We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal Chalet! Pefect Location!”
other travellers have booked this property
L'Ancienne Fromagerie, historic 19th century cheese diary
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
L'Ancienne Fromagerie, historic 19th century cheese diary
Cosy log burner with complimentary logs provided Enjoy the wonderful log fire, many board games and DVD's
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
L'Ancienne Fromagerie, historic 19th century cheese diary
Cosy log burner with complimentary logs provided
Enjoy the wonderful log fire, many board games and DVD's
New fully equipped new kitchen
Stylish mix of contemporary and savoyard interior
Comfortable lounge,beautifully furnished alpine style,
Large dining table
Perfect for two families sharing - each floor has its own bedrooms and bathroom
Charming twin/triple bedroom on the upper floor
Beautifully furnished double bedroom on the upper floor
One of two bathrooms in the chalet
Spacious family room with bunk beds on the lower floor
Family room has its own terrace
Relaxing alpine style
Upper terrace -perfect to enjoy that glass of wine!
Great hiking from the Fromagerie door, explore mountains and across the border into Switzerland
Market in Samoens every wednesday - one of the largest in the area
South facing garden and terrace, and secure shed for storing bikes and skis
Relax, barbecue and enjoy, temperatures in the high 20s in the summer
Beautiful view from the lounge window
Exciting mountain biking routes
Enjoying the snow, sledges available which can be used on the adjacent field
Winter wonderland and fantastic ski area of the Grand Massif
Horse riding, one of many exciting activities in the area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Samoens, Grand Massif, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Ideal Chalet! Pefect Location!”
Reviewed 12 November 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Jayne & Richard, the owners of this lovely chalet, could not be more helpful - really easy to book, lots of information about the chalet and the area before we arrived, great directions and efficient booking. The welcome pack was a lovely touch. My husband and I are now looking forward to our 3rd visit!

Our next visit, coming up in January 2017, will be our 2nd winter trip and will again be an ideal venue for us to meet up with family and share the fun of the Alps and the comforts of lovely chalet with them. Our earlier summer visit in 2011 introduced us to the beautiful countryside the property enjoys along with the chalet itself which is ideally located and equipped for both winter and summer holidays.

The chalet continues to be beautifully presented and last January we were able to enjoy using the extensively refurbished kitchen, perfect for serving hot soup and warm bread following a trip to the slopes (or if you feel really inspired you could easily cook gourmet food for 9 hungry mouths – every necessary kitchen utensil and equipment is available!). However, it's also great to have so many restaurant, bars, a wonderful pâtisserie and boulangerie within walking distance in the town and the deli’s only minutes walk away for delicious croissants for breakfast.

Proving you're "never too old to learn" my husband is insisting he will have some sking lessons to celebrate his 70th birthday whilst we are there this coming January!!!! However, if he does change his mind the chalet is located on the flat, with no hills but has fantastic views of mountains and traditional chalets from the windows!

Thanks again for giving us great memories and good times to look forward to.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oferbrand
Gedera, Israel
1 review
“Well equipped great location”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

we stayed for one week with grand children's , total 8 people
very well equipped ,, location in the center of Samoans village
Suitable also for small children's

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feetch
Wirral, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, comfortable chalet in the heart of Samoens”
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was our second visit to La Fromagarie. It was like returning home. Jayne and Richard maintain their property to a very high standard. They have provided everything you would require for a wonderful holiday. Beautiful modern kitchen with open plan living/dining area, which retains the wonderful character of L'Ancienne Fromagarie. Extremely comfortable beds and quality bed linen. The water pressure is very powerful, which provides excellent showers. Modern appliances, washing machine and tumble dryer in the utility room. The property is situated in a quiet residential area, with spectacular views of the mountains. Just a very short, flat stroll to the stunning centre of Samoens, where their are a wonderful selection of shops, restaurants and bars, market days are wonderful. My husband is a very keen cyclist, he loves the challenge of the mountains and stunning countryside. The icing on the cake was seeing La Tour de France come through Samoens.....amazing!! Jayne and Richard are very accommodating and went out of their way to ensure my stay was more comfortable this year as I had broken my ankle prior to our holiday, thank you both so much. I would not hesitate in recommending this chalet, the area provides everything for a wonderful holiday for all ages. We are counting down the days until we can return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: central location
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ease of access to Town Centre
Liked least: A little more seating to accomodate 9 people.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shorthose...
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely chalet in a great location”
Reviewed 30 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here with another family so there were 4 teenagers and 4 adults. We loved our two weeks here and Samoens is a fabulous place for a summer holiday, with lots for children and adults to do. The accommodation worked well, all the children slept in the basement bedroom and the adults had the rooms upstairs. The chalet is tastefully decorated and the kitchen is so well equipped that it was a pleasure to cook meals there. We liked that the kitchen living and dining areas were open plan. It's close to the town centre so that you could easily walk in to buy cooking ingredients but the main supermarket is only a short drive away. Showers were fabulous, hot and powerful! The chalet had a garden shed for safe storage of our bikes and top boxes. The outside seating area was a nice sun trap but not very private as its next to the (quiet) road at the front of the house. Views from the back of the chalet are beautiful. It was great to have a washing machine and tumble drier and the welcome pack was well received by all!.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen
Liked least: Dining table a bit small
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$236
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing