We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Indian food without the service. ”
Review of Punjabi's

Punjabi's
Ranked #13 of 65 Restaurants in Hillcrest
Restaurant details
Reviewed 14 December 2018 via mobile

Good selection of good curries. Mild is like stew, Medium just right for me and Hot is for those accustomed to hot spicy foods.

Had a selection of starters that we shared. All were good but my favorite was the onion bhaji and the samoosa's.

Tasted a good selection of the different curries. They were all good.

Now about the service. There wasn't much. Struggled to get to order, had to clear away the menus and the empty bottles and plates and we were only two tables occupied.

I guess they focus on the food.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2018

As an avid lover of North Indian food, I was excited to try Punjabi's - having been recommended it from a friend.

Terribly disappointed. Dishes lack flavour, are overly expensive (R125 for a small curry). the Briyani (which I understand is different from our local spicy briyani),... Punjabi's is literally bland 'Tastic rice' with some party cooked onions and youghurt on the top - wanting R85 for this.

Dishes Ive tasted, non which I can recommend:
- Onion Bhahis
- Samoosas
- Chicken Briyani
- Lamb Rogan Josh
- Butter Chicken
- Paneer Makhani

All of the offerings that we tried lacked that true essential North Indian complexity that I expect for the price point.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Justin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Went with a few folk as a spur of the moment decision for a bunny chow.

Having been to the established restaurant in the Oxford Centre along Old Main road a few times, we decided on trying the take-away in Inanda road. There is sufficient and pleasant place to sit and eat a meal in an alcove off the busy stream . It is a small common food court type area that serves about three or four outlets.

Three different type of quarter bunny were ordered, and the turn around time for delivery was good. All were enjoyed by the consumers. The chicken was well acclaimed and one ordered hot and the other medium and their was a significant difference in the heat of the curry. The mutton ( boneless) was really good albeit the nutton was not as tender as used to, but great flavour. Prices were very reasonable.

All we can add is........ we will be back!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank irishmike60
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 September 2018

We and this is a confession I might add, frequent this restaurant at least once a week. Consistently they provide an excellent meal, my favourite being the paneer palak, which is creamy, rich and full of blocks of tasty cheese. The Tandoori chicken is my hubby's favourite dish, but we have tried most things on the menu and have never been disappointed. Service is good, very fast and the kitchen can be heard banging away in the background as the take away is also very busy. Very nice atmosphere all round, and the staff are extremely pleasant and helpful.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 July 2018

Got butter chicken and lamb tikka masala - both taste virtually exactly the same (and too sweet, must've added sugar or something). The lamb is tough.

When you put your face right up to the dishes and smell, you don't even smell a proper curry (just a poor excuse for a very average one)

Pass, how can places like this exist?

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Food
Thank unisonprpductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Punjabi's also viewed

Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Punjabi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.