We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Highly recommend

Our cooking experience with Antonella and Nonna was a highlight of our small group tour to Abruzzo... read more

Reviewed 15 May 2018
TheVoyagiste
,
Toronto, Canada
Amazin experience

Me and my husband and another couple did the foody tour. Even my husband was born in Sulmona it was... read more

Reviewed 30 April 2018
Rosmery D
via mobile
Read all 20 reviews
  
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
19
0
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
0
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2016

All four of us really enjoyed this adventure in the kitchen of the Hotel Ristorante Ovidius. The two cooks were personable, skilled and even told stories and sang a song or two while they created a delicious lunch for us. We all were able to try our hands at kneading the pasta, using the chitarra to make noodles, forming meatballs, etc. Our guide, Katy, translated between Italian and English for us as necessary, and was friendly and helpful during our walk around the market and at the hotel.

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank 508paolak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcometosulmona, Owner at Welcome to Sulmona, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Thank you for your very kind words. We're pleased you all enjoyed yourselves! Do come back acd visit us agian soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

The Welcome to Sulmona website was essential to the planning of our stay in Sulmona. It provided information on places to stay, restaurants and places of interest in the surrounding area.

My husband and I did the wine tasting and had a wonderfully relaxed and enjoyable evening. The sommelier was very friendly, engaging and knowledgeable about Abruzzese wines. The event was hosted at a perfect location - a B&B on their terrace overlooking the main square with its aquaduct, and the nibbles were delicious and plentiful.

An exceptional value and highly recommended.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank deciding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcometosulmona, Owner at Welcome to Sulmona, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2016

Thank you for your review - it means a lot that people take the time to share their experiences with us. We're also so pleased that our website was helpful! Come abck and visit us again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016

My wife and I joined the "wine tasting" evening experience. It was great to begin with a walk-about tour of this beautiful city and to meet with people from far and wide. The wine tasting, itself, with accompanying Abruzzese snacks, was expertly led and provided plenty of insights into some delicious local wines. An extra bonus was the wonderful terrace overlooking the beautiful Piazza Garibaldi with its backdrop of mountains. What better way to spend an evening in the heart of Italy!

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Massacio1423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcometosulmona, Owner at Welcome to Sulmona, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2016

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It's aways a pleasure to meet visitors to our city and to help them to enjoy their time with us. We hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

This is absolutely fabulous! We cooked local Abruzzi specials that I have never heard of even after living in Italy for a year. everything about it was wonderful from starting the day off in the market with a coffee at the cafe, to cooking in a fabulously appointed kitchen with an Italian Nonna/Daughter duo. I HIGHLY recommend this to anyone!!

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank hsac111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcometosulmona, Owner at Welcome to Sulmona, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2016

Thank you for your review Catherine - it means a lot that you took time out of your busy vacation schedule to write this for us. We're so pleased you all had a good day. You were a wonderful group and the kids were adorable. Enjoy the rest of your holiday! Katy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2015

I had a truly amazing experience cooking in Sulmona. It is one of the 'things to do' on offer from Welcome to Sulmona. There were six of us, all English speaking, from South Africa, Australia, USA and England. We were met in the Piazza Garibaldi where there is a market every Wednesday and Saturday. We were taken around the market and introduced to some of the stall holders, and produce. /we sampled some. We had a short history whilst walking from the market to our venue, Hotel Ovidio, where we were introduced to our cooks for the day. Mother and daughter from Sulmona. We were shown how to make Pasta with Beans, Chitarra with Abruzzese sauce and meat balls and Pizzelle, a speciality of Abruzzo shared at celebrations such as weddings, baptisms etc. We all had a 'hands on experience' and ate the fruits of our labour for lunch. We had a sing song about a man who used to come around to the villages to sharpen the Chitarra machine (Guitar) used for cutting the pasta, a custom which has now died out. Compliments to all involved in this experience. I have already tried out the Pizzelle recipe and will certainly try the other recipes also. If you are in Sulmona, this is an experience that should be on your 'to do' list.

Date of experience: September 2015
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank J565CVpatriciac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcometosulmona, Owner at Welcome to Sulmona, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2015

Thank you for your lovely review Patricia! It was a pleasure having you with us this week. Let me know next time you are doing pizzelle and I'll pop up! Katy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews