We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful mini-break in fairy tale!”
Welcome to SAN FRANCESCO! The house (1300's) and the pool. Outside furniture, umbrellas provided.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to SAN FRANCESCO! The house (1300's) and the pool. Outside furniture, umbrellas provided.
San Francesco is history, charme, beauty, top comfort! An amazing house in an amazing region. We look forward to your visit soon!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Welcome to SAN FRANCESCO! The house (1300's) and the pool. Outside furniture, umbrellas provided.
San Francesco is history, charme, beauty, top comfort!
An amazing house in an amazing region. We look forward to your visit soon!
Acres and acres of land at your complete disposal, surrounded by the whisper of the centuries.
Patio. Dine al fresco, under a trellis! A bread baking oven is provided - bake your own pizza!.
San Francesco is the TRUE rural vacation - a real farm, history a plus!
The patio is ideal to relax after a long day of sight-seeing.
Livingroom, with the patio and the oven. San Francesco means great vacation!
Livingroom. Roomy and comfy, for a perfect relax.
San Francesco has been restored as the original - one of the best historical mansions in the area.
The livingroom with the kitchen in the background.
Livingroom, kitchen. The house is 100% safe for kids.
Kitchen. Seating is for 18. All tools are provided.
The kitchen. All you need to cook Italian - and more!
The house original Medieval features have been preserved.
Bedroom. Simple, traditional convent style, tasty, charming atmosphere. The real thing!
A bedroom at dusk. San Francesco's amazingly romantic, unique atmosphere.
All bedrooms overlook the open fields, the Cimini mountains in the background.
The view over the beautiful Cimini mountains. Quiet is total.
All rooms freature timber ceilings and original cotto floors.
Beds are wrought iron, craft. Mattresses and frames are firm and comfortable.
En-suite bathroom. 100% spotlessly clean, fully sanitized after each stay.
All bedrooms feature their own en-suite bathroom.
Single beds can be put together to make doubles. Firm mattresses, frames.
Original antiques, craft. Particular attention has been paid to details.
3-bed room, kids's favourite. The house is ideal for families with children.
San Francesco is also a cattle, donkey & horse breeding farm.
An Etruscan archeological site (accessible) is within the premises.
The fields, a true joy for the kids. Friendly wildlife can be spotted at times.
Breathtaking Civita di Bagnoregio is minutes away. Visit our local deli shop there!
Aerial view. Woods, open fields, the pool - the TRUE rural vacation.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
8 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Viterbo, Province of Viterbo, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Ülle T
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful mini-break in fairy tale!”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We have been in San Francesco in the second weekend of January - right after the high tourism season to relax for some days. Entering to this magic place is just like stepping into a fairy tale! It was such a special feeling to sleep and wake up in the ancient defence and watch tower, with wonderful views on peacefully hilly profound landscapes. Inside the Mansion the owners - Lara and Raffaello - have thought every smallest detail to make visitors to feel comfortable and gozy, in peace and harmony.

Outside we spent much time enjoying the elegant white cows, curious dunkies, majestic horses and colourful chickens. But we also met a lovely black cat and very friendly black guardian dog .. sorry, cannot remember her name. We were stunned by the beauty of the forest in the surrounding area, filled with secrets from ancient Etruscan times and natural springs. There is possible to hike and follow easier or more difficult paths.
If you travel by car, you can easily visit other villages and wonderful cities in the neighbourhood.

We can highly recommend this place to all who like peace and beauty of the nature, spending time in elegant country mansion, good Tuscia food and to have a wonderful time in just un hour away from Rome. It is also a perfect place to relax for families with kids.

PS! We passed by just for one day during the summer in the end of July, when the weather in Rome was really hot (ca 40 C) - the swimming pool in San Francesco was really cool!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful space in the middle of nature and animals
Liked least: sorry, I really cannot list here anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaimie P
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful House in wonderful surroundings”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here with family, and it lived up to all our expectations. I would highly recommend it, and we found the service from the owners of the villa very good and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PKa
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at San Francesco for 2 weeks on mid-June in 2015 and we loved every minute of it.

The place is just like it looks on the pictures, especially on the inside. Rooms are rustic and cozy, beds are nice (albeit a little hard, but I like hard mattress so it was very good for me), bathrooms are clean and functional.

On the outside, the house itself and the surrounding area, everything is even better than in the pictures. You have such a nice view from the pool area to rolling hills around you, it is so peaceful.

The number of people in our group varied from 4 to 16 and there were always plenty of room for everybody. The living room can get a little bit cramped with 16 people, but so what, it only creates fun atmosphere. Besides, kitchen is right next to the living room which help a lot.

Kitchen is adequate, gas stove, oven, dishwasher and fridge/freezer. Fridge is a little bit a on the small side when you try to store food items for 16 people, but all in all, we had no big issues with that, it just took a little planning :). Kitchen has plenty of glasses, plates, pans and kettles for big group. There is also a washing machine in the small building just outside the house.

This is a working farm, so depending on time of the year you might see people working on the grounds. There was action when we were there, but that definitely did not bother us at all. All the people we met were very nice, always smiling and waving.

Also, since this is a farm, there are a lot of animals; cows, donkeys, cats and one extremely lovely dog, Cocoa. She is so cute and wise dog, she will stay out of your way if you so desire, but if you call her, she will happily come and hang around.

Then there is Lara, who is the owner. She is really a huge asset for this place. No matter what was the issue, she was always available via phone and was ready to help with everything (arranging taxis, local info, whatever). She even invited us to a pizza night on our second night there. They have built a nice kitchen/restaurant to one of the caves near the house where they have a big pizza oven where they cook for their friends and relatives and sometimes to strangers like us. The pizza, secret recipe from her husband’s mother, was to die for, we ate so much that night that we had some difficulties to climb back up to the house.

On the grounds of the house, there are some Etruscan caves and other Etruscan sites, which you can explore either on your own, or even better, let Lara show you around the sites, at least for the first time.

There is no wifi in the house, but Lara can get you one for a little fee. Just remember that the house has very thick rock walls so the signal won’t be very good other than in the room where the modem is.

Viterbo is only minutes away by car, maybe 10 minutes. In there you will find couple big supermarkets, we used the big one just of the main road, excellent selection.

We really had a wonderful time there, and there were so many positive things that I can’t even remember everything. But we were sad when we had to leave and would love to return some day.

All in all, we can highly recommend this place, especially for large group, just lovely!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House, location, atmosphere, service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Truly Magical!”
Reviewed 27 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is the second time that I have stayed at this villa and I am counting the days until I can go back. It is a magical place. Stepping across the threshold takes one instantly back in time, to a peaceful time of contentment. I travel with a large group of students and they love this place. The facilities are wonderful, the views extraordinary, and the memories made are all happy ones. The owner is terrific - ready to help with everything!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience of this villa is exquisite!
Liked least: Honestly, nothing! (...but the teenagers missed Wi-Fi)
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookingfo...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Unique and Serene Farm Stay Truely Amazing”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Amazing ancient converted defence tower, very comfortable, with lovely bathrooms and an in-ground pool with farm, valley and mountain views.
The owners were very helpful and drove us around their property to show us the interesting Etruscan ruins and beautiful aqua rossa, natural mineral springs.
We Lay in bed at night listening to the owls hooting, and the wind whistling around the tower, a very comforting, and fascinating experience.
Peaceful, private, yet within easy driving distances to many interesting towns and Etruscan ruins, natural hot springs, medieval towns, gorgeous restaurants, wine and farm produce tasting, this property has an excellent location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The Medieval Atmosphere, the farm animals and the space
Liked least: Nothing to dislike although i couldnt find a washing machine but i did not ask!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing