We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The One Seafood Place in Cabourg ”
Review of Le Baligan

Le Baligan
Ranked #7 of 78 Restaurants in Cabourg
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: In Cabourg, located in the heart of Normandy between Caen and Deauville, Le Baligan welcomes you to propose fish and seafood specialties. Simple and gourmand recipes using fresh products is our asset.
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

The holy trilogy is in place at the Baligan: welcome, food, price. Not that it is inexpensive for the latter but rather in accordance with the quality you get. Let’s rewind a bit...
It’s nice to be nicely greeted isn’t it? That’s what you get when you come in.
If I’d dare, I’d recommend to start with a Soupe de poissons that looks, taste & smells like a real fish soup.
Then get the best langoustines I’ve had in a while, including in Paris (read new reviews to come). Do not hesitate to pick the Saint Aubin white wine, it will sublimate the seafood background.
End up with a Granité de pommes au Calvados (local apple brandy) and you’ll be ready to hibernate for a little while after a good Normandy meal!
Happy, healthy & wealthy 018 vintage to all my dear readers & their loved ones.
ST

Thank Salomon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francoisT718, Propriétaire at Le Baligan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you!!!
His good to have connaisseurs as customers!
See you soon I hope so!
Francois Teissonnière

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 1 598 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

We came by on a wednesday evening. A crowded place, with friendly staff. Although it was not very cold outside it was not warm enough in the restaurant. We chose the menu saint jacques and saw that the overall level was ok wit very good main courses, although one of us got a burned toast with the starter as well as a moeulleux that was not what it should be. Conclusion, ok but nothing more. 7/10

Thank ddm8780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francoisT718, Propriétaire at Le Baligan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017
Google Translation

Merci pour votre commentaire nous allons tout faire pour nous améliorer notre but unique à bientôt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

We had planned to visit this restaurant based on previous reviews and we were very happy that we did. We were quickly seated by friendly staff and our drinks orders taken, soon followed by our food order. the restaurant has a nice cosy atmosphere on what was a very damp foggy day. The wine we had ordered (by the pichet) was really very good and good value too. For a starter, I had ordered filets de hareng which was very plentiful and tasty, and my wife had the moules en mousse which she loved. For our main course, we both had Filet de mullet gurnard with moules which was amazing. For dessert, we both had riz au lait du Baligan which again was very good.

The total cost of this very memorable lunch was just under 50 Euro plus tip which we felt was amazing value for money. We will definitely be back next time we visit Cabourg.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SLKmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francoisT718, Directeur général at Le Baligan, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Thank you very much for your comment I hope we will see you and in France and one more time no Bsligan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

The food was very good. We tried the place twice and each time excellent. The service us nice but they are extremely busy. If you are not good in French the menu can be a challenge however the waiters try there best translate. The English used is ok and they actually try to understand and speak to you even though English might be strong side. I can only fully recommend this place.

Thank Henrik T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

2 Americans and a Brit (and my schoolboy French is 40 years out of date). Our 2 servers didn't really understand English, and spoke none. That didn't detract from the great service/food/location, but just made it a little more difficult to order. We all had seafood (it's a seafood heaven). Oysters and Fish soup to start were both wonderful and the Haddock main course was perfect. The Chef came out to say hello after we'd eaten. It's very popular so you might need a reservation.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 749David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Baligan also viewed

 

Been to Le Baligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing