We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, friendly welcome, great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Stella Alpina
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Sauze d'Oulx
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Just come back from a wonderful 7 night stay in the Stella Alpina, a hotel with which it is hard to find fault. The hotel itself is a short walk from the centre of town, and superbly located for skiing - it is around 100 metres from the Clotes chairlift, and in good snow you can ski down almost to the front door. Another highlight for skiers is the ski/boot room located underneath the ski-rental shop next door to the hotel, which features heated boot racks, meaning you never have to go up the mountain the next morning in damp boots.

The staff are all superb, friendly and English-speaking, and seemed willing to accommodate most reasonable requests. The hotel itself has relatively few rooms, adding to the warm and personable feel. I stayed in a single room, with a comfortable (albeit somewhat narrow) single bed, which was relatively small but always cosy and warm. The shower always had hot water, always a godsend, but again the bathroom was very small (I had to sidestep to get between the toilet and sink and even then my legs brushed the sink).

I stayed half board and the food was absolutely excellent, with three course meals, four if you include the salad bar. There were two options every night for starter, main course and desert and every meal was great. Breakfast was continental, and again high quality with good choice.

Do note that here as in all hotels in the region a tourist tax is payable on departure, so make sure you save at least some of your Euros! At the time of writing this was 1,50€ per person per night.

All in all a very good hotel that made for a very enjoyable trip. One to look at if planning a trip to Sauze d'Oulx.

Room Tip: Mountain-facing rooms can suffer from slight piste-basher noise, but this is brief and tolerable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

The Stella Alpina is a lovely family run hotel situated perfectly at the bottom of the ski run. All of the staff are very attentive. The scotch bar on the ground floor is perfect for a drink as you come off the slopes.
Rooms are comfortable.
Overall it is excellent value for money.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

nice hotel clean and tidy in a perfect location couldn't get better, the hotel own the ski hire shop right next door, the food is very poor and little of it, so much so We had to eat out more often than not, having a front view bedroom as great till everyone coming back from the bars shouting and piste bashers at four in the morning, also the chef slamming doors at 6.00 in the morning in the corridor.
As for breakfast hard boiled eggs and hard bread, few cereals. as this hotel caters for mostly British shame they don't cater for them, we used Max bar for breakfast most mornings,having said that was enjoyable skiing fantastic resort

Room Tip: Get back rooms off the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eydallin, Owner at Hotel Stella Alpina, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017


Thank you for taking you time for writing a review, I am so sorry you didn't like the food, its not always easy to please everyone all the time. Also a pity that you didn't tell me at the time, as we might have been able to find something more to your taste. As you say we do have a lot of British in the hotel, but we also have Dutch, Swedish , Danish and Italians, so I really don't see why as being a hotel in Italy we should have to cater just to British tastes,alot of people like to try something Italian. So glad that you managed to find your English breakfast at Max Bar. The breakfasts for other readers consists of 4 different types of bread,different flavored jams, mini croissants, biscuits, 3 types of cereals, fresh fruit, fruit in syrup, ham, cheese, salami,eggs, hot chocolate, tea, coffee and fruit juice... a typical continental breakfast. The chef does not bang doors at 6,00 in the morning as he doesn't start work until 8,30 !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Although I already wrote a review last year, it is still nice to add another one.
Last year the new chef was introduced, now I can report that the hotel has been redecorated in a lovely way. Much wood has been used, giving it a modern "chalet" look. Very nice indeed! For the rest, nothing has changed... So, staff is very very friendly and for owners Caroline and Renato, nothing is too much to accommodate their guests. Fortunately, winter conditions are good this year, lots of snow now, so, what is keeping you away?
For new readers, food is very good and is in fact still improving, especially the salad bar and breakfast. Very jammy...
The rooms are beautiful, most are spacious and everything kept very clean.
The Scotch bar downstairs is a must after a long day of skiing, there you can enjoy a nice drink, watch some sport on tv and chew on some chips...
And of course the location of the hotel, just at the bottom of the slope. You can store your skis in the shop and proceed to the Scotch Bar...
Have a nice stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are ok, but if you like a little bit of luxe, go the for the comfort rooms with jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonnyHoevelaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
132
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

I have just come back from a week at the Stella Alpina. As reviewers have said the staff are very friendly especially in the dining room and bar. Breakfast had the usual breads, salami, cheese, ham, boiled eggs, serials, fruit, coffee and hot chocolate! Dinner was a little hit and miss but the wines were reasonable! Our room faced the slopes which we thought was a bonus but ended up being a bit of a pain as it was also by the road and we suffered sleepless nights every night with the noise from the rowdy crowds at the local bar and stragglers home at night until about 3/4 am, bottles being put in bottle banks and road clearing started at around 4am. House cleaning started with hoovering at 7am. Our room was warm but there was only a small wardrobe with not enough storage for two people on a ski trip so one of us lived out of a suitcase. The bathroom was so compact that we could sit properly facing the right way on the toilet and it had the tiniest showers. The ski/boot room gets very busy at times but was close to the hotel. Despite those things (not all in the hotels control) we had a good week!
I think you should definitely ask for rooms with a bath not facing the road!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eydallin, Owner at Hotel Stella Alpina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Thank you for having taken time to review the hotel. I think I know which room you were in and yes it certainly isn't a penthouse suite, but we have tried our best to make it as comfortable as possible. I would just like to correct one or 2 points that you made for any other people who are reading this review. We are opposite the pistes, so it is the piste bashers that come down at 4 not road sweepers, they usually come down turn round and go straight back up again, to leave the pistes pristine for the following morning. We do not start cleaning in the hotel until 8,00, and when we do its on the ground floor, 2 floors down from the bedrooms. As for the late night noise from people outside, we no longer have any night clubs beyond the hotel, so we don't get stragglers going past on their way home, so not sure where the noise was coming from. As for the bottle banks, you are right, dreadful early morning call, I have spoken to the local council about, but unfortunately has made no difference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sauze d'Oulx hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Sauze
Hotel Sauze
#15 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
150 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Gran Baita
Hotel Gran Baita
#1 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
246 reviews
0.6 km away
Petit Bed & Breakfast
Petit Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Terrazza
Hotel Terrazza
#29 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
106 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel K2
Hotel K2
#7 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
44 reviews
0.2 km away
Grand Hotel Besson
Grand Hotel Besson
#16 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stella Alpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella Alpina

Address: Via Miramonti 22/24, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sauze d'Oulx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
#10 Family Hotel in Sauze d'Oulx
Price Range: R2 020 - R2 819 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stella Alpina 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly family run hotel, suberbly situated at the foot of the slopes. We are happy to arrange everything for you to make your holiday as easy as possible, from transport from the airport to ski hire from our own shop, ski lift passes and ski school. Weekly and short break bookings accepted on both half board and bed breakfast basis. Very family friendly, not suitable for big groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Stella Alpina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Alpina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing