We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Bellevue

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Vaison-la-Romaine, Vaucluse, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Helen R
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous.”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The house is set in the beautiful medieval village a short walk from the main town. It is beautifully furnished and had everything we needed for our stay. The views from practically every room were to die for! Like a previous reviewer I felt like I was in a storybook. Vaison has plenty to see and do, and the market on Tuesday must not be missed. We visited many lovely places but my favourite was Seguret, which took my breath away. Had a lovely meal here at Cote Terrasse with stunning views over the valley. Erica was very welcoming and provided lots of tips on where to visit and eat. A wonderful holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
Thank you so much Helen, it was lovely to have you both in my home, & I'm so glad you enjoyed yourselves. Thank you for looking after it for me! Kind regards, Erica
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
778cata
Louth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming traditional home in old town with amazing views & good facilities”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This house is Erica's beautiful home. It is spacious, well equipped and from the comfortable upstairs lounge, the views are amazing. We were entertained daily by swifts flying past the windows. The kitchen and dining room are on the ground floor, bedrooms and shower room on the first floor and spacious lounge on the second floor. There is a small outside terrace off the kitchen and a separate garden with BBQ etc a short walk away. It was our type of house and we felt truly at home there. The booking process went very smoothly with helpful tips from Erica. Rubbish is collected every weekday morning.
You can easily walk down to the shops and market (10 mins) - longer and slower coming back up but we improved over the week! The Roman sites and especially the museum are well worth a visit. We ate twice at La Fete en Provence which is close - good quality and well presented.
There is free car parking nearby at the edge of the haute ville

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lounge - size, comfort, decor and views
Liked least: Mosquitoes in the garden (none in the house though!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
Dear Catherine & Alan
Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm delighted you enjoyed my little home. I very much appreciate your putting the review on.
Kind regards, Erica
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D P
Santa Rosa, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Old World Charm, Stunning View”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We could have stayed much longer in Erica's charming home, which was nestled into the medieval village clinging to the hill above modern Vaison. When we arrived, Erica met us with a parking space and helped us trolly our suitcases up the cobbled village street to her 3 story home. I felt as if I had entered a storybook.

The main floor is dining room and well stocked and appointed kitchen with a little terrace and guest bath; up the stairs the second floor contains two lovely bedrooms (one with a view of the village lane and the other a full view of Vaison) and a full bath; the top floor is a comfy sitting room which has an even more spectacular view of Vaison below. The house was the perfect place for us as we love to walk and there are many restaurants and shops nearby.

While there, I lost an earring (one of my favorites!) and Erica said she would keep an eye out for it. It did turn up, about three weeks later, wedged between two floorboards under the bed. Erica enclosed it in an envelope and it made the trip from France home to the US. Thank you again, Erica, for that, and for your gracious hospitality while we enjoyed your lovely home.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizzyJane...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful house with stunning views in atmospheric old town”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved Erica's house (which is where she lives when she is not renting the property). It is beautifully furnished and fitted out to an extremely high standard, with great views of the town of Vaison and surrounding countryside. The private terraced garden (approximately 200 yds away, further up the hill) with more wonderful views is an added bonus and is great for chilling and dining al fresco.

There is plenty to do in Vaison - good shopping and restaurants and a superb market on Tues morning (not to be missed). Beyond Vaison you are spoiled for choice for things to do and places to visit - whether you are into wine tasting, historic sites (in Vaison itself or further afield in Orange, Avignon, Arles etc) or soaking up the countryside.

The house is up in the old town which is very quiet (apart from cicadas!) with a few top quality tourist shops, bars and restaurants. Just be aware that you have to walk down to the old town (over the Roman Bridge) or to the excellent 'Bio Co-op' (just across the road from the new bridge) to pick up food supplies and then back up the hill (so don't buy too much wine!). Alternatively you can drive to local supermarkets on the outskirts of town but bear in mind that parking is a short walk from the property and can be limited. However, Erica was extremely kind and accompanied us on our first shopping trip and drove us up to the property (which is possible for those not of a nervous disposition (!) - but only at in the evening and early morning because of strict parking regulations).

We had a fantastic stay in this lovely house and would highly recommend it. Erica was a generous and welcoming host. Can't wait to return.Thank you Erica!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The standard of the accommodation, the views, the location.
Liked least: There was confusion about collecting keys for the property on arrival because of a phone signal problem. Would recommend giving the address of the property to renters and clear instructions as to where to park before the day of arrival.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malapoon
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a location for a charming "old city" house”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Staying at Villa Bellevue was a home away from home!
The kitchen is extremely well appointed, bedrooms contain adequate storage and comfortable beds, good shower and 2 toilets. To me the peaceful lounge was the piece de resistance- situated at the top of the house with outstanding views, relaxing seating, and TV, if required .
The detached higher situated garden with bbq is a pleasant spot to see for miles while enjoying a meal and wonderful local wines
Situated in the old city gives one the opportunity to wander at leisure exploring tiny cobbled streets, admiring the ancient architecture and visiting the numerous galleries. or little restaurants.
The hilltop position of Villa Bellevue is not for the faint-hearted as it must be reached on foot carrying ones supplies but the exercise is good for the waistline!!
Hope to return again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Renovated tastefully nd in keeping with such a historical property
Liked least: Laundry very small drying rack
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing