We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“My favourite place to stay in Sarlat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Le Grenier

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
15 century townhouse, Le Grenier (The Loft) is up at the top. Breakfast over the roof tops of Sarlat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
15 century townhouse, Le Grenier (The Loft) is up at the top.
Breakfast over the roof tops of Sarlat
Walk out onto the square
Lounge area
Looking down from the mezzanine
Cosy bedroom under the eaves
Lounge area with window looking over the roofs of Sarlat
Relax after the sights
Warm cosy evenings
Cosy romantic evenings
Breakfast before sight seeing
Kitchen equipped for all your needs
Stairs to the Mezzanine
Relax and plan your day on the mezzanine
Bath and shower to relax after your day
soak in oak beamed bathroom
Romantic evening views through the window
The 15th century stone spiral staircase
The alley where Le Grenier entrance is located
Walking out of the apartment into the square
Ariel view of Sarlat showing where the apt Le Grenier is located ( Red Dot)
View from the window
Sarlat at night on your doorstep
take a picnic and enjoy the sights from the river
Superb chateaux
Browse in Sarlat market
Wander the fabulous Gardens
Fairytale Chateaux
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Tessa K
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“My favourite place to stay in Sarlat”
Reviewed 1 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Located in one of the medieval rooftops directly on the village square this place can't be beaten for location, value and charm. With the lovely stone walls, fully equipped kitchen, views across rooftops, gorgeous sunny aspect, large open plan layout and an additional mezzanine level to relax in... sometimes I found it hard to leave. However with the markets luring me to the ground level twice a week and so many laneways to explore and wander I managed to satisfy all of my needs. A few other fantastic features that make this more of a home than a stopover is the wifi, satellite TV, huge comfy bed, large bathroom, washing machine and a welcome bottle of wine waiting for me on arrival. The hosts need a mention as they are simply wonderful and always offering to help to make the visit the very best it can be. I consider them friends and they are a fabulous example of old school hospitality and humble good will - just great and good people. This is my second visit of 3 months in the winter and it will most definitely not be my last. I just love the place and consider it my home away from home. This little Australian will be rushing back as soon as she can.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so happy that le Grenier has helped you feel at home and relaxed and that you have not only enjoyed staying and living in a part of history but also embraced the Sarlat /Dordogne way of life with shopping in the markets , walking, photography, painting,exploring the history of the region and not forgetting the restaurants and cooking the local fayre in le Grenier. We look forward to seeing you back not only as a guest but as a friend
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delle_11
Mt Tamborine, Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“At the top of a medieval building in a top medieval town”
Reviewed 21 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Our first week of a three-week stay in rural France was here in Le Grenier - a perfect introduction to a world that is completely different from home in Australia. Le Grenier is medieval and charming, with modern conveniences. The medieval decor has been thoughtfully sourced and chosen. The bed is extremely comfortable, the views from the little windows feature roof tops, and in our time, men at window height defying death by re-tiling the roof of the place next door.
Our hosts knew just what we needed both in the apartment and in the information they gave us about restaurants and near-by sightseeing. They were cheerful, helpful and ready to provide any assistance needed. We loved coming down from the apartment and opening the door onto busy Sarlat, although we were pleased it was April and not high season. The bi-weekly market swirls right at the entrance, coffee shops and restaurants are temptingly right there, and the warm yellow sandstone buildings invite visitors to keep strolling through the intriguing town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Being right in the heart of things
Liked least: The fragile nature of the guiding cord down the wall of the spiral staircase.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reallyden...
Kitchener, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great apartment in the heart of a fairy-tale town”
Reviewed 30 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

You can't beat the location of this apartment. Step out the door into a medieval and Renaissance town of glowing yellow stone, towers, intriguing archways and cobblestones.
We split out time between getting lost and finding ourselves in the old town of Sarlat and exploring the surrounding countryside. There is a seemingly endless number of beautiful towns to admire, and a visit to the nearby 14000 year old cave paintings is a very moving experience.

Paula and Barry were great hosts and made out vacation that little bit easier.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to stay in such an old building
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2016
Thank you so much for your review and we are glad that you had a great time in Sarlat and the surrounding area,. We hope this gave you a taster, as you said a few days was not enough.. So you will have to return again and stay a little longer... plenty more sites to explore...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved the rooftop location and position on the main quare
Liked least: Nothing... I just loved it all
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review... We are so glad that you had a great time and hope to see you again in the future...

Best wishes, Paula, Barry & Reece
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OrlaMcD
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Atmospheric and amazing!”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A fabulous home-away-from-home slap bang in the centre of Sarlat. The apartment has everything you need (washing machine, cleaning supplies etc) for a week away. And, most importantly, Sarlat on your doorstep! We stayed here with a 5 month old baby, and the steps weren't a problem. Paula & Barry are the perfect hosts, with great local knowledge. And for some reason I had the most amazing sleeps up in the eaves! Other than the fact that the Dordogne was calling, I could have snoozed all day under the medieval beams :) Highly recommended for a week in the most amazing location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: I can't really think of anything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2015
Thank yu so much for taking the time to write this review for us. I am so glad that you enjoyed le Grenier and Sarlat, and also had a relaxing time and I hope you will hold onto happy memories and maybe see us again if you are next in the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing