We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Farmhouse”
other travellers have booked this property
The five bedroom Farmhouse with Sky TV, wifi, huge reception and direct access to the large garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The five bedroom Farmhouse with Sky TV, wifi, huge reception and direct access to the large garden
The Farmhouse with five bedrooms and three bathrooms (one en suite) with huge reception and wifi The Farmhouse from the drive showing the Cider Press and communal picnic shed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
The five bedroom Farmhouse with Sky TV, wifi, huge reception and direct access to the large garden
The Farmhouse with five bedrooms and three bathrooms (one en suite) with huge reception and wifi
The Farmhouse from the drive showing the Cider Press and communal picnic shed
The Farmhouse from the central courtyard showing bakehouse where bikes are stored for guest use
Kitchen with dishwasher, oven, microwave, fridge/freezer and gas hob plus plenty of cooking utensils
The sitting room with two seating areas, Sky TV, feature fireplace, comfy sofas and plenty of games
The other angle of the sitting room with two seating areas, bar with fridge and two seating areas
The large dining room with working fireplace which leads into the kitchen and courtyard garden
Master bedroom suite with four poster bed, sitting area and en suite shower room
Master bedroom looking into the en suite shower room.
En suite shower room to master bedroom
One of the double bedrooms with abundant built in wardrobes
Twin bedroom (beds can be zipped together to create a double)
Second twin bedroom with built in wardrobes
Main bathroom shared by two bedrooms. There is a similar bathroom for two more bedrooms to sh
First floor hallway off which are four of the bedrooms and two of the family bathrooms
BIkes for all guests to borrow. The property is moments from a Veloscenic cycle path.
Detail shot
Picnic shed for all guests to use, ideal for BBQs (which we provide) with outdoor furniture.
The rear garden in Autumn, perfect fo picnics, sunbathing and hide and seek
The central lawn showing the Farmhouse to the left hand side
The rear garden which is a mix of lawn, shrubs and wild areas
The rear garden
Relax with a glass of wine!
The front lawn/apple orchard showing The Barn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Barenton, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Andreas B
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Farmhouse”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is our second stay in Normandy and 5th trip to France as a group, this is by far the best place we have ever stayed in. The pictures undersell the enormity of the accommodation, which is spacious to say the least. The whole complex is lovingly restored and well equipped. We wanted for nothing in terms of facilities. I would wholly recommend this and would consider returning. Awesome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kitcat_uk
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful place. Excellent for a big group.”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Boudet was the perfect location for our large group for my 40th Birthday celebration, we filled the 3 buildings with people and enjoyed having banquets every night. The Farmhouse has the biggest dining space as you can put an extra table at the end which we needed. It was very well equipped, I like that towels and bedding were included and they provided extra cots for our little ones which helped a lot. It was nice and warm inside and very cosy, I would say the Barn had a more cosy living room but all the units were beautiful and charming.

The master bedroom is nice and private at the top but has no door, no curtain and the mattress was very uncomfortable but we managed to work around all those so it wasn’t a major issue.

We did have to do quite a bit of driving to get to the beaches and other sights but we were ok with that and it was worth it coming back to a place that felt like home and a place to relax after a long day.

Everyone was very impressed and I would totally recommend this amazing rental, the owner seemed very nice and the caretakers were available when we needed them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the size, facilities and rustic feel
Liked least: the mattress
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzie123U...
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautifully Restored”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in The Farmhouse the first week in September; we had a friend from the States visiting us and wanted to take her to France to visit the Normandy beaches and since this was a once-in-a-lifetime visit to France for her, we wanted to do the best we could.

We go to France in September every year and for those of you who also like to get your annual French fix, you will appreciate how difficult it is to find somewhere that is special, well-furnished and comfortable. The Farmhouse delivered all of this and is probably the only holiday let I have ever had with matching crockery and masses of it, comfortable beds with good linen and also possibly the only let in France where I didn’t worry about using the electricity!

The Farmhouse has been beautifully restored and maintained with modern showers, kitchen, dishwasher, etc, but retaining all the charm you would expect with this type of property with two huge fireplaces, beams galore and stone floors. It is enormous and was far too big for our small party, but my goodness, it was lovely and in an idyllic rural setting. The grounds were beautiful.

We didn’t quite appreciate the distance Barenton is from the Normandy beaches or Honfleur when we booked so we did have to do quite a lot of driving but I have to say it was worth it.

Would we return? We would love to return (but to the smaller Barn) for a week or two of pure relaxation, some cycling and just chilling.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_M41...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Huge Home in Heart of Normandy”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had booked another home in Normandy but, 2 days before our departure date, we were informed by the owner that his home had been burglarized and was no longer available for our stay beginning in a week and half. But never fear, Sophie to the rescue! In less than 12 waking hours, we were able to contact the owner of this house, obtain the contract, fund the deposit and confirm the booking.

For those seeking a rural retreat in a spacious stone house with all the modern amenities, this is the place for you. Nearby are neighbors selling apple cider and apple brandy, a small village with several shops and, about 15-20 minutes away, the larger town of Mortain with supermarkets and more.

We used the house as a base to explore Mont St.-Michel, the D-Day landing beaches, Bayeux and more on day trips. And some days we simply enjoyed the pastoral setting and sunny weather, stayed at The Farmhouse, and took advantage of the bbq and covered picnic area.

All in all, a fantastic find!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Huge common areas on first floor -- large comfy living room and big cozy dining room
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Family Farmhouse”
Reviewed 3 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent five happy and enchanting days with family and friends over Easter 2013 in this beautiful 19th Century Farmhouse located just outside the Village of Barenton in Normandy (nearest larger town "Mortain" )
As you enter you can't fail to be impressed by the quality and size of the Dining room with its huge Oak dining table which sits next to a cavernous stone Fireplace. The adjoining Living room provides tranquillity along with all the features you could wish for including beamed ceilings, characterful windows and another even more impressive fireplace. For added comfort there is English satellite TV & Dvd, broadband , jigsaws and games.

The kitchen and separate Laundry pantry complete the ground floor accommodation which is well stocked with all facilities and equipment especially the all-important wine glasses !

Upstairs the bedrooms we found delightful, decorated in sophisticated Pastel colours and giving breath-taking views of the rolling countryside. Our room on the top floor had a Four Poster Bed, exposed roof beams along with a walk-in wardrobe and luxury En-suite shower room.

Outside, pretty gardens surround the property and provided a safe environment for our young children to explore. Along side the rectangular grassed Courtyard is a covered seating area which would be ideal in warmer months for Alfresco dining.
There is a dedicated parking area adjacent to the property for ample cars.
Venture a little further and you can follow the path of a disused railway which is ideal for walking or cycling along.

It would have been rude not to imbibe some of the Neighbours home produced Cider , Pear Cider and Calvados which made an additional treat to the local Wines.
All children and adults were truly sad when it came to leave and would recommend “Boudet” wholeheartedly in every respect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing