We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for coffee. ”
Review of La Loggia

La Loggia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

Not a restaurant review - just to say it was a nice place to have a quick coffee en route to Rocca di Calascio!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Emyr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2017

Really enjoyed our lunch at La Loggia. The entrance is a little hard to spot - it's off a courtyard adjacent to a bar, but keep looking. There are three cozy rooms, all with great tiles and one with a beautiful painted ceiling that must be nearly 100 years old. The food is traditional Abruzzan, but of excellent quality and portion. The day we were there the restaurant was filled with locals enjoying a Sunday meal with family and friends. The house red wine is excellent as well - a cut above the usually jammy Montepulchiano.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pen_Princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016

Very good food, we have arrosticini for lunch and ot talet wonderfull Teheran service was good and the process where resonably.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mats L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016

We had a very tasty lunch in La Loggia in the central square of Castel del Monte, just outside the medieval centre of this beautiful town in the Gran Sasso Mountains. After a hike in the snow up on the Campo Imperatore and a visit to the nearby Santo Stefano (worth a visit!) we ended up here, directed to this restaurant by a local bricklayer. We had the local antipasti, different sorts of very nice local salami and ham and cheese, ricotta balls in tomato sauce and 'culatello', lamb's liver, which was very good, tender, tasty, delicious! Followed by the first course, we tried 4 different types of pasta: ravioli with beets and ricotta (delicious), pasta with the local lentils (very tasty), gnocchi with truffel and porcini mushrooms (very nice but heavy!) and pasta with sausage, egg and saffron (very good). This all accompanied by a nice local red wine. We decided it was enough and took a coffee to see us travel home safely. We paid €20 per person, a bit on the expensive side for Abruzzo standards, but for foreigners it was okay.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank CasaCassiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016

Enjoyed lunch here, having a spectacular anti-pasto, some lovely fresh pasta made in the restaurant, and a secundo - actually ate rather too much, but it was not difficult! More comments about the food below.

I was taken as a guest, and didn't see the bill, so am not sure about value for money, but I sense that this is not an expensive restaurant.

More-or-less in the centre of Castel del Monte, its next to a rather unappealing café, but set back from the road; I don't think I would have noticed it, if just wondering through the village looking for somewhere to eat.

In a first floor house that has been converted to a restaurant, the atmosphere could be a little cosier, and the views - in a village which has a spectacular location - are very limited, (but then one hardly goes to eat, just to stare out the window).

I read several of the recent reviews, and saw that 2 reviewers have given very poor markings. Obviously, we all have different tastes / standards, but I was surprised - our experience there being very different.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheJockDiplomat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Loggia also viewed

Castel del Monte, Province of L'Aquila
Castel del Monte, Province of L'Aquila
 
Castel del Monte, Province of L'Aquila
Castel del Monte, Province of L'Aquila
 
Santo Stefano di Sessanio, Province of L'Aquila
Calascio, Province of L'Aquila
 

Been to La Loggia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing