We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
84
65
27
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
65
27
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews unique rooms boutique hotel turtles jacuzzi balcony
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2017

This charming hotel was booked for me by my customer shop I visit 3-4 times a year. It is just an experience. It has well appointed unique rooms with each having its own exceptional ambiance. The rooms are well equipped and include a mini fridge which is very rare in this area but very useful. The rooms are quiet even when the hotel is full. The proprietor is charming and very kind. I have found this hotel to be a hidden gem and a joy to be booked in when I travel. I get the best relaxing sleep here with everything being so comfortable and this is difficult to find in Europe on Business Travel. J'adore Sud Bretagne!

Room Tip: They are Great Rooms!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jadoreparis98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maarc1958, Gérant at Hotel Sud Bretagne, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear Jadoreparis98,

We really appreciate your testimony and we sincerely thank you about your sharing.

Be assured that we will continue along this path and we will be glad to welcome you on an other occasion for a stay or a tasty dinner.

Best regards,
Anne Laure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Located a little back from the busy waterfront, this is a very welcoming hotel. We dined in the garden at the rear of the hotel. The lush planting, the fish ponds and the blue sky made for a really pleasant setting. The restaurant offers both fixed price menus and a la carte. We chose the a two course fixed price menu at €29. The starter was asparagus with langoustine and the main was monk fish with sweet potato and baby fennel. Both dishes were well presented and tasted good. We drank a bottle of Languedoc Rose wine which was excellent. We rounded it off with coffees and the bill came to €99. The service was first class and all-in-all a very enjoyable dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank don m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maarc1958, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Sud Bretagne, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2016

Dear Don m,

We really appreciate your testimony and we sincerely thank you about your sharing.

Be assured that we will continue along this path and we will be glad to welcome you on an other occasion for a stay or a tasty dinner.

Best regards,
Sebastien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2015 via mobile

This is where I have been coming back past ten years. Never disappointing in any way. Above all is the friendliest service one can imagine. Location is good in between St Nazaire and LaBoule. Rooms are OK, food is good and lobby extremely cosy.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
Thank Vesa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2015

Seven of us stayed for four nights. This gave us a good opportunity to explore Pornichet and the surrounding area, and the Sud Bretagne is a splendid base from which to do this. The rooms range in comfort and decor, but the style overall is quite idiosyncratic - nautical themed, a bit shabby-chic, very French. The hotel is comfortable with a good bar area, a lounge and a very nice restaurant, although quite pricey. A good, short, wine list. Front of house is Marc Antoine, who couldn't have been more friendly and helpful with all our various demands! It is also in a very central sport, with a private parking - which you will need on Saturday mornings, when there is a huge market opposite the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel can be a little noisy, especially on a Saturday morning.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hammythehamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2014

We had dined at this hotel many times in the past when we had our boat moored in the excellent marina in Pornichet, France. So we knew the food would be good. I always wanted to stay here because I love the inspirational design style. A huge sink made of spode like china outside the restrooms, and french farmhouse style dining area, linked with more up to date areas off . The garden dining is super, with fish ponds and bamboo separating each sitting area. All softly lit at night, and bounded by an old farm stone wall. One gets a sense that once upon a time this was an active Breton farmhouse where Madame prepared traditional dishes for her family.
Anyway, we stayed for three nights. Our room was very comfortable, with a small balcony overlooking the back garden area. The ensuite was typically a la Francais, with a curtain divider and a huge corner bath with shower over it. But it was just fine.
The breakfasts were buffet style with loads of delicious French baked goods, no hot cooked dishes on offer, but plenty to enjoy .
The Dinners were gorgeous. We ate in the garden on a warm September evening. We had fish, fresh and beautifully cooked , and apple desert. The service was as we remembered it, friendly and efficient.
Pornichet is on the south side of the beautiful La Baule bay area. More traditonally country French style than La Baule itself, which is modern combined with Art Decor and exciting. There is a very good covered food market most days in the square opposite the hotel. The beach is within an easy walk, drive or cycle ... I recommend the cycling. Pornichet beach is good for rock pooling when the tide goes out. La Baule is one heavenly long sandy beach, good for swimming, surfing, sun bathing or just lazing around with a wine !
France at its best, with Hotel Sud Bretagne to look after you!
Dogs are welcome ... so were we.
PS There is a jacuzzi in the garden (covered) and a large swimming pool, which is not heated and we got a bit of a shock when we jumped in ... it was freezing!! Nice place to sunbathe though.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the back garden which would be quieter than those facing the street. The rooms are all different.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank englishlady_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews