We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Percorso Meccanizzato Ponzianina-Rocca
Save
Review Highlights
Here are some pointers for using the underground escalators -

Spoleto is a steep hill town. This means it is is gorgeous, but that it can also be a challenge if... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Embrace_Life_Now
,
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Easy access to the old city on top!

Beautiful old town with amazing views and you can take the multiple escalators to reach it... read more

Reviewed 4 November 2018
Peggy S
,
Vegreville, Canada
Read all 637 reviews
  
Reviews (637)
Filter reviews
637 results
Traveller rating
436
172
18
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
436
172
18
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steep streets old town great idea various levels easy access escalator travelator hill rocca series innovation carpet towns practical speedy castle tourists
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 637 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2018

We were bracing ourselves for the long trek to the top of the hill when we discovered these safe, clean people movers that took us to the top in mere moments!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank ElaineM146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

So many old and picturesque Italian villages are perched on hill tops for their protection through history. Unfortunately this can easily preclude visits from those of us with mobility problems. Spoleto has put in this very attractive and well maintained escalator system that you can take for free and get off at a number of spots for different venues. Or, you can take it to the top for a spectacular view of the countryside. You can catch a bus right at the train stations that will take you to the base of the escalator for a pittance in a few minutes.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank bigchet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We found it very convenient and interesting that these moving walkways are here in Spoleto to take weary travelers up to the top of the city. We did use them.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank lollygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Thanks to this modern "moving carpet" and elevators on the most important places in the town, we could explore this phenomenal place! There is a good solution to arrange in the elevator's area/old city walls exhibitions of modern art, too! Congrats!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank mv4235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We stumbled upon these underground moving walkways, not realising - with our woeful Italian - that the lines on the city map provided by the tourist info related to them. They are exceptional: free, clean, non-threatening and such a bonus to use on boiling hot day in a city of steep slopes. The entrances are not always obvious though, so be bold and explore what you think might be one. My only gripe was the colour scheme, and I guess that's personal.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews