We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Fuchsiagi...
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a wonderful place to stay in Sarlat.The apartment is beautifully appointed.Christian and Marie met us on arrival,gave us lots of tips and showed us around.They had.kindly provided all the essentials such as tea,coffee ,milk etc.
The apartment has everything you need for a great holiday,the lovely outdoor seating and plunge pool were great.The cathedral overlooks the apartment and on 2 nights were were entertained by a beautiful organ recital.The apartment it cevtrallylcated in the old town and everything is within walking distance.We highly recommend the Apartment Le Cardinal,5 stars ++++.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
Merci Peter et Julie
Nous avons été très heureux de vous recevoir.
Vous avez été très chaleureux avec nous.
Merci encore pour vos petits cadeaux.
Une attention particulière qui nous a beaucoup touché.
Nous vous souhaitons un bon retour.
À bientôt.
Christian et Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol R
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful lodging”
Reviewed 19 June 2015 for a stay in September 2014
4
people found this review helpful

If I could give this place more than 5 stars, I would. it exceeded our expectations. The apartment is very well located in a small quiet square right off a major walking street. Restaurants are close at hand and there is a health food store and a small grocery store that had everything we needed (we ate one meal out and also cooked every day). The apartment is nicely decorated with quality furnishings that are well maintained. There are surprising extras that make you feel like the owners want to make sure you have a good time...I'll let you discover those yourself. Additionally, the apartment has a small washer and a large drying rack. The patio has a cold plunge pool and there's a jacuzzi hot tub in the bathroom. The Saturday Market here is delightful with tables full of olives, bread, cheeses, and foie gras. This is a great apartment. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112rosie
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just as Described..No Hidden Surprise”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great Central Location , Very Clean and up to-date, but decorated to the period. Bedding and towels all beautiful and new. Christian and his wife extremely helpful we couldn't get to the property until 10.30p.m which they accommodated and also got us shopping for the next day with no extra charge plus items we hadn't asked for, a very nice surprise. Roses in a bowl on the table. Free Parking is 5 minutes or so away up hill so once you find it is fine. Property is in a courtyard within the medieval town and fairly easy to find. We were here in Sept and the property didn't get a lot of sunshine in the terraced area behind and was a little dark inside. We didn't use the dishwasher or washing machine as the instructions were in French and Christian doesn't live nearby, but with so many gorgeous restaurants very cheap by British prices we didn't need a dishwasher. There isn't a proper shower it is a bath with a hand shower. The T.V only has Sky News and BBC world news in English plus U.S news the Wifi is great. We loved the apartment and Sarlat

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: A bit dark and no sunshine in back courtyard
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framgirl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding in all aspects!!!! A real winner!!!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This apartment was well located to visit Sarlat. It was beautiful, well appointed and offered a wonderful private courtyard to eat or use the soaker pool during warm weather. The kitchen is well
equipped and the jacuzzi tub is wonderful. The provided robes and slippers were thoughtful and came in handy.

The owners Christian and Marie are a delight to deal with. I would definitely recommend this apartment to anyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie T
Paris
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just for Two this Apartment is perfect in every way”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Le Cardinal offers everything. The Location is ideal, right in the heart of the Medieval city just tucked away in a beautiful square next to the Cathedral. We were greeted and made to feel very welcome by the owners who take great pride in their property. It is spotlessly clean, lovely linen, an immaculately kept bathroom (with a bath) and kitchen which is well equipped if you decide to eat in -even though there are dozens of restaurants within a one minute walk.
Sarlat gets hot in the summer and Le Cardinal has a gorgeous plunge pool and outdoor terrace which is absolutely private. It is overlooked only by the steeple of the Cathedral immediately behind the apartment. Being able to sit in your own courtyard and take a swim in a private pool in such a popular tourist destination in Summer - bliss, and very rare.
Lots of fresh air inside too, nice big windows and internal shutters to keep the heat out.
Even the parking was easy as the owners had directed us to a free, absolutely safe car park just two mins walk from the Apartment. I would definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was exactly as the listing stated, no unhappy surprises, Very genuine
Liked least: There i nothing not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing