We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Piccola Vela(Desenzano Del Garda)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$273
US$264
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Europa(Desenzano Del Garda)
US$170
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hotel(Desenzano Del Garda)
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Admiral Hotel Villa Erme(Desenzano Del Garda)
US$149
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Relais Du Lac(Desenzano Del Garda)
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$298/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Estee Hotel(Desenzano Del Garda)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$254
US$246
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lido International(Desenzano Del Garda)
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agriturismo Le Preseglie(Desenzano Del Garda)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Palace Hotel(Desenzano Del Garda)
US$268
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
95
94
32
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
94
32
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant reviewwine baryour doorsteplake gardatrain stationthe air conditioningboateurosdownhillsirmione
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

We visited the hotel alessi as part of a 3 night stay. We arrived at the train station which is approx a 15 min walk to the hotel ( downhill ) when you arrive in the centre into the main piazza the hotel is off a side street - narrow and cobbled - very Italian. You are approx 3 mins from the marina and waterfront.
The staff are exceptionally helpful and we were provided with 2 free drinks ( aperol spritz) on our last night.
The room was clean - we had the most basic room and even this was adequate. The air conditioning units are sufficient and the rooms cleaned everyday.
The TV worked well has news 24 in English !
The local area is thriving with restaurants and places to drink. We stuck around the marina each night which was lovely.
Back to the hotel it consists of the hotel, with its adjoining restaurant and adjoining to this is their wine bar which was great !
On the final day they ordered us a taxi back to the train station 7.50€ as the hill and heat would have defeated us.

On our trip we also visited Verona which was around 18€ return.
We used the boat to go to sirmione which was 12€ return.

Travellers tip. If your into drinking spirits ask for a bottle/can of coke or
Mixer as this will Last you several spirit rounds and save you money !

Highly recommend for central location, great atmosphere and Italian style and culture on your doorstep.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Becky2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

The Alessi hotel is an easy, 15-minute, walk down a gentle hill from the station. It’s located pretty much in the centre of the town, and could hardly be more conveniently situated. Shops, restaurants, the tourist office and the ferry dock are just a minute or so’s walk away.

We stayed eight nights in room 305 (labelled “Desenzano”), which was not in the hotel building itself but about two or three doors up the street. The front of our building housed a large ancient, medieval, wooden door into which a smaller door had originally been cut – very much like the external entrance door into a college in Oxford or Cambridge. Quite romantic really. Our room was at the top of this building, and a member of staff kindly carried our large suitcase up the three flights of stairs.

Room 305 comprised a generously sized bedroom with a king-sized bed, an adjacent bathroom with shower, plus a sitting room with an adjacent kitchenette (with a small table). Both the bedroom and the sitting room had air conditioning plus a television, but all the channels were in Italian. Anyway, who would want to watch television when on holiday in Italy!? The kitchenette had a large fridge, kettle and microwave, plus plates and cutlery – but we didn’t do any cooking while we were there. The real bonus was the small roof terrace, with rooftop views over towards the lake: it was a pleasant place to sit, both in the morning and in the evening. It was also a convenient place to dry our hand-washed clothes!

Breakfast was served two doors away, back in the original hotel building where we had first checked in. Breakfast tables were also laid out for al fresco dining on Via Castello, and that seemed popular with many. The choice of breakfast fare was good – juice, water, cereals, ham, cheese, bread, biscuits, croissants and pastries, plus a serve-yourself hot choice of scrambled egg, bacon and Italian sausage. A fresh fruit bowl was also available, and teas and coffees were served on request.

On the first night, we were given a voucher that entitled us to two free aperitivos at the adjacent Alessi bar. This was very welcome after our journey, and the combination of a free glass of wine, plus a continually replenished choice of nibbles, meant that we didn’t need to find anything else to eat that evening. Although the Alessi runs its own trattoria – which was very popular – we somehow never got around to eating there ourselves. But finding somewhere to eat in Desenzano is definitely not a problem – there’s a wide range of eating places.

The only downside to our stay at the Alessi was that our room, despite being on the third floor, was above the trattoria and, during the evening (and sometimes into the early hours) it could be very noisy. If you’re a night owl then this might not be a problem – but we retire boringly early, and it was a problem on several nights for us. We solved it by using ear plugs that we’d picked up on airline flights a few years before. Not exactly what one wants to do on holiday perhaps, but it did the trick – so I would advise making sure you have some ear plugs with you, just in case you need them!

We would be happy to return to the Alessi (ear plugs at the ready, just in case).

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PJandSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We have eaten here several times over a two year period, however, on this visit to Desenzano the service and food was very poor, the last meal there, after having the first course we waited 40 minutes for the next course the waiter avoided us the entire time, we were past the point of wanting it by the time it arrived, I could understand if it had been a complicated order but pasta!. We watched other people come in get served and be almost finished. Disappointed.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank julie y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Not easy to find but worth looking and great location near to the square. Bruno was fantastic checking us in and providing parking for our motorbikes. The street it is located in is just typical Italy and the food was great. Lovely breakfast watching people go by.

We would visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gilly2014x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

we had dinner here..
nice food, 2.50 euros each for the service charge was steap.
bread was stale..
food reasonable price.
the one shock was 3 of us ordered tiramisu, 5 euros each ok price , 1 person ordered melon as a dessert & they charged 12.50 euros.
we did not notice until we had paid the bill.
that was a total rip off as far as we are concerned, so we will not be going back again.

Room Tip: we did not stay here only ate there.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews