We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful chalet, stunning location and fabulous...”
Open plan living space
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan living space
Open plan living space & library corner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Open plan living space
Open plan living space & library corner
Dining table
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1 ensuite
Landing
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2 ensuite
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3 ensuite
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4 ensuite
Bedroom 5
Bedroom 5 ensuite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Samoens, Grand Massif, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Teenmyste...
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful chalet, stunning location and fabulous hosts!”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Having visited the French Alps a few years ago in the Summer season and loving it, my partner and I took the opportunity to grab another few days there this August and we couldn't have chosen better.

We like to be active and wanted to do lots of walking and cycling. Jayne and Sid's chalet is perfectly located for an active holiday, being a 15 minute stroll from Morillon village and an hour's walk into the center of Samoens, from which you can catch the bubble lift to the top of the mountain.

The surrounding area is jaw droppingly beautiful and the best way to take advantage of the scenery is undoubtedly on foot or bike (or a spot of white water rafting down the Giffre River.

The chalet itself has been thoughtfully designed with lots of attention to detail, like the hot tub perfectly positioned for views of the mountains, the shelves full of interesting books and a large fire pit for colder evenings.

On the subject of mountain views, you'd struggle to find a more spectacular one than that from 2 of the bedrooms.

What really makes this chalet really stand out from others though is the hosts. Jayne and Sid could not have been more welcoming or accommodating. From spending time with us each morning poring over maps to work out our best walking or cycle routes, to hiring a bike for me (not speaking the lingo), to providing delicious meals each evening in a lovely relaxed atmosphere, to keeping the bubbly topped up whilst we were in the hot tub, to just chatting about all their adventures in getting their wonderful chalet built - nothing was too much trouble.

If you're looking for an affordable, luxury break in the most beautiful surroundings, in a stunning chalet with extremely convivial hosts I couldn't recommend Pure Alps highly enough. You won't be disappointed.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review - it was great having you guys stay with us. You totally win the "how much activity can we pack in to a holiday" award for the year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingrid R
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful chalet and hosts”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Stayed for a week for late summer break. The chalet is beautiful and views are to die for. Bedrooms are very large and some have stunning view over the valley and mountains. Jayne and Sid are very friendly and sociable hosts and nothing is too much trouble. We used the chalet as a base for exploring the Giffre valley and surrounding Savoie area. It's a wonderful area for walking and cycling. We were offered the option of B and B or half board and chose to eat in most evenings. The food was excellent and unlimited supply of wine was offered. Would highly recommend for a summer or ski holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2016
Thanks for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time to give us such a lovely review. Am glad the late summer sun gave its all for your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OhNoLondo...
London
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Alpine gataway”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed here in July to catch the Tour de France which was going through the local village. It's a beautiful, newly built chalet with comfortable accommodation and stunning views. Our hosts were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and the home cooked food was good and plentiful. The large living room was big enough to accommodate two groups of guests, and eating at the long wooden table on the veranda made dinner extra special.Thoroughly recommend if you're looking for a relaxing retreat in the Alps.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a lovely review - it's much appreciated. It was great to have a chalet full of guests having fun that week. The Tour de France was such a big party time for the whole town. And we still have the flags for the next time it visits :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairi J
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My week at Pure Alps was my first experience of the Alps in the summer. The stylish chalet was a perfect place to appreciate and then experience everything that the beautiful Giffre Valley has to offer. The views of the landscape and skies are stunning and the chalet owners are extremely helpful in suggesting walks, rides, places to eat etc. so that we could get the most out of the mountain environment.

The chalet is generous in every respect - spacious, light-filled, with an interesting library and great food. The guest rooms are huge and quiet and thoughtfully prepared. The weather was lovely during our stay and we sat outside most of the time, looking across to the mountains and up into the trees behind. Magical.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and scenery.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
We're so glad you enjoyed the Alps (and PureAlps!) in the summer - it really is a magical place. And thanks for taking the time out to leave us a review. Hope to see you again in the winter season too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lwiggins1...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will definitely be back - again and again”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This new, family run chalet is situated in a beautiful setting with breathtaking views and is still in very close proximity to amenities - in Morillion and Samoens. Our group of six shared the chalet with another group of four (plus an 18mnth old) and there was plenty of room for us all - both private and communal. Our hosts, Jayne and Sid, were easy and laid back and helped to create a comfortable environment in which the two groups got to know each other and meal times were full of chatter and fun. The meals themselves were generous and hearty - and with many of the produce either grown in their own vegetable garden, or sourced from local farmers.
Our room was large and comfortable - with the best pillows I have had the pleasure of sleeping on! The shower had great pressure and plenty of hot water - no matter how many guests were using water at the same time.
Despite it being summer, we used the hot tub on some of the cooler evenings after long, hot walks up the mountains - and then enjoyed socialising around the cosy fire pit.
Overall, this was a great visit and we will definitely be back - to enjoy the home grown produce, friendly hospitality and beautiful surroundings!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2016
We're so glad you enjoyed your 'full-house' week - we did too - it was lively and fun! Thanks so much for staying with us, and for taking the time to leave us a lovely review...

PS. Those pillows - we love them too. Hat-tip to the good folks at Soak and Sleep for them :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing