We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Restaurant Le 104

Restaurant Le 104
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$57
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Reviewed 18 June 2016

Visited this restaurant last year and loved it so much we visited it several times. This year however it was disappointing. Although our hostess was as charming and pleasant as last year, the food was disappointing.
We chose a crab starter and struggled to find the find the crab in the dish. We both had beef,- the cuts were poor and certainly bad value for money. Nothing special about the desserts.
The setting is still beautiful and as I said the hostess is very friendly and helpful but I was not be returning.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pipken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthieu T, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le 104, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017
Google Translation

Madame, monsieur,

Merci pour votre critique suite a votre expérience au 104. Pour information Le restaurant à changé de direction depuis le 14/07/17.

Cordialement,

L'Equipe du 104

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

By far the best restaurant, service and quality of food I have ever experienced. The food was stunningly presented with mouth watering flavours. We were incredibly surprised after talking with the young lady proprietor that it was herself and young brother that was the chef that had recently opened the restaurant together, they made an incredible team with our visit being the highlight of our weeks visit.
Congratulations to you both and thank you for an incredible meal.

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthieu T, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le 104, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017
Google Translation

Madame, monsieur,

Merci pour votre critique suite a votre expérience au 104. Pour information Le restaurant à changé de direction depuis le 14/07/17.

Cordialement,

L'Equipe du 104

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

I saw all the great reviews I thought we should try this restaurant whilst on holiday, with my father and 10yr old son. My son is a very fussy eater so I'm always nervous about trying somewhere new

We first tried to walk in on a weds night at about 8.30 and they were full. So definitely book unless you're there at 7.30

The restaurant manager was lovely, her English is very good and she translated the menus very well for us. She was friendly and was pleased to do this.

The restaurant is clean and fresh, modern and has a nice calm atmosphere.

My son was able to have a steak and potatoes, which was so delicious he ended up having another as he wasn't keen on the fish options. The food is superb beautifully presented and to the standard I would expect to pay double for in the UK.

It's a real 'find' and worth a visit as we were talking about the food days afterwards (and I eat out a lot).

I think with small children you would have to be sure they would eat new foods, but then with small children fine dining is always hit and miss!

I would ignore the other review on this restaurant, it's superb and for €20 menu you cannot fault it. I would go back every week if I could

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2015

We (me, my husband and our 3yo daughter) had two dinners here whilst on holiday.
Both were utterly sublime and incredibly good value. The set menu options range from €18.50 to €30 for three courses and everyone uses fresh local produce brilliantly, as do the a la carte options. The children's menu is small but our daughter was more than satisfied with the fish of the day. In fact the first was the only meal during our holiday which she fed herself the whole of without being coaxed to finish or fed by us. A real achievement!
The service was impeccable from Juiliette, who singlehandedly managed the dining room, remembering everyone's preferences, making excellent recommendations and generally looking after us faultlessly.
We didn't make reservations but arrived fairly early (7pm) for dinner and the season had not really started yet. All other diners were French and possibly local. I can imagine in late July and August it would be very busy though.
I really can't recommend this place enough!

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lauren1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthieu T, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le 104, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017
Google Translation

Madame, monsieur,

Merci pour votre critique suite a votre expérience au 104. Pour information Le restaurant à changé de direction depuis le 14/07/17.

Cordialement,

L'Equipe du 104

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2015 via mobile

Fantastic restaurant. Food is out of this world. If you're looking for something a cut above the normal tourist traps, this is it. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Date of visit: June 2015
1  Thank Pipken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthieu T, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le 104, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017
Google Translation

Madame, monsieur,

Merci pour votre critique suite a votre expérience au 104. Pour information Le restaurant à changé de direction depuis le 14/07/17.

Cordialement,

L'Equipe du 104

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Le 104 also viewed

Saint-Jean-de-Monts, Vendee
Saint-Jean-de-Monts, Vendee
 
Saint-Jean-de-Monts, Vendee
Saint-Jean-de-Monts, Vendee
 
Saint-Jean-de-Monts, Vendee
Saint-Jean-de-Monts, Vendee
 

Been to Restaurant Le 104? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing