We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak!”

Eldorado Spur Steak Ranch
Ranked #23 of 53 Restaurants in Hillcrest
Price range: US$50 - US$130
Description: Spoil your family & eat out at Eldorado Spur. We are the best steakhouse & burger restaurant in Hillcrest. Bring along your kids for some great tasting food & dessert from our famous Spur menu.
Restaurant details
Description: Spoil your family & eat out at Eldorado Spur. We are the best steakhouse & burger restaurant in Hillcrest. Bring along your kids for some great tasting food & dessert from our famous Spur menu.
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

Steak is so good, so are the jalapeno poppers. But the steak is the best... spur has the BEST basting EVER!

Thank Taryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Eldorado Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Taryn S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to send us your feedback. We're thrilled that you enjoyed our legendary steaks, as we pride ourselves on excellent meals.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Spur Steak Ranches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2017

Often on a Saturday morning my husband and I will visit this Spur for breakfast about 10.30. Each time the food has been up to standard. We have no complaints and believe me if we did we would not be returning so regularly. We love reading the Saturday Independent and if one is not available the staff have even walked over to the shopping centre to purchase one. The manager and staff are delightful and I would recommend it to folk even if they don't have children. By the way we are grandparents and just don't sit near the kids side!!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 7Kathleen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Eldorado Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear 7Kathleen7,

Thank you for taking the time to review our family restaurant and your continuous support. We're thrilled to know that you enjoyed not only our great customer service but also our Breakfast and look forward to having you back for it again, soon!

Kind regards,
Spur Steak Ranches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Because we are now living in the UK we don't get to a Spur very often and we don't recognise the place we visited after reading other peoples comments.
We were seen to our table by an extremely pleasant young man who gave us space and time to choose our drinks and meal. He was available to answer questions and guide us from the light menu to the full steak one.
The drinks arrived promptly and there was no real delay in getting the food.
The food was well presented, hot and as ordered.
The manager was attentive and our visit a very pleasant experience. We are planning to return before heading home to England.
Staff training was in progress while we were there so perhaps the previous negative comments have been taken seriously by the owners.
Certainly I will endorse the Hillcrest Spur as a great place to eat.

Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Eldorado Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Peter K,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We truly appreciate it.

Nothing pleases us more than satisfying our customers. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are in South Africa again.

Kind regards,
Spur Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

We only visit this establishment very rarely due to the consistently poor food quality and service we experience. If it was not for the large play area that my son loves, we would never visit.

Our visit yesterday for lunch was no different to any other. The food had sat under the pass so long that the calamari was like rubber and the ribs had actually dried out and had no basting left on them.

Our waiter was over attentive and came to our table literally every 5 minutes, even when we told her we would call her if we needed anything as she was starting to frustrate us - if her bade didn't state "team leader" I would have thought it was her first day on the job.

Unless you have time to kill with kids and are willing to put up with sub standard food and poor service, I would recommend giving this establishment a wide berth.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DaneSalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Eldorado Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear DaneSalmon,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Eldorado Spur Restaurant. We're so sorry to hear that this was your experience. That certainly doesn't sound like the level of service & food quality we pride ourselves on.

If you wouldn't mind forwarding this review on, together with your contact details to customer-care@spur.co.za. We'd really like the opportunity to discuss this further with you and hopefully turn it around.

Kind regards,
Spur Steak Ranches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

It was mid week, and about midday and one of our party desired onion rings, as only Spur do, and not being able to access these for some time in the future we obliged him. It was more than a year ago we were last here, and things have not improved.
The two starters ordered were very good although the price of the one left me gobsmacked for what was served ??
Although mid week there were only about 6 other tables occupied, but we waited over 40 minutes for the mains to arrive after the starters were finished. Not quite what we expected. The one dish was a Hawaiian schnitzel . It seemed this dish was ready first and kept under the hot lamps waiting for the others - as the bacon had dried out, the pineapple likewise had dried out and the cheese had crusted around the edges. Could not understand why a 300g rare sirloin steak was about a third larger in size than a 300g medium rump ?? Both were good though and as ordered. The calamari dish ordered was a disappointment - more batter than calamari and hard to distinguish between it and the onion rings.
The service from the waitron was brisk and good, but NO ONE came to ask how the meal was, or if all was in order. We would have mentioned the dried out schnitzel and discrepancy in steak sizes but was not afforded the opportunity. Prices no longer competitive and I repeat as previous review. With the abundance of fare on offer in Hillcrest, this will not be an establishment of choice in the future - unless we are in situation where a specific is desired as in this case. Although no doubt will remain popular with the much younger fraternity for the vibe offered to the youngsters.

Had to ask twice for the final bill - and eventually walked to the counter and paid on our way out......

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank irishmike60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Eldorado Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear irishmike60,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We're so sorry to hear that this was your experience. That certainly doesn't sound like the level of food quality we pride ourselves on.

If you wouldn't mind forwarding this review on, together with your contact details to customer-care@spur.co.za. We'd really like the opportunity to discuss this further with you and hopefully turn it around.

Kind regards,
Spur Steak Ranches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eldorado Spur Steak Ranch also viewed

Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Eldorado Spur Steak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing