We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“EXCELLENT LOCATION”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Cabourg, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
chrisboot...
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT LOCATION”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A pretty little old town house in a perfect position. About 5 mins from Cabourg's fabulous beach and a similar distance from the pleasant town centre and market.
A great base for exploring this part of Normandy in particular the D Day landing beaches but also the beautiful villages of the Cider Route and the coastal resorts of Honfleur (delightful) Deauville and Trouville. Also don't miss the awe inspiring Basilica to St Therese at Lisieux.
Sleeping accommodation is fine with comfortable beds which are plenty for 6 and if you are there in v good weather and can use the well equipped and private outside space and can use the bbq and grill you would be fine. If the weather was other than that the inside space for relaxing and dining along with the somewhat rudimentary cooking facilities (2 rings, a microwave and a very tiny stand alone oven) means that it would ideally be suitable for 4 adults max. Also there is only one combined WC and shower (no bath) That said it is very good value. Wi Fi worked well but the TV only offered French Channel. Take some DVDs!
Parking on the street outside the property would have been fine except they were digging up the road while we were there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, price and sleeping accommodation.
Liked least: Kichen, dinig and indoor relaxing space.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2016
Hi Chris,
Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the time you were in Cabourg and that our house suited you.
It is a pity that they were digging up the road while you were there...
We haven't paid attention to the fact that the TV only offered French Channel ! so, we thank you for this remark and we will propose a solution for having other channels in English and German :)
Hope to have pleasure in welcoming you again !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin4d
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quaint property and a good base for touring the area”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We sailed into Ouistreham on a Saturday afternoon and found the property with our sat-nav without any difficulty. There was a bit of 'digging up' of the road by workmen but that did mot impede our access at all.
The house is situated on a quiet street just 5 minutes from the promenade and beach, and about 10 minutes from the main town.
Instructions for access to the keys became apparent on arrival. This is a quaint little property on three levels. It was sufficiently equipped with a dishwasher, small electric oven, hob, kettle, fridge and plenty of cutlery and crockery. There was also a washing machine in the bathroom on the first floor. The overall feel of the house was cosy.

The beds were comfortable but you do need to take your own sheets and duvet covers; duvets and pillows are provided. I was pleased to have the bed measurements from the website so that I packed the correct size. The owner had also suggested to me beforehand that the large square pillows used in France may not fit the UK pillow slips so in addition to sheets I packed our own pillows. (The square pillows will fold though and fit into a rectangular pillow case). You also need to take towels for kitchen, bath and beach.

We are pretty fit so managed the 2 flights of stairs well enough but it may be difficult for the less able bodied. My 80 year old mother accompanied us and she managed OK to the first floor.

The town itself has a nice 'high street' with a range of shops, bars and restaurants. (Do try one of the chocolatieres!) This isn't a pumping out loud music scene, but there were a few live acts on in the bars one evening.

Our reason for travel was for my mother to visit the Normandy beaches of WWII and she was not disappointed. We were a little far off Utah and Omaha beaches maybe, but it was very easy for the British areas, Merville Battery and Pegasus bridge being only a 30 minute drive away. This is also a great location for a trip to Deauville, Trouville and to Honfleur, the latter being a favourite for artists.

Overall we had a lovely week, even if the weather was not perfect, mais c'est la vie.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: General 'feel' of the home and its location
Liked least: Lots of stairs (3 floors)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa666
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cosy and quaint”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

What was great.......
Comfortable beds and good shower - this is always a good start! Watch out though as you need to bring your own sheets for 2 single beds, 1 double and 1 double which is 2 singles! Also the pillows are square where as the UK pillows are rectangle shape!
Very quiet town, lovely beach couple of minutes walk away which has a must visit crazy golf course
Free parking right outside.
Easy access to large supermarket for ease with self catering
Excellent BBQ and eating outside facilities
Everything was clean
Owners very helpful and approachable

What was not so great.....
Living area on the ground floor rather cosy for 6 people. Kitchen was well equipped but small if you want to self cater all week.
We had cold weather for our visit so this made things a little more challenging for us.
Food etc more expensive than the UK
Not many places to go shopping (which suited us but not everyone)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beach and the peace and quiet
Liked least: The size of the living area and kitchen
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn20...
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely house in a great seaside town.”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Lovely house in a quiet location, yet very close to shops, a good choice of restaurants, and only a few minutes walk to the beach. Cabourg is a wonderful town with lots going on, and centrally placed to explore the Normandy coast. The hosts were very quick to answer any queries and were extremely helpful and accommodating.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall location, and very helpful hosts.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jothejour...
Malaga, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy, quaint & self contained”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Very convenient to Cabourg centre & beach, small & cosy house perfect with all facilities needed for an easy stay. We visited at Easter with mixed weather & settled in for some lovely family time together - would love to visit in Summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size & location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing