We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
FindHotel
StayForLong
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
124
60
15
9
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
124
60
15
9
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

As always excellent food with excellent service. Taking friends for their first visit I can only say they were very impressed. This family owned hotel shows a lot of love for their business which is shown by all of the staff and family who will always be helpful and professional in their approach to everything they do.
Always try to visit when in the area.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kaetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

A very lovely location but not too much to do there except for a little walk. The food at their restaurant is ok, not great, but pleasant. The rooms are very nice and comfortable and charmingly decorated.

Room tip: Try to get a room in the back. It' quieter there
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Over the past 6 years I have never had a bad visit. Great food , great service, and well worth a visit . Never stayed here but eaten here regularly and would always recommend a visit . Be hungry when you go though.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank O7487FHchrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

Well what a superb stay! We had eaten the great food at the Hotel before, but had never stayed. We stayed for a week and what an excellent stay it was! This is a hotel jammed packed with character, history and good service. The reception is quirky, but very efficient. Not for you if you don't like stuffed animals! However, the hotel is well appointed and tastefully decorated. The beds are really comfortable. The bar area is very welcoming and the staff there are great. Always warm welcomes, smiles and attentive service. The breakfast is varied and plentiful and the food is really good. Try a cocktail, they come with a real kick! The hotel is a real gem, with great facilities and really friendly and welcoming staff. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MRBSIXTYSIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Our welcome was efficient, if rather basic - "Hello, here's your keys, do you want breakfast?" - first impressions are SO important after all. But I was ignored by the 4 staff there when I went back later to ask where the Spa was. 2 just looked at me and carried on with what they were doing, one answered a phone and, just as I thought the final lady was coming to help me, a staff member walked out of the bar towards reception and she turned away to speak to him instead. That aside, we had a fantastic stay. And, just so you don't get disheartened, we found the staff in the bar/restaurant amazingly efficient and friendly, the main restaurant staff friendly, helpful and kind and our bedroom/bathroom was immaculately clean, so applause to the cleaning staff, too.

Room was a family one at the front of the hotel on the first floor - No 11. We liked it. It wasn't over the top, but the the beds were comfortable, there was plenty of cupboard/wardrobe space, bath robes were provided and the toiletries in the bathroom were worth using. You open the door and walk into bunk beds, so guess it is aimed at families.

The swimming pool,, hot tubs and Spa are excellent, the museum is an interesting amenity but you will go back for the food, service and (most of) the staff. We went to celebrate my birthday and I hope we will go back again, just because we can,

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank srussell300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews