We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
58
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews road trip cape town the owner game farm spent nights farm stay glass of wine fabulous stay old farm house peace and tranquility game viewing excellent food guest house jenny stoep animals walks
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

This place is a treasure. It's very easy to find and yet you feel very remote. The people are wonderful and very hospitable. A whole family lives on site and runs the accomodation and meals. The owner, Jenny, is aiming for the estate to be self sufficient so they have a large veggie garden, chicken, pigs, donkeys etc. The property is an historical building previously owned by Chris Barnard who is one of SAF most prestigious modern characters. The standard of the rooms will satisfy the most demanding travellers. Activities include watching the daily farm activities, taking a ride in the huge adjoining game farm (by appointment) which was totally amazing for me and a highlight of my trip. The people there know and love their animals and you get to learn so much. Another interesting part is reading about the history of the place and I found some great books. The early riser will be privileged to amazing morning lights and sunset is also not to be missed after a night cap at the bar or a cigar in the smoking lounge.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Samuel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemhofkaroo, Guest Relations Manager at Bloemhof Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Samuel, thank you for this wonderful Review! - very much appreciated. Nothing went unnoticed by you! We were delighted to have you on the farm, and could sense your curiosity and active engagement with all aspects of farm life. Our Staff really enjoyed taking care of you. We hope you will visit with your family at some stage. Warm regards to you. Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

Spent 2 nights at the Bloemhof Karoo guest house. What an amazing place. The staff are awesome and a really gem in the Karoo. I would really recommend it to anyone passing through the Karoo so awesome

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Clive A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemhofkaroo, Guest Relations Manager at Bloemhof Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Our Team were delighted to receive you and Silvana at BloemhofKaroo, Clive - so thrilled you had such an enjoyable time. Much appreciate your very kind review, thank you. Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this lovely establishment on our way to Cape Town on a recommendation and what a lovely night we had. We were the only guests for that night and it felt like home away from home. We were treated like important guests from the time we pulled up to the beautiful farmhouse until the moment we left. Absolutely delicious food, courteous, kind and helpful staff and what a comfortable and large room we had for the four of us. I highly recommend Bloemhof Karoo and your host, Jenny, is equally a kind and accommodating lady. Thank you for making our short stay so wonderful, wish we could have stayed longer. (The kids thoroughly enjoyed riding in the donkey cart and watching the little white buck being fed as well!) Cath Alexander

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank CathA104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemhofkaroo, Guest Relations Manager at Bloemhof Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Cath, belated thanks for this very kind and great review, very much appreciated. Our Team loved taking care of your family, and we really do hope that you can visit again at some stage. Warm regards and thanks Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

We so enjoyed the 2 night break on the long trip from Pretoria to the Cape at this exceptional farm in the Karoo. It is conveniently located proximal to the N1. The farmhouse is beautiful, and has the feel of "family hospitality" with much personal attention. We were warmly welcomed by Gail and so enjoyed Martha's scrumptious home cooked meals. Steven took us on beautiful walks and we even had a donkey cart ride. The rooms are individually tastefully appointed, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We'll be back!

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Saaniemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemhofkaroo, Guest Relations Manager at Bloemhof Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Belated thanks Sandy for this great review, very much appreciated. So thrilled that you could spend 2 nights with us and really get a full Karoo experience. Delighted to hear that you'll be back! Warm regards Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016

We had the pleasure of staying at Bloemhof recently. Right from the word go we were impressed by stand-out customer service: from being personally met by Steven at the main road to ensure we did not miss the turning in the dark, to the house staff lining up to greet us with the fireplaces already burning ahead of our arrival. Loved the home cooked meals and made to feel ever so welcome by the team. Late night Karoo stars were the icing on the top!

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank davidO822IO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemhofkaroo, Guest Relations Manager at Bloemhof Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Belated thanks David for a great Review of our guest house, very much appreciated. Our Staff really enjoyed taking care of you, and we do hope to receive you again at some stage. Sincere thanks Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews