We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful home in the Karoo”
Review of Bloemhof Karoo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bloemhof Karoo
Ranked #1 of 8 Richmond B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 April 2016

This is by far one of the most beautiful places I have ever visited. The ladies and gentleman who greeted us; Martha, Myre and Paul, did so with wonderful welcoming smiles and made us feel right at home from the minute we crossed the threshold.

The house itself feels like a page out of the quintessential book about the Karoo - the beautiful lounge area and huge bedrooms are comfortable, tastefully decorated with a contemporary take on a historical South African farmhouse. It was quite chilly when we arrived so we were treated to a lovely warm fire and lots of blankets while we relaxed before enjoying the most sumptuous and authentic Karoo lamb pie and Malva pudding ever! The next day we went on a lovely game drive through the surrounding land and saw all kinds of lovely animals and a spectacular sunset.

My Kiwi husband loved it, my parents loved it, even our 6 month old baby seemed happier, and I got to fulfill my dream of an authentic Karoo experience before returning to the UK. Bloemhof Karoo is a little dearer than some of the other places that you could stay at when visiting the Karoo, but it is worth every cent. Definitely more than just a stop over between Cape Town and Jo'burg/Durban, it is a destination in it's own right.

We stayed for two nights and wished that we could have stayed longer. This is a magical place that I can't stop talking about, I know my parents will be returning, and I know that I will be jealous!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Monique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemhofkaroo, Guest Relations Manager at Bloemhof Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2016

My sincerest thanks for this wonderful Review, Monique, very much appreciated!
Am so pleased that you stayed 2 nights, and we do hope to have you back again when your little one is a little older. Best, Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2016

We really loved our stay in this beautiful three bedroom homestead. We were lucky to have the whole place to ourselves and thus felt hugely pampered.
Our room The Oxwagon Suite was huge and had a lovely terrace area adjacent. The owner has managed to retain a homely warmth to the place while adding luxury touches to the furnishings and decor.
Martha (the chef) is a star. Her cooking skills are awesome. We were lucky enough to be served one of her infamous pies and wished we could have had more space to demolish the lot. This house would be perfect for a family gathering /or really good friends to have a fabulous house party. A very special place and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Only three rooms and we definitely had the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferPick, Guest Relations Manager at Bloemhof Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2016

Susie, we're so thrilled that you so enjoyed your BloemhofKaroo experience so much, and we do hope to receive you again at some stage soon! Thank you for your wonderful review and kind words. Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016

What a gem to find in the expanse of the Karoo.
Just a short easy drive from the main highway, but a real step back in time.
We felt that we were visiting a private home, full of happy and historic memories.
Certainly felt very safe and definitely very spoilt.
Even knowing in advance about Martha and her famous pies didn't stop dinner from being "awesome"! Really good home cooking, delivered without pretense and definitely "made with love".
Breaking our journey from Jo'burg to Cape Town, this was an ideal location and a perfect experience.
Very highly recommend to British / European travellers. Hope to return next year.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but the Oxwagon Room is recommended and worth the small premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 981rayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferPick, Guest Relations Manager at Bloemhof Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2016

We're so thrilled that your enjoyed your stay at BloemhofKaroo, Ray. Our Staff so enjoyed taking care of you, and we do hope to receive you again at some stage soon. Appreciate your great review, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

My husband, my 3 kids (age 12, 9 and 6) and I stayed overnight between 2 days of 7h grueling travel each. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, providing us with a warm welcome and delicious farm meals. The accommodation has retained its typical Karoo farm finishes and feel without compromising in comfort. We so enjoyed our stay and regret not being able to stay longer for our kids to experience more of the farm and the game drive- hopefully next time!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Thank lillibetverar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferPick, Guest Relations Manager at Bloemhof Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2016

We love receiving families at BloemhofKaroo, and are so pleased to hear that your stay was so comfortable and enjoyable. Hope to see you for longer at some stage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2016

We stopped at Bloemhof Karoo for the night on our journey to Johannesburg from Cape Town. This overnight stop proved to be one of the highlights of our holiday. The glorious light in the late afternoon as our children played in the welcome plunge pool was very special. The four enormous tortoises wandering (surprisingly speedily!) around the property were very special too. The attentive staff made us very welcome and our spacious room (Oxwagon) was very pretty and relaxing and opened onto the veranda. Our dinner was excellent. The stars in the open Karoo sky were breathtaking. We loved it.

Stayed: January 2016
1  Thank Olivia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferPick, Guest Relations Manager at Bloemhof Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2016

So thrilled your family enjoyed BloemhofKaroo so much, Olivia! Appreciate your writing a Review. Hope to receive you again, maybe even in winter for a couple of days?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bloemhof Karoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloemhof Karoo

Address: N1, Richmond 7090, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Northern Cape > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range: R495 - R880 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloemhof Karoo has been sensitively restored to its former authentic self, sleeps 9 guests comfortably, with bespoke percale linen, down duvets, mohair rugs. Bloemhof Karoo is all about authenticity and hospitality. The Barnard Room is a comfortable en suite bedroom with beautiful views looking out across the Veld. Rates are on a DBB basis. Oxwagon Suite is our flagship suite. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing