We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hibiscus Uno

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tropea, Province of Vibo Valentia, Calabria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
zagoston
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Hibiscus Uno for the second year as Domenica and his family are the friendliest host you can wish for. The apartments are simple but comfortable, fitted with everything you may need for your stay.
You can cook, relax in the garden or walk to town in 10 minutes if you fancy.
I cannot recommend it more and you can't beat the prices either.
Hidden gem, thank you Domenica, hopefully see you again soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yana K
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Away from home you are happy!”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Dear travellers,
We stayed in Hibiscus Uno for 12 days during July. This is an extraordinary place giving you a warm welcome from the family of Mrs Domenica De Luca! The appartments, indeed small houses are clean, comfortable, there is fully equiped kitchen and fantastic garden in front. I would strongly recommend it to families with children but not only as it can be quite romantic for couples or funny for a bunch of friends.
The place is away enough from the road and the noise of the city and is very quiet and restful. There is only one point to know in advance - the distance from the beach is 15-20 minutes by walk and when the weather is too hot it's a bit long. This is important for families with kids travelling without car. However we enjoyed these daily walks a lot as the view from the appartments to the Historical center of Tropea and the beach is very nice.
Finally i found Hibiscus Uno well well balanced place between price and value. I've already recommened it to my close friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and the service.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej Ma...
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mama's place”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Nice, kind and tender are the De Lucas who own and operate Hibiscus Uno, helped by Pablito the dog, Pasqale the rooster keeping his flock orderly and productive. The apartments open down to a flower park with barbecue and children playground, and then, three steps down, to parking and a tiny vegetable farm.
It is interesting even to do nothing; bird twitter will help you forget everything and Domenica may pamper you with little gifts. You can agree with her to make you a proper Calabrese dinner, too.
It is ideal for out of season with Tropea quiet, sandy beaches comfortable and supply of ice cream unlimited.

Andrej

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The people
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve m
Valletta, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Numero Uno!”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Hibiscus Uno is a lovely place to stay just outside Tropea. Set among citrus trees with well laid out gardens with barbecue facilities, the bungalows provide a cosy place to stay away from the crowds of Tropea, but with the town a very short walk away. The beach by the port is also very close to the accommodation which was perfect for exercising our dogs.

Domenica really looks after the bungalows and they were remarkably well equipped with everything we could possibly have needed. We found this a peaceful and enjoyable place to stay and an excellent base to explore Tropea and its surroundings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting among citrus trees was beautiful.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EandStu
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ciao Pablito!”
Reviewed 4 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 5 nights in late September, and we're so happy with our choice. Domenica and her family have a wonderful spot with everything you need while on holiday. The kitchens were well equipped and with ample parking for our rental car, we felt right at home at hibiscus uno. The walk for dinner every night was a lovely 10 minutes into centro storico, and there are lots of little markets in the town to stock your kitchen.
I would recommend hibiscus uno to anyone looking to stay in Tropea.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing