We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only one reason we returned....... but will think carefully again”

Eldorado Spur Steak Ranch
Ranked #22 of 49 Restaurants in Hillcrest
Price range: US$50 - US$130
Description: Spoil your family & eat out at Eldorado Spur. We are the best steakhouse & burger restaurant in Hillcrest. Bring along your kids for some great tasting food & dessert from our famous Spur menu.
Restaurant details
Description: Spoil your family & eat out at Eldorado Spur. We are the best steakhouse & burger restaurant in Hillcrest. Bring along your kids for some great tasting food & dessert from our famous Spur menu.
Reviewed 22 August 2017

It was mid week, and about midday and one of our party desired onion rings, as only Spur do, and not being able to access these for some time in the future we obliged him. It was more than a year ago we were last here, and things have not improved.
The two starters ordered were very good although the price of the one left me gobsmacked for what was served ??
Although mid week there were only about 6 other tables occupied, but we waited over 40 minutes for the mains to arrive after the starters were finished. Not quite what we expected. The one dish was a Hawaiian schnitzel . It seemed this dish was ready first and kept under the hot lamps waiting for the others - as the bacon had dried out, the pineapple likewise had dried out and the cheese had crusted around the edges. Could not understand why a 300g rare sirloin steak was about a third larger in size than a 300g medium rump ?? Both were good though and as ordered. The calamari dish ordered was a disappointment - more batter than calamari and hard to distinguish between it and the onion rings.
The service from the waitron was brisk and good, but NO ONE came to ask how the meal was, or if all was in order. We would have mentioned the dried out schnitzel and discrepancy in steak sizes but was not afforded the opportunity. Prices no longer competitive and I repeat as previous review. With the abundance of fare on offer in Hillcrest, this will not be an establishment of choice in the future - unless we are in situation where a specific is desired as in this case. Although no doubt will remain popular with the much younger fraternity for the vibe offered to the youngsters.

Had to ask twice for the final bill - and eventually walked to the counter and paid on our way out......

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank irishmike60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Eldorado Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear irishmike60,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We're so sorry to hear that this was your experience. That certainly doesn't sound like the level of food quality we pride ourselves on.

If you wouldn't mind forwarding this review on, together with your contact details to customer-care@spur.co.za. We'd really like the opportunity to discuss this further with you and hopefully turn it around.

Kind regards,
Spur Steak Ranches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2017

This Spur appears more spacious than average and I liked the ambiance. Quality of the cuisine was perhaps a cut above the rest...when it eventually arrived.

Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Eldorado Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Dear Erik S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Eldorado Spur Family Restaurant. We are happy to know you enjoyed your experience with us and that the food was a hit! We look forward having you back again soon!

Kind regards,
Spur Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Had a wonderful time here with the kids. Loved that the play area was enclosed to kids could still play even in the. We were happy to go back a few times in the holidays and received reliable service each time and food was good.

Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Eldorado Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Dear Lauren L,

Thank you so much for your amazing review! We are delighted that your experience was a positive one. Hope to see you and your family soon.

Kind regards,
Spur Steak Ranches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Clean, quick, friendly, well-managed and perfect for what it offers to parents with a 2 year old. Popular with locals and every effort is made to maintain their standards.

Thank djBurns1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

I always enjoy stopping in here for a drink after being shopping and there is a great playground area for the kids which is a bit more elaborate than any others I've seen.

Thank Byron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eldorado Spur Steak Ranch also viewed

 
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Eldorado Spur Steak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing