We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
FindHotel
StayForLong
Agoda.com
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
124
61
15
9
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
124
61
15
9
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2017

Well what a superb stay! We had eaten the great food at the Hotel before, but had never stayed. We stayed for a week and what an excellent stay it was! This is a hotel jammed packed with character, history and good service. The reception is quirky, but very efficient. Not for you if you don't like stuffed animals! However, the hotel is well appointed and tastefully decorated. The beds are really comfortable. The bar area is very welcoming and the staff there are great. Always warm welcomes, smiles and attentive service. The breakfast is varied and plentiful and the food is really good. Try a cocktail, they come with a real kick! The hotel is a real gem, with great facilities and really friendly and welcoming staff. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MRBSIXTYSIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Our welcome was efficient, if rather basic - "Hello, here's your keys, do you want breakfast?" - first impressions are SO important after all. But I was ignored by the 4 staff there when I went back later to ask where the Spa was. 2 just looked at me and carried on with what they were doing, one answered a phone and, just as I thought the final lady was coming to help me, a staff member walked out of the bar towards reception and she turned away to speak to him instead. That aside, we had a fantastic stay. And, just so you don't get disheartened, we found the staff in the bar/restaurant amazingly efficient and friendly, the main restaurant staff friendly, helpful and kind and our bedroom/bathroom was immaculately clean, so applause to the cleaning staff, too.

Room was a family one at the front of the hotel on the first floor - No 11. We liked it. It wasn't over the top, but the the beds were comfortable, there was plenty of cupboard/wardrobe space, bath robes were provided and the toiletries in the bathroom were worth using. You open the door and walk into bunk beds, so guess it is aimed at families.

The swimming pool,, hot tubs and Spa are excellent, the museum is an interesting amenity but you will go back for the food, service and (most of) the staff. We went to celebrate my birthday and I hope we will go back again, just because we can,

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank srussell300
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 June 2016

We have been to this hotel (restaurant) over a number of years and on each occassion have been truly impressed by the quality and quantity of the food provided. So much so that we decided to stay for a long weekend and sample the hotel amenities. We were not dissappointed! A good swimming pool and spa facilities were available. The rooms are typically alpine and are of reasonable size.
Would without hesitation recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelcH9423HM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 September 2015

Arriving, I gave our name and the young woman at the front desk wordlessly placed a room key on the counter in front of me and returned to a reservation she was booking by phone. There was no "Bonjour" or Welcome" or "Did you have a good journey?" Nothing. Then the room was rather worn with those environmentally correct light bulbs that give off a sad cold light. The portions at dinner were enormous and the food was carelessly cooked and served in such a slap-dash way it was almost comical. Then in the morning the breakfast room resembled something you'd expect to find on a military base--cold and fully automated, with mediocre industrial everything--coffee, juice, etc. The woman running the breakfast room didn't greet us when we came in either but pointedly ignored us, exasperated by the appearance of customers who might need or ask for something. This may be a fifth-generation family hotel, but they will need some serious lessons in better hospitality if it's going to survive through a 6th one.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2015

This hotel is amazing, not only for the location in the chapelle & abondance, the people of the hotel is GREAT!!, you will feel as your home, you can go sky walking only 3 blocks, or in 10 min in bus (free) you will be in chatel, great place and big mountain. The restaurant of the hotel is fantastic, excellent food and they cook very natural, with great materials. The hotel has free wifi, excellent swimming pool and spa, and special place for children to play inside and outside. You will never be upset with this hotel...

Room tip: rooms over the chablis is great.. you are far away from the street.
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JaviernorbertoO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews