We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Indian food”
Review of Punjabi's

Punjabi's
Ranked #13 of 65 Restaurants in Hillcrest
Restaurant details
Reviewed 26 February 2024 via mobile

The food is really, really good. The menu offers a wide variety of typical Indian fare. Prices are very reasonable. The overall experience will not disappoint.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank CaptCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2023

Stay away from this dive .
You can't even call it a curry .
A few over boiled pieces of chicken chunks in a pre prepared ghastly sauce .
Never , ever again .
Stay away !

Date of visit: June 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jet15882900620
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 July 2020 via mobile

I am a big fan of Bunny chows and have tried many around KZN. I recently ordered a Mutton bunny from Punjabi's and was taken aback at how tasty it was. It was really one of the best I have had. Plenty meat, lots of gravy and really tasty. I decided to order another one and I was so disappointed. It was mostly bread and very dry with virtually no gravy. There was only 3 little pieces of meat and a huge potato. The inside hadn't even been hollowed out properly and the whole bunny was mostly bread. Very sad to see such extremes.

Date of visit: July 2020
2  Thank H5172QWjonf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 December 2019

Late afternoon meal - about 4 p.m. so my wife and I were the only ones there. We ordered a Lamb Rogan Josh (Medium) and a Lamb Vindaloo (hot) plus a yoghurt side dish and garlic maan. Al were served promptly and were delicious as per our order - also very generous helpings.

Will definitely be back and try out other meals on their quite extensive menu.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 September 2019

We often use Punjabis when we are at a loss for what to cook on a Friday night.
Punjabis certainly looks after our culinary tastes.
We can recommend the Butter Chicken Curry. best in town

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank deons810
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Punjabi's also viewed

Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Punjabi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.