We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely outstanding”
Review of Bloemhof Karoo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bloemhof Karoo
Ranked #1 of 8 Richmond B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 July 2017

We spent 3 nights at this incredible spot near to Richmond...were spoiled beyond expectation with some excellent food and very attentive and caring staff. Our son had some great interaction with farm life too, feeding and tending to the animals and spending time out in the bush with some of the staff. Highly recommend this spot!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms will be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Original3G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemhofkaroo, Guest Relations Manager at Bloemhof Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Thank you for this great review, Gregg. We were delighted to meet your family - and do hope that you will all visit again at some stage. Best regards to you all. Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

This place is a treasure. It's very easy to find and yet you feel very remote. The people are wonderful and very hospitable. A whole family lives on site and runs the accomodation and meals. The owner, Jenny, is aiming for the estate to be self sufficient so they have a large veggie garden, chicken, pigs, donkeys etc. The property is an historical building previously owned by Chris Barnard who is one of SAF most prestigious modern characters. The standard of the rooms will satisfy the most demanding travellers. Activities include watching the daily farm activities, taking a ride in the huge adjoining game farm (by appointment) which was totally amazing for me and a highlight of my trip. The people there know and love their animals and you get to learn so much. Another interesting part is reading about the history of the place and I found some great books. The early riser will be privileged to amazing morning lights and sunset is also not to be missed after a night cap at the bar or a cigar in the smoking lounge.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Samuel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemhofkaroo, Guest Relations Manager at Bloemhof Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Samuel, thank you for this wonderful Review! - very much appreciated. Nothing went unnoticed by you! We were delighted to have you on the farm, and could sense your curiosity and active engagement with all aspects of farm life. Our Staff really enjoyed taking care of you. We hope you will visit with your family at some stage. Warm regards to you. Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

Spent 2 nights at the Bloemhof Karoo guest house. What an amazing place. The staff are awesome and a really gem in the Karoo. I would really recommend it to anyone passing through the Karoo so awesome

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Clive A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemhofkaroo, Guest Relations Manager at Bloemhof Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Our Team were delighted to receive you and Silvana at BloemhofKaroo, Clive - so thrilled you had such an enjoyable time. Much appreciate your very kind review, thank you. Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this lovely establishment on our way to Cape Town on a recommendation and what a lovely night we had. We were the only guests for that night and it felt like home away from home. We were treated like important guests from the time we pulled up to the beautiful farmhouse until the moment we left. Absolutely delicious food, courteous, kind and helpful staff and what a comfortable and large room we had for the four of us. I highly recommend Bloemhof Karoo and your host, Jenny, is equally a kind and accommodating lady. Thank you for making our short stay so wonderful, wish we could have stayed longer. (The kids thoroughly enjoyed riding in the donkey cart and watching the little white buck being fed as well!) Cath Alexander

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Cath A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemhofkaroo, Guest Relations Manager at Bloemhof Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Cath, belated thanks for this very kind and great review, very much appreciated. Our Team loved taking care of your family, and we really do hope that you can visit again at some stage. Warm regards and thanks Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

We so enjoyed the 2 night break on the long trip from Pretoria to the Cape at this exceptional farm in the Karoo. It is conveniently located proximal to the N1. The farmhouse is beautiful, and has the feel of "family hospitality" with much personal attention. We were warmly welcomed by Gail and so enjoyed Martha's scrumptious home cooked meals. Steven took us on beautiful walks and we even had a donkey cart ride. The rooms are individually tastefully appointed, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We'll be back!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Saaniemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemhofkaroo, Guest Relations Manager at Bloemhof Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Belated thanks Sandy for this great review, very much appreciated. So thrilled that you could spend 2 nights with us and really get a full Karoo experience. Delighted to hear that you'll be back! Warm regards Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bloemhof Karoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloemhof Karoo

Address: N1, Richmond 7090, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Northern Cape > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range: R495 - R880 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloemhof Karoo has been sensitively restored to its former authentic self, sleeps 9 guests comfortably, with bespoke percale linen, down duvets, mohair rugs. Bloemhof Karoo is all about authenticity and hospitality. The Barnard Room is a comfortable en suite bedroom with beautiful views looking out across the Veld. Rates are on a DBB basis. Oxwagon Suite is our flagship suite. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing