We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 424)
Filter reviews
1 424 results
Traveller rating
926
360
90
31
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
926
360
90
31
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view across the road large swimming pool waiter service high ceilings pool bar wide corridors evening meal plenty of sunbeds old world charm salad buffet half board garden area reception staff this lovely hotel deck chairs tea and coffee making facilities
Filter
Updating list...
414 - 419 of 1 424 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel has classic interior but it doesn't look old-fashioned. It's a bit old but that actually adds to it's charm. I loved the high celing of the room, so big, with a nice bathroom. Breakfast is also great and the staff is very friendly. The pool is made of marble and it's quite big.
This hotel is not overpriced and was one of the best I stayed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tatiana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Guest,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
We would like to thank you for your comments
Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I cannot praise this hotel enough from the very friendly helpful staff to the exceptionally clean room all taken care of by Monica lovely lady. The food got better and better with each passing day thanks to Daniel Renato and a big thank you to Giuseppe the Head bartender who was professional and very experienced well done. I will be going back in September again because we had such a lovely trip thank you to the grand x also the beach was superb everything about this trip was spot on and being my first trip with Citalia well worth it thank you all.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much. I could not agree with you more - it is the staff and the service they provide which I believe makes The Royal such a special place to visit. I am very grateful to you for mentioning how well you were looked after by the team here, and I will ensure that your comments are passed on to all concerned.
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Grand Royal is situated about midway along the boulevard. The Hotel hotel is great, a bit classic. The rooms are large with views of the sea in front and mountains behind. Breakfast was good. The garden is beautiful with a large swimming pool and pool bar where you can order and eat your lunch. Lastly the bar is just great with the nice snacks and the friendly bartender Guiseppe who gave us some good advices about the restaurants and the area. The bathroom is bit small and old. We didn't like the beaches in Viareggio. Actually you can't see the beach because of all the beachclubs.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DaniNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest,
I appreciate your kind feedback and was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Thank you.
Thanks for the compliment to Giuseppe!
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I have just come back from a week at this hotel and would definitely recommend it the reception staff were absolutely fantastic and helped us in every way, like printing of Bus and train timetables and helping us get the best from our stay.

the restaurant was very nice and the food was excellent although a little bit samey but excellently prepared and cooked the only negative that we had was that when the restaurant was full there didn't seem to be enough waiters to cope

However we would definately go back to this hotel

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel were much quieter
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greyfriars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments and I am very pleased you had a good time during your stay with us. I hope you will visit again.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Viareggio is a wonderful place to spent some vacation at the sea while being in Toscana and enjoying the incredible cultural richness of this region of Italy. The hotel is very friendly with a competent and nice staff. It is situated in a beautiful house. The rooms with view to the sea are in the sun street but once the windows closed not noisy at all, despite the activity of the Main Street. Rooms are well equipped with the comfort of a 4 stars hotel. Breakfast is correct, although with a somehow limited choice (rather typical for all of Italy). One of the main strengths is the gorgeous swimming pool, with a little restaurant where to take a meal for lunch, behind the swimming pool there is a very nice garden with hammocks. TV is small and the choice of programs somewhat limited. Very important:if you travel by car make a reservation for one of the 15 parking lots!

Room Tip: Specify the you want a room with balcony
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much. I could not agree with you more, Tuscany is a wondeful Region to visit, we think the best in Italy.
Hope to welcome you once again
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews