We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Agoda.com
US$203
View deal
Official Hotel
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveller rating
256
88
25
17
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
256
88
25
17
12
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 398 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2020

Top quality hotel with very friendly and helpful staff which has recently been extensively refurbished. High quality food in restaurants. Breakfast a little expensive but otherwise could not fault our 4 night stay.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rod20202020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, Nathalie Trincaz at Les Gentianettes Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share a review.

Our team works hard to ensure that every guest has the best experience possible and your positive feedback inspires us to continue with our efforts.

We however regret to read that the price of our breakfast did not quite meet your expectations. We assure you that our pricing is competitive, given the wide range of fresh products which we are offered. Nevertheless, we have noted your comments.

It is a pleasure to know that you had a pleasant experience with us and that you enjoyed the varied dining options at our restaurant.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Best wishes,

Nathalie Trincaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2020

Very nice hotel, combining modern design with authenticity. Very friendly staff, the family Trincaz makes you feel at home. We really had a very nice short ski @ Les Gentianettes. Breakfast was very good, and the VIP bus service of the hotel a very nice extra to get to the slopes.

Room tip: It was very warm (even with the heating off). Some additional coat hangers at the door / hall would be easy for ski jackets ;-)
Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank empoweredbysarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, Nathalie Trincaz at Les Gentianettes Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2020

Dear Madam,
Thank you for positively reviewing your time at Les Gentianettes Hotel, La Chapelle d'Abondance.

We are very happy to hear that our team members made you feel at home. This personal attention is really one of the things that we try to maintain in our hotel.

We hope to see you on your next visit!
Wishing you the best year ahead!

Nathalie Trincaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2019 via mobile

Honestly the worst hotel people I have ever seen running a hotel! A middle aged covered in perfume madam in the reception who never smiled, was snob to guests and was yelling to the stuff behind doors and a tall blond young lady that was inexplicably distant and cold and you could almost feel like she was only doing her job for the money but with a necessary “fake smile”. Same feeling with the people “assisting” during breakfast. I personally felt like they didn’t want ”us” being there, they were staring and standing in front of the people who were just trying to get breakfast from the small buffet and as a result everybody was acting weird.
The hotel overall was really nice and picturesque with beautiful decorations and details in interior design, but the food in the two restaurants of the hotel that was supposed to be.....“superb”, was nothing really special in my opinion.
Too much ”va va voom” for nothing...

I wouldn’t recommend, for sure.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank VillySmokoviti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, Nathalie Trincaz at Les Gentianettes Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2020

Sir/Madame
Thank you for your comments relating to your stay at our hotel.

We're sorry your experience hasn't been as good as what we usually receive. We are committed to maintaining a high level of service for our guests. We will review your remarks with the whole team and make sure that every member has a reminder on how to best help our guests. We have noted your comments regarding your dining experience and will consider them when making any future improvements. Nevertheless, we thank you for your kind comments about our property and unique style.

We do hope to welcome you back for an improved stay in the future.
Happy holidays,

Nathalie Trincaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2019

Very pleasant space, well taken care of and just a walk away from forest and nature. Staff is professional and lovely people. We could see in every detail that they work hard to make it happen for the guests.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank VandaDaCostaMartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, Nathalie Trincaz at Les Gentianettes Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2019

Dear Madam,
Thank you for posting this wonderful review.

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and that our you were charmed by our location. It is truly rewarding for our team to be commended by a guest for the courteous and professional service we provide.

Our team would be delighted to welcome you again on another occasion. My kind regards,

Nathalie Trincaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2019

We did not enjoy our stay in this hotel. The room was small and the bathroom layout was inconvenient. One of the doors of the wardrobe could not be opened. In the bathroom, there was no shower curtain or glass shield for the shower which made it very awkward to shower. There was a 'rainforest showerhead' but it was inconceivable to use in this setup. After showering the whole sink area and walls were splattered and the bathroom floor wet. One could see fixtures on the ceiling for a glass shield to be installed but upon inquiry at the reception the owner told us that the bathroom is supposed to be like that and did not make any attempts to address the issue. The toilet roll holder was one of those big round boxes that are locked with a key, like in a public restroom - very weird for a hotel. We could not get a spot in the hotel restaurant in the evening, for which no tables are held for hotel guests nor were we asked at check-in if we want to book a table for the following evening. It would not take much to make guests aware of the popularity of the restaurant at the time of check-in. The spa is small and was very crowded with the relax area awkwardly facing the entrance of the hotel. At breakfast, cheese and charcuterie were running out fast. Overall, there was little attention to detail by staff and upon mentioning some of the issues above to staff/owner we were rather made feeling awkward by their answers. Having done many weekend trips around Geneva, I would not choose this hotel again.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, Nathalie Trincaz, Director at Les Gentianettes Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2019

Sir,
We thank you for taking the time to share your comments relative to your stay and we appreciate your suggestions for improvement.

We're sorry your experience hasn't been fully satisfying and that your room and facilities were not to your expectations; we apologise for any inconvenience in this regard. Regarding your dining experience, we do wish to clarify that we do send our guests a pre-stay survey which highly recommends that our guests reserve a table if they wish to dine at either of our two restaurants. At this time, demand at our restaurants is, indeed, very high and many times they will be completely full; we can only therefore keep a table upon reservation. We do apologise that we were not able to provide you a table at your chosen restaurant that evening. We have also noted your comments regarding our breakfast and service; we will be sure to speak to our teams in this regard.

Despite this, we do hope to welcome you back for an improved stay in the future.
Sincerely,

Nathalie Trincaz, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews