We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every way!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Le Pouget

Breakfast on the decking..
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Breakfast on the decking..
Le Pouget Relax on the terrace with a glass of wine...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Breakfast on the decking..
Le Pouget
Relax on the terrace with a glass of wine...
Lounge
Light and airy lounge
Lounge and doors leading onto the terrace
return from the markets and try out the local recipes
Wake up to a beautiful view of the countryside
Coffee in bed before the fun starts......
Cool off after a hard days sightseeing...
Step back in time in medieval Sarlat
Fairytale chateaux
Canoe and see the sights from the river
Fantastic gardens...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
janebphil...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at le pouget for the first time and we were delighted with our choice. The owners, Barry & Paula were so helpful & accommodating. Before we even arrived in France, Paula kept me regularly updated via emails, on any new developments regarding the National air strikes being threatened in France and was willing to rearrange our stay. Fortunately they were called off and we made it!!! On arrival Paula and Barry were extremely welcoming and we automatically felt relaxed in the holiday home. There was a welcome pack of beer, wine and ice lollies for our young boys (4 and 2 years old).The accommodation was perfect; it is located down a quiet lane and surrounded by beautiful countryside, however, you are only a few minutes drive into the beautiful town of Sarlat . You are in a great location to access lots of different attractions and there is so much to do in the region. We visited dinosaur parks, gardens, markets, castles.....
It was always nice to get back to Le Pouget after a day out to relax in. The plunge pool was great on the hot days (added bonus of removable steps so we could relax knowing the boys were safe) and the enormous garden complete with swings and slide allowed the boys to let off some steam. The kitchen was well equipped and there was English TV with free view channels.
We don't usually return to the same place twice, but we have made an exception this time and we will definitely be returning next year!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richardi6...
1 review
“Peaceful cottage with entertainment for all the family.”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had a lovely stay at Le Pouget the last week of May. The cottage was great for us, in particular the fact that the Garden was enclosed and therefore safe to let the Kids run around in, and also that the plunge pool steps were removable meant that we could relax particularly quickly - just what you want when you go on holiday with small children!
The cottage owners Paula and Barry were great, they did a shop for us before we arrived which was lovely and meant we had Red wine and local cheese to enjoy on our first evening and pastries in the morning - again just what we wanted and very thoughtful of Paula and Barry to organise for us.
The area it self was lovely, we enjoyed some lovely lunches and boat rides (La Roque-Gageac being very nice, as was Beynac-et-Cazenac) and really enjoyed the market at Sarlat. We had one rainy day but made the most of it by visiting the Crystal Caves.

Would recommend for all, but in particular young families (felt very safe) and anyone wanting somewhere peaceful to relax.

Thanks again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden, BBQ and patio table and view
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so glad that you all enjoyed your stay and felt relaxed and happy. We try our best to cater for everyone and especially our little guests. Thank you once again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magali C
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2018
Merci d'avoir pris le temps d'écrire votre critique. Je prendrai votre conseil en considération.

C'est la première fois que j'ai des clients qui ont du mal à trouver la maison, français ou anglais, mais je vérifierai mes instructions.

La fenêtre du salon ne s'ouvre malheureusement pas et je m'excuse d'avoir oublié de vous dire que cela n'a jamais ouvert car le bois s'est agrandi avec le temps, mais nous avons dans le salon de grandes portes-fenêtres qui s'ouvrent sur la terrasse. La seule porte que je puisse penser qui ne s'ouvre pas dans la maison est un placard dans la salle de bain qui est verrouillé, qui est utilisé pour mes draps et serviettes de rechange et je vous l'ai dit quand je vous ai fait visiter la maison. L'autre porte qui ne s'ouvre pas se trouve à l'arrière du garage, c'est notre espace de stockage privé et est fermé à clé, mais je mettrai un signe "Privé" pour le rendre plus clair.

En ce qui concerne les toiles d'araignée, nous n'avons qu'une petite quantité de temps entre chaque nettoyage et, bien que je vérifie toujours les toiles d'araignée, j'ai peut-être manqué une ou deux. Je m'excuse pour cela, je vérifierai plusieurs fois s'il y en a plus. Les fenêtres sont toujours nettoyées, mais elles sont très anciennes et doivent être remplacées. Chaque année, nous réalisons un nouveau projet pour la maison, l’année dernière, une nouvelle piscine et des aménagements paysagers. Cette année, nous avons décoré le salon et rafraîchi le couloir et les chambres, etc..

Tous les volets s'ouvrent et se ferment, certains peuvent être plus difficiles que d'autres à fermer, mais ils se ferment.

Nous avons redécoré le salon cette année et il y a peut-être une goutte de peinture que nous avons pu manquer sur le carrelage et nous allons rectifier cela dès que possible.

Le puits est situé à l'avant de la maison et est recouvert d'une lourde couverture en acier. Seuls deux adultes pourront soulever et de la retirer, puis une planch en bois qui est placée au-dessus car le métal devient très chaud pendant l'été. Pourquoi quelqu'un voudrait-il retirer cela? Je ne suis pas sûr. Avec les 12 ans que j'ai louée cette maison, aucun client n'a jamais mis une remarque par rapport à çeci.

Je m'excuse pour le manque de balles de ping-pong, comme vous l'avez dit, c'est la fin de la saison et elles disparaissent, si vous nous l'aviez fait savoir, nous vivons à seulement 15 minutes du Pouget, on a pu le réctifier et de les remplacer le plus vite possible et aussi de répondre et réctifier les problèmes que vous avez eût.

J'espère que vous avez profiter votre temps et que c'était bien de vous rencontrer, vous et votre famille.

Merci,

Paula et Barry

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I will take your advice into consideration.

This is the first time I have customers who have trouble finding the house, French or English, but I will double check my directions.

The window in the lounge unfortunately does not open, and I apologise for forgetting to tell you..it has never opened as the wood has expanded over time, but we do have in the lounge large french doors that open onto the decking. The only door that I can think that does not open in the house is a cupboard in the bathroom which is locked, that is used for my spare linen and towels and I did mention this to you when I gave you the tour of the house. The other door that does not open is at the back of the garage, this is our private storage and is locked, but I shall put a sign "Private" to make it clearer.

With reference to the cobwebs, we only have a small amount of time inbetween each clean and although I always check for cobwebs, I may have missed one or two apologies for that, I will triple check. The windows are always cleaned, but are very old and do need to be replaced eventually. Each year we make a new project for the house, last year was a new pool and some landscaping, this year we re decorated the lounge and freshened up the hallway and bedrooms and so on for each year.

All the shutters open and close, some maybe harder than other to close but they do close.

We redecorated the lounge this year and there maybe the odd paint drop that we may have missed on the tiled floor and we will rectify this as soon as possible.

The well is located at the front of the house and is covered by a heavy steel cover which takes two adults to lift and remove and then a wooden decking placed on top as the metal gets very hot in the summer, it is very safe. Why anyone would want to remove this I am not sure and in 12 years of letting the house not one client has ever commented on this.

I apologise for the lack of ping pong balls, like you said it is the end of the season and they do go missing, if you had let us know, we live only 15 minutes away and are only a phone call away we would have replaced them for you in an instant and answered and rectified as best as we could all of the above queries you had.

I hope you enjoyed your time and it was lovely meeting you and your family..

Best wishes,

Paula and Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodez, France
Reviewed 21 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Le grand jardin et le bel emplacement
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Feb 2016
Merci pour votre avis. Nous sommes heureux que vous et votre famille aviez un bon moment à Le Grenier - Sarlat. En espérant vous voir à nouveau .. Paula, Barry & Reece
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing