We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy cheesecake”
Review of Madeleines

Madeleines
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Hillcrest
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 February 2022

popped in and had a yummy baked cheesecake (salted caramel). tasty, nice size, just amazing. pleasant service

Date of visit: February 2022
    • Value
    • Food
1  Thank Ari77772014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2020

What a great experience - amazing food, personal service and lovely views - we really enjoyed our lunch.
Since then I've popped in several times for coffee and croissant/muffin/other decadent delight! Yummy!

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank deborahsnyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 December 2019 via mobile

My husband and I visited this lovely bakery cum restaurant for Saturday morning breakfast, but have also been there closer to lunch time. We had their eggs Benedict served to order — his was soft and mine medium, served on a beautiful potato Rosti. There was the correct amount of Holland aids sauce to add depth to the dish without overwhelming the eggs or rosti. The food was served on “hot plates” which showed that the chef truly understood how “eggs” can quickly become so/so on a “off the shelf cold plate”. Reading the features for the lunch menu, we debated if we should simply walk around for 3 hours, and come back again. Such clever minds — the Madeleine Chefs — they must truly enjoy food & delighting their guests.

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank 28bevh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 December 2019 via mobile

First time going there, we had a entertainment coupon so we decided to use it. We had a great experience. Very nice restaurant, amazing menu, great service, good value and really good food. So impressed with everything. We will definitely be back.

Date of visit: December 2019
2  Thank WayneH968
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2019 via mobile

We were a bit confused about seating at first and had to ask for the table to be cleaned but Madeleine's made up for it with excellent food - just look at the pictures 😃. We will definitely be back again.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank DebbieC3748
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Madeleines also viewed

Botha's Hill, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Madeleines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.