We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Puur genieten”
other travellers have booked this property
front castle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front castle
the front of castle sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
front castle
the front of castle
sitting room
dining room
dining room decoration by event team of chateau le risdoux
green room castle
garden
ponds before the castle
the river La Meuse/Maas
the tennis court
the chapel on the property
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
7 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Vireux-Wallerand, Ardennes, Grand Est

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
508sylvie
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A mansion in a beautiful countryside very badly managed and limited WiFi”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I went to le Chateau le Risdoux for a birthday celebration.
First of all it was very hard to find (none of 30 of us found it) .The google map direct you to an other castle and there is absolutely no signs to indicate the property from the Rue du Risdoux. Talking with the landlady, the none existence of signs was to avoid people coming to her property. The responsible for the directions are the people renting the castle ..it is not her problem if people are lost in the middle of the night.
It is more a Domaine or a resort than a Castle. (the name for a castle should be used when there is tours)
The WiFi is very bad, only 5/6 people can get on the internet (the main house was for 18 people) and the connection was easily lost.
Additional costs like the heating were added after the contract was signed. The price was 800 euros!
The place otherwise is very beautiful! It's a shame the customer service is so poor!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The jacuzzi, The Maze, the trampolino, the view , the barn for the disco (although very cold)
Liked least: customer service, internet access, access to the property very hard to find/no signs
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
I am very sorry to hear that.. The chateau is indeed situated in the middle of a big forest. The company where you have booked are now better informed. Indeed every guest must have the road directions towards the property. I am also glad to inform you that the chateau is enterely renovated and there is another host. The chateau has now 4 stars for quality.. .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twintx
Lacey, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“When you wish upon a Chateau, makes no difference what you know!”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in September 2013

Having lived in French-speaking countries, I envisioned something a bit more palatial when invited to spend a week with a large group of travel friends in a French chateau in the Ardennes. Hunting lodge would better approximate what we found on the property when we finally found it after a rather arduous drive from the Liege train station. In fact, apart from the main building, the other accommodations were in a converted stables which could only be described accurately by the word "dormitory."

There were several married couples in our group, and the rest of us were single women. The organizer, to his credit, made very sure that each of us would have our own room since some of us had never met our fellow travelers. He was assured our group was the only one in residence and that we would have the entire place to ourselves. So I staked out a room in the dormitory, (the couples having been assigned to the chateau) that I thought would be quiet since it was on the far end of the long dormitory building. No sooner had I unpacked and moved in than the proprietor came and forced me to vacate, saying that the room I'd chosen was not available to our group. It wasn't that anyone else was slated to stay there. It was just that the proprietor had decided we could occupy only the near end of the dormitory, not the far end where I had moved in, despite the understanding that our leader had which was that we had the entire property.

By that time, my single female colleagues had put dibs on their preferred rooms, so I went in search of whatever had been left for me as the last to choose, and was unable to find any unoccupied room in the half of the building designated for our use. After enjoining our leader to help me identify where I should perch, we finally gave up and again went in search of the proprietor to get her assistance on why it seemed that the only spare bed was in a room I would have to share. She had to lead me to the accommodation which was left since it was up a steep ladder in an attic where there were four single beds under a dormer roof, a tiny dormer window and no bathroom, meaning I would have to climb down the ladder to share the bath on the floor below where there were already three women living.

Needless to say, the proprietor and I had very different ideas about what was acceptable in terms of a room in a French chateau I had bought for a week. But she wasn't budging and left me no option but to share with another of the single women if I didn't want to camp out in the attic. Fortunately, another of the single women, who for some reason had been assigned to her own room in the chateau where everyone else was sharing (with a spouse), took pity on me and agreed to let me move into her room since it was twin-bedded.

Once the drama of moving into the building was concluded, I came to quite enjoy the building and its surroundings. We took long walks along the river, picking blackberries which were riot and bringing them back to the industrial-sized kitchen for the others to enjoy on their cereal or ice cream. We took turns using rental cars to run into town for groceries and supplies, and found an adorable bistro in a neighboring village where we had a farewell dinner on our last night in the area. The chateau sits right on the river, but on the opposite side of where the train runs to Vireaux, so we got some fun photos of the building on our last day as we left the area by train. A car is absolutely necessary for any activity as the train station is a good six kilometers away. But with a rental car, there are many, many attractions in both France and Belgium worth exploration within a short drive. We also visited Luxembourg and the Champagne region during our week, both of which are within a couple hours drive.

One final caution about what to expect when wishing for a French chateau. Wi-Fi access is offered, but there are only a limited number of log-ins made available. We were asked to share five log-ins among 19 of us. That put me in a pickle since I had promised family and business associates that I would be on email at least daily. So the proprietor agreed to let me have my own log-in with the caveat that I would use it only outside of local business hours. I honored this since my most urgent business matters were actually 12 time zones away in Hawaii so the time difference worked in my favor. Others in the group had to barter for internet access with others in our group and of course there were some who were unhappy about not getting enough. But for the most part, my log-in worked smoothly, though awkwardly (internet access in France in general is super tedious for all the hoops one has to jump through to get through security apps) until our last evening when for some reason, totally unannounced and never explained, all of us lost our access! In fact, the entire domain which we had been using all week just disappeared right about dinner time just when we all needed to confirm our individual onward travel arrangements. So I ended up having to wait until I got to my next hotel in Dijon some 19 hours later to check email again. And then of course the message I had been awaiting for more than a month was in my inbox, requiring immediate action!

So when you wish upon a Chateau, at least at this property, you may know you have the entire property and that you will have Wi-Fi access, but caveats apply. Caveat emptor!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Walks along the river
Liked least: awkwardness of WiFi arrangements
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
Thank you for your revieuw. I really appreciate your feedback.
Since 2015 the chateau is entirely renovated and we received 4 stars for quality. The free wifi has also improved but since we are situated in the middle of a big forest, 15km of the provider we can't do magic. To conpensate there is 3G available (not free) and we have also a computer with free acces for all the clients.

Thank you for your staying
Kind regards
Van Rompaey .. .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chantal m
Dilbeek, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: De rust, het onthaal, de luxe, ...
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2016
Blij te horen dat jullie een aangenaam verblijf hadden.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan V
Dilbeek, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: behulpzaamheid van uitbaters
Liked least: wifi connectie
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
Beste,
Het doet ons plezier dat u een leuke tijd heeft beleefd..
Wij danken u voor jullie komst
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frans V
Helmond, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: De ruimte, de rust, de natuur
Liked least: Kwaliteit Wifi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
Beste,
Inderdaad helaas is door te prachtige ligging midden in het bos de gratis wifi wel overal optimaal aanwezig maar er is slechts 1 Mega dat binnen komt. en als deze dan nog eens moet verdeeld worden onder de vele tablets en telefoons,...Mails, FB enz is geen probleem maar online tv kijken is moeilijker. Er is sinds dit jaar 2015 enige verbetering, er is namelijk 4G van Orange aanwezig over gans het domein.

Wij danken u voor ,jullie komst, jullie zijn een heerlijke groep...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing