We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel K2(Sauze d'Oulx)(Great Value!)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Relais Des Alpes(Sauze d'Oulx)(Great Value!)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Park Hotel Gran Bosco(Sauze d'Oulx)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Gran Baita(Sauze d'Oulx)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Assietta(Sauze d'Oulx)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet Chez Nous(Sauze d'Oulx)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Biancaneve(Sauze d'Oulx)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Miravalle(Sauze d'Oulx)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet del Sole(Sauze d'Oulx)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
188
49
19
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
49
19
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscotch barski shopmagic carpetperfect locationski hireshop next doorwelcoming barski holidayhalf boardevening mealrecommend this hotelclotes liftnew chefend of the dayboiled eggsfamily runboot room
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

The Stella Alpina is a lovely family run hotel situated perfectly at the bottom of the ski run. All of the staff are very attentive. The scotch bar on the ground floor is perfect for a drink as you come off the slopes.
Rooms are comfortable.
Overall it is excellent value for money.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

nice hotel clean and tidy in a perfect location couldn't get better, the hotel own the ski hire shop right next door, the food is very poor and little of it, so much so We had to eat out more often than not, having a front view bedroom as great till everyone coming back from the bars shouting and piste bashers at four in the morning, also the chef slamming doors at 6.00 in the morning in the corridor.
As for breakfast hard boiled eggs and hard bread, few cereals. as this hotel caters for mostly British shame they don't cater for them, we used Max bar for breakfast most mornings,having said that was enjoyable skiing fantastic resort

Room Tip: Get back rooms off the second floor
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eydallin, Owner at Hotel Stella Alpina, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017


Thank you for taking you time for writing a review, I am so sorry you didn't like the food, its not always easy to please everyone all the time. Also a pity that you didn't tell me at the time, as we might have been able to find something more to your taste. As you say we do have a lot of British in the hotel, but we also have Dutch, Swedish , Danish and Italians, so I really don't see why as being a hotel in Italy we should have to cater just to British tastes,alot of people like to try something Italian. So glad that you managed to find your English breakfast at Max Bar. The breakfasts for other readers consists of 4 different types of bread,different flavored jams, mini croissants, biscuits, 3 types of cereals, fresh fruit, fruit in syrup, ham, cheese, salami,eggs, hot chocolate, tea, coffee and fruit juice... a typical continental breakfast. The chef does not bang doors at 6,00 in the morning as he doesn't start work until 8,30 !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Although I already wrote a review last year, it is still nice to add another one.
Last year the new chef was introduced, now I can report that the hotel has been redecorated in a lovely way. Much wood has been used, giving it a modern "chalet" look. Very nice indeed! For the rest, nothing has changed... So, staff is very very friendly and for owners Caroline and Renato, nothing is too much to accommodate their guests. Fortunately, winter conditions are good this year, lots of snow now, so, what is keeping you away?
For new readers, food is very good and is in fact still improving, especially the salad bar and breakfast. Very jammy...
The rooms are beautiful, most are spacious and everything kept very clean.
The Scotch bar downstairs is a must after a long day of skiing, there you can enjoy a nice drink, watch some sport on tv and chew on some chips...
And of course the location of the hotel, just at the bottom of the slope. You can store your skis in the shop and proceed to the Scotch Bar...
Have a nice stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are ok, but if you like a little bit of luxe, go the for the comfort rooms with jacuzzi
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonnyHoevelaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

I have just come back from a week at the Stella Alpina. As reviewers have said the staff are very friendly especially in the dining room and bar. Breakfast had the usual breads, salami, cheese, ham, boiled eggs, serials, fruit, coffee and hot chocolate! Dinner was a little hit and miss but the wines were reasonable! Our room faced the slopes which we thought was a bonus but ended up being a bit of a pain as it was also by the road and we suffered sleepless nights every night with the noise from the rowdy crowds at the local bar and stragglers home at night until about 3/4 am, bottles being put in bottle banks and road clearing started at around 4am. House cleaning started with hoovering at 7am. Our room was warm but there was only a small wardrobe with not enough storage for two people on a ski trip so one of us lived out of a suitcase. The bathroom was so compact that we could sit properly facing the right way on the toilet and it had the tiniest showers. The ski/boot room gets very busy at times but was close to the hotel. Despite those things (not all in the hotels control) we had a good week!
I think you should definitely ask for rooms with a bath not facing the road!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank pippaebd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eydallin, Owner at Hotel Stella Alpina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Thank you for having taken time to review the hotel. I think I know which room you were in and yes it certainly isn't a penthouse suite, but we have tried our best to make it as comfortable as possible. I would just like to correct one or 2 points that you made for any other people who are reading this review. We are opposite the pistes, so it is the piste bashers that come down at 4 not road sweepers, they usually come down turn round and go straight back up again, to leave the pistes pristine for the following morning. We do not start cleaning in the hotel until 8,00, and when we do its on the ground floor, 2 floors down from the bedrooms. As for the late night noise from people outside, we no longer have any night clubs beyond the hotel, so we don't get stragglers going past on their way home, so not sure where the noise was coming from. As for the bottle banks, you are right, dreadful early morning call, I have spoken to the local council about, but unfortunately has made no difference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

The only two down points I can think of are
1. the 5 minute walk up the hill having been dropped off by the transfer coach at the bottom of the hill - but they do transport your bags for you so use it as a quick tour of the village.
2. our room had twin beds rather than a double.
Picky I know!
The staff are welcoming, the hotel is lovely and clean, the breakfast has something for everyone and whilst the evening meal is a little limited none of our group of six ever left the table hungry.
We aren't first lift / last lift skiers so using the Clotes lift for which you have to walk all the way across the road (<25m) having collected your skis from the never crowded shop next door was a steady start to easy skiing days.
The hotel bar is well stocked and as a northerner who likes bitter Thwaites smooth on draft was a nice surprise.
There are a number of other bars in easy walking distance which vary from noisy/crowded to quiet relaxed - find the one you like.
The only other thing to say is that if you take one of the days away (we went to Montegenevre) you do have to carry your skis down and up from the coach park in your ski boots !
We like to go to different places each year but wouldn't hesitate to return to the Stella Aplina - highly recommended.

Room Tip: Some rooms have doubles not twins / some have a bath & shower / some face the slopes - so ask for all 3
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Foz-the-Elder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews