooms, met your expectations and we are very proud for you comment about Staff, always at Guest’s disposal. We always try to focus on a spontaneous and overall assistance to make you feel like home. This is our Hospitality philosophy: genuine, authentic and sincere.

Concerning the restaurant service and food, we would like to apologize if it was not as you wished. Let us underline that, beside the main Restaurant, our Resort offers different places to eat and drink, such as the Beach Club, that it is definetely an eating and relaxing place, where you can enjoy different experiences: it works as a grill- bar-restaurant, hosting also aperitifs, cocktail party and music live shows.

Thank you for the time spent for this review: mostly the critical comments are useful to improve our services,

Best regards,
MIRA Hotels Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews