We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
59
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews road trip cape town the owner game farm spent nights farm stay glass of wine fabulous stay old farm house peace and tranquility game viewing excellent food guest house jenny stoep animals walks
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2016

We really loved our stay in this beautiful three bedroom homestead. We were lucky to have the whole place to ourselves and thus felt hugely pampered.
Our room The Oxwagon Suite was huge and had a lovely terrace area adjacent. The owner has managed to retain a homely warmth to the place while adding luxury touches to the furnishings and decor.
Martha (the chef) is a star. Her cooking skills are awesome. We were lucky enough to be served one of her infamous pies and wished we could have had more space to demolish the lot. This house would be perfect for a family gathering /or really good friends to have a fabulous house party. A very special place and highly recommended.

Room tip: Only three rooms and we definitely had the best.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferPick, Guest Relations Manager at Bloemhof Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2016

Susie, we're so thrilled that you so enjoyed your BloemhofKaroo experience so much, and we do hope to receive you again at some stage soon! Thank you for your wonderful review and kind words. Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016

What a gem to find in the expanse of the Karoo.
Just a short easy drive from the main highway, but a real step back in time.
We felt that we were visiting a private home, full of happy and historic memories.
Certainly felt very safe and definitely very spoilt.
Even knowing in advance about Martha and her famous pies didn't stop dinner from being "awesome"! Really good home cooking, delivered without pretense and definitely "made with love".
Breaking our journey from Jo'burg to Cape Town, this was an ideal location and a perfect experience.
Very highly recommend to British / European travellers. Hope to return next year.

Room tip: All the rooms are good, but the Oxwagon Room is recommended and worth the small premium.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 981rayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferPick, Guest Relations Manager at Bloemhof Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2016

We're so thrilled that your enjoyed your stay at BloemhofKaroo, Ray. Our Staff so enjoyed taking care of you, and we do hope to receive you again at some stage soon. Appreciate your great review, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

My husband, my 3 kids (age 12, 9 and 6) and I stayed overnight between 2 days of 7h grueling travel each. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, providing us with a warm welcome and delicious farm meals. The accommodation has retained its typical Karoo farm finishes and feel without compromising in comfort. We so enjoyed our stay and regret not being able to stay longer for our kids to experience more of the farm and the game drive- hopefully next time!

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank lillibetverar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferPick, Guest Relations Manager at Bloemhof Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2016

We love receiving families at BloemhofKaroo, and are so pleased to hear that your stay was so comfortable and enjoyable. Hope to see you for longer at some stage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2016

We stopped at Bloemhof Karoo for the night on our journey to Johannesburg from Cape Town. This overnight stop proved to be one of the highlights of our holiday. The glorious light in the late afternoon as our children played in the welcome plunge pool was very special. The four enormous tortoises wandering (surprisingly speedily!) around the property were very special too. The attentive staff made us very welcome and our spacious room (Oxwagon) was very pretty and relaxing and opened onto the veranda. Our dinner was excellent. The stars in the open Karoo sky were breathtaking. We loved it.

Date of stay: January 2016
1  Thank Olivia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferPick, Guest Relations Manager at Bloemhof Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2016

So thrilled your family enjoyed BloemhofKaroo so much, Olivia! Appreciate your writing a Review. Hope to receive you again, maybe even in winter for a couple of days?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2016

WE followed our own advice and stayed longer.... Two nights this time around! I would surely be able to stay there forever!

Please DO consider staying over at Bloemhof Karoo on your way to the Cape and do stay longer than one night.

You will reach the Cape rested and ready to relax!

We loved the atmosphere, the friendly personnel who always makes this feel like home, just better, we loved the early morning walks on the farm. feeding the sheep and talking to the horses. The dam for swimming and the cooling sprayers for the kids are an added bonus and did I mention the meals??? Superb food served in a calm and quiet fashion that makes you feel like you might be reliving the old days...

Thank you again all the contributors to our lovely stay... Myre, And the sweet other ladies, Steven and Paul and Jenny who makes it all possible!

We do hope that we will see Bloemhof Karoo again soon!!!

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brinkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferPick, Guest Relations Manager at Bloemhof Karoo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2016

Jacolien, so appreciate this wonderful Review, thank you! Am so thrilled your family enjoyed the longer stay - maybe you'd consider visiting us in winter? Wishing you a wonderful 2016. Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews