We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Stella Alpina
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Sauze d'Oulx
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Booked based on the great reviews, and whilst location is great right next to the lift, the hotel is very average. 'Alpine' rooms were small and basic but ok. Bathroom was tiny and impossible to move around in shower. Breakfast was a basic buffet - no hot food (apart from boiled eggs). Dinner good quality but limited salad choice. Breakfast and salad buffets not frequently replenished. Tiled/wooden floors throughout hotel made it very noisy.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ginge298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eydallin, Owner at Hotel Stella Alpina, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel, and am sorry that you had one of the smaller rooms (they are not all the same size), we have tried our best to make them as comfortable as possible. I'm not sure what else you wanted on the buffet as you called it basic, as it had everything that a typical continental breakfast has, we are in Italy after all, cooked breakfasts are definitely not Italian. I think 4 different choices of bread, 3 different types of cereals, 2 different types of croissant, ham ,cheese, salami, boiled eggs, fresh fruit and fruit in syrup, yoghurts, a choice of various flavours of jam, biscuits, orange juice, tea, coffee, hot chocolate. As for the salad buffet... green salad, red lettuce, beetroot, tomatoes, grated carrots, celeriac, tomatoes, sweetcorn are always the base, then we often have russian salad, rice salads, sliced hams, quiche, pizza, fried gnocchi, chicken salad, vitello tonnato, caponnata, and other vegetables to compliment it. Perhaps a four star hotel would give more choice.... we are a very reasonably priced 3 star, but I don't think that is ever taken into consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2017

Have just returned 18th march
Different room from previous years but same standard
clean and well looked after
well equipped with everything i would need
food was good, plenty to choose from
will be back next year (twice)

Room Tip: have stayed in 5 different rooms all as good as each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cthebuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Skiing towards the end of the season so snow down at resort level beginning to go however does not detract from the hotel. Took our fussy 13 year old with us Caroline very accommodating, if he did not like evening meal choice she had the kitchen make him some pasta etc so he was well chuffed. Great location and under normal conditions with good snow it really is almost ski to the door location
We have a family room, it's large two separate rooms and great shower with good water pressure and lots hot water
Really recommend this hotel

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank kirstyNash5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We stayed here for a week half board skiing and very much enjoyed our stay.
First thing to say is that Caroline was brilliant both before and after our holiday in terms of arranging everything for us, customer service was second to none!
The location is brilliant, next door to the ski hire shop, right at the bottom of a run back to the town and a short magic carpet ride up to the chair lift.

The whole hotel is very alpine looking which added to the atmosphere and all of the staff we saw and came into contact with were smiley, helpful and very friendly!

Food was amazing, I usually love a cooked breakfast but as they had boiled eggs and cheeses and meats this was perfect for me and I enjoyed it every morning. They even put on breakfast early for us on the day we left which was very kind.

Dinner was incredible and something I looked forward to each day... three courses with a salad bar before your first course.... you get a choice of two starters and two mains which you pick the day before and then you can pick your dessert on the night.
I thoroughly enjoyed all of the food, compliments to the chef!!!!! The house wine was also very good and very cheap at around 14 euros per litre ... needless to say there were a few sore heads!!

We also ate in the bar a few times for lunch... lovely lattes and burgers and a very good price so I would recommend eating there as well!

In terms of bars and restaurants, you are 5 minutes walk from a huge number of bars... yet far enough away to not hear too much noise at night.

My only very small gripe was we had singled beds which you couldn't push together ... we would have much preferred a double bed! And we couldn't find any English speaking channels except for a Children's channel, I know there are a huge number of Italians holidaying as well and we were there to ski but I am not a big skier so it would have been nice to have something to watch in the afternoon, a movie channel would have made a big difference.
That said this did not ruin our holiday and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who loves nice food, an excellent location and great value... we would certainly come back again!

Thank you for a wonderful trip :)

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller1986Em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Our 20th year skiing in Sauze, staying at the Hotel Stella Alpina was a fantastic experience - a massive thank you to Caroline and ALL the staff at the hotel, ski hire shop and at La Libellula!!
Even bigger choice of food at breakfast this year, lovely dinners which included home grown potatoes from fields in the mountains opposite the hotel. Not many family-run hotels offer such a high level and range of services - from beautiful hotel rooms, a comprehensive ski shop with highly qualified family members to help you, a large and welcoming bar / snack area and a fantastic "baby-parking" facility for children from zero to, I'm guessing, 8 years of age! Most of the staff speak 3 languages, are polite and open to all reasonable requests to make your skiing holiday a holiday to remember! I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to experience the best holiday facilities in Sauze. For us, it's been a no-brainer for the last 20 years and we'll be making the same trip to the hotel next year!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank The_ShepherdsAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sauze d'Oulx hotels
0,2 km away
Hotel K2
Hotel K2
#7 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
46 reviews
0,3 km away
Hotel Gran Baita
Hotel Gran Baita
#1 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
246 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Sauze
Hotel Sauze
#14 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1,1 km away
Chalet Il Capricorno Hotel
Chalet Il Capricorno Hotel
#10 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
93 reviews
0,6 km away
Petit Bed & Breakfast
Petit Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
39 reviews
0,1 km away
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#22 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stella Alpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella Alpina

Address: Via Miramonti 22/24, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sauze d'Oulx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
#9 Family Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
Price Range: R2 171 - R3 964 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stella Alpina 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly family run hotel, suberbly situated at the foot of the slopes. We are happy to arrange everything for you to make your holiday as easy as possible, from transport from the airport to ski hire from our own shop, ski lift passes and ski school. Weekly and short break bookings accepted on both half board and bed breakfast basis. Very family friendly, not suitable for big groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Stella Alpina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Alpina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing