We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super impressed! Epic night!”

Butlers Restaurant and Event Venue
Ranked #5 of 64 Restaurants in Hillcrest
Price range: R 3 - R 180
Description: Ladies and gentlemen, the touch of class Hillcrest has been longing for has finally arrived! Here, Tuesday through Sunday, you will be waited upon by our friendly, well trained butlers whom will see to it that you experience true, fine dining. We also offer our magnificent 200-seater venue for hire - for weddings, parties and other functions.
Restaurant details
Description: Ladies and gentlemen, the touch of class Hillcrest has been longing for has finally arrived! Here, Tuesday through Sunday, you will be waited upon by our friendly, well trained butlers whom will see to it that you experience true, fine dining. We also offer our magnificent 200-seater venue for hire - for weddings, parties and other functions.
Reviewed 10 October 2020

Brilliant night out!! I’d called in and made a reservation for two - date night. The setup was so beautiful! The service was absolutely impeccable! And the food was REALLY delicious with generous portions. Definitely one of the best restaurants I’ve been to in Durban. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: October 2020
2  Thank Qhawe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2020 via mobile

...1st time visiting this restaurant. Often in the area and always driving pass this venue so we decided to try it out. Garlic foccocia with honey glazed onions were so delicious 😋. Calamri wasn't done to my liking...did not like it at all. Steaks were absolutely soft soft soft. I like mine burnt and super well done and it was still done brilliantly. Sandile was our waiter...what an amazing lad. So friendly and always attentive! We will be back...

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank Smitten4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 July 2020

After a lock-down period when no restaurants have been open, it was good to be able to get out and enjoy a "non-home cooked" meal.

Our party of 4 shared and enjoyed the focaccia as a starter and 4 different meals were ordered. Presentation was very good and all dishes were well received. Lamb cutlets rather underdone as per ordered, but some extra time back in the kitchen and they returned as originally ordered.

Desserts were ordered and also did not disappoint. The Hubertos coffee ice-cream as part of the one dessert was one of the best ever tasted.

Service was brisk and non intrusive, and as a start up after an extended lock-down period, if this standard of service, presentation and quality of food continues it will auger well for this establishment.

We will be back ...... again!

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank irishmike60
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2020

Beautiful atmosphere with great food/ ambiance / service. My favorite restaurant in Hillcrest ♥️. Kudu was outstanding!

Date of visit: March 2020
1  Thank Heatherjoy150
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2020

Had an exceptional experience at Butlers restaurant recently. The food was scrumptious and our waitron, Sandile, was attentive, informed and very pleasant. Would most definitely be going back.

Date of visit: March 2020
2  Thank dhamirann
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Butlers Restaurant and Event Venue also viewed

Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Butlers Restaurant and Event Venue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.