We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little slice of Italian paradise”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Ulignano

The apartment from the garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The apartment from the garden.
Villa Ulignano The double room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
The apartment from the garden.
Villa Ulignano
The double room
The twin room
Ensuite, self contained double room with sofa, fridge & tea/coffee making facilities
The lounge area with TV and DVD player.
The kitchen space.
The dining area.
The shower room.
The all-new adjustable climbing wall
Fun in the pool.
Your view from the balconies
Path leading to Chiesa, Santa Maria del Lago
Sulmona's famous aqueduct
Picnic area by the spring fed San Domenico Lake
Snowshoeing in the local valley
Out on a cycle ride by the river near Bussi
Sulmona Giostra is held in the main piazza
One of the many water hydrants still used for crop irrigation
Pescara Beach
One of the beach areas at Lake Scanno
Lake Scanno as seen from the mountains above
Local pool in Sulmona (1 outdoor pool & 2 indoor pools)
The twice weekly market in Sulmona's main square
A snowshoe walk in the mountains above Lake Scanno
The immaculate streets of Pescocostanzo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sulmona, Province of L'Aquila, Abruzzo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen C
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little slice of Italian paradise ”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

From the moment you open the shutters in your bedroom, the golden, Italian sunlight pours in and you glance out to the backdrop of snow tipped mountains, you know this is going to be a special place!

Loads of space, well equipped kitchen and TV make this the perfect place to bring a family - even with teenagers - whatever the weather.

Enjoyed walking, climbing, cycling and even wild swimming all within just a few kilometres and even used it as a base for longer jaunts to Rome and Herculaneum. Loads of lovely little towns and quirky hilltop villages to discover very close by too. Truly something for everyone round here!

Can't thank Michelle, Dougie and the boys enough for sharing their home with us and giving us so much insider knowledge to help us make the most of our time in Italy.
It may have taken us a while to get to you this first time, but you'd better believe we'll be back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
Thank you very much for the kind words about us, the apartment & the surrounding area. It would be a pleasure to have you all back at Villa Ulignano again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excursion...
2 reviews
“Just can't stay away!”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We just can’t stay away! We’ve stayed at Michelle and Dougie’s Villa Ulignano before and you can read our previous “rave review” (30 August 2015). This year we were there for a total of 5 weeks (3 – 17 August and 1 – 22 September 2016). Our return twice in the same season says it all!

The standard and convenience of the accommodation, the delightful personalities and service of the hosts and the ideal location are all winners. For those who don’t want to live “cheek by jowl” in a city but also want a vibrant small Italian city such as Sulmona at their fingertips as well as easy access to the mountains for trekking and outdoor pursuits, Villa Ulignano “ticks all the boxes”. The atmosphere is truly “home away from home”.

We can’t thank Michelle and Dougie enough for all that they offer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for your kind comments about us, Villa Ulignano & the surrounding area. We are very pleased that you love the area a much as we do & look forward to seeing you both in 2017. Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romallia
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Memorable Experience”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

On our arrival, we immediately fell in love with Abruzzo, thanks to Michelle and Dougie (property owners) who made us feel at home with their hospitality. The apartment is great! Impeccable clean and with all the necessary amenities for a perfect holiday. What we liked most were the mountain views from every window of the apartment. Also, excellent home made wine and jam too. Quite easy to visit Sulmona and the surrounding areas as the apartment is only a few kilometers away. Hope we will be able to visit again in the future and we're surely recommend this holiday home to our family and friends. Thanks once again Michelle and Dougie for making our holiday most enjoyable. Arrivederci!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, mountain views and hospitality of owners.
Liked least: Nothing to comment about
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Thank you very much for your kind comments, we're glad you enjoyed Abruzzo as much as we do. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future, kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbarasS...
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful area for a holiday”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed in this apartment for a week and really enjoyed discovering Abruzzo and meeting some wonderful people. Michelle and Dougie are the perfect hosts, friendly and enthusiastic about the area. The local town, Sulmona, is an easy 10 minute drive and has great value bars, shops and restaurants and cultural activities. Pescara can be reached on the train and numerous small villages are within 90 minutes drive. The Majella National Park is also close by. The apartment is comfortable with everything provided including fresh herbs from the garden. Abruzzo has much to offer as a tourist destination and deserves to be better publicised. It makes for a great value holiday - drinks and meals out being very reasonably priced compared to other areas in Italy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly and knowledgeable hosts, good value, historic area
Liked least: Weather a bit disappointing as cloudy with rain some of the time
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2016
Thank you very much for the kind comments about us & the region, it was a pleasure having you staying at Villa Ulignano. We look forward to you returning to Abruzzo one day in the future. Kind regards, Dougie, Michelle, Jake & Josh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area and our hosts, very friendly and helpful
Liked least: Time went too fast!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for your kind words about Villa Ulignano & Abruzzo. We're very glad you liked the area as much as we do & agree that it is truly something special & undiscovered (ssshhh!). It would be lovely to see you both back one day in the future, kind regards, Dougie, Michelle & the boys
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing