We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we tried Cantina”

Cantina della Torre
Ranked #60 of 702 Restaurants in Reggio Emilia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$34
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Deli with sale but especially with tasting. We offer platters of the best Italian meats and cheeses accompanied by beautiful gardener, jams and honey mustard. We serve the best wines produced in our area, organic and biodynamic wines from small wineries that produce real excellence. A selection of dishes such as carpaccio of Chianina of Canossa, Sandwich our exclusive production, and fassona horse tartare, cod ', smoked trout stream directly from our Apennines, crepes, lasagna, cannelloni, salads and homemade desserts. Selection of spirits and coffee 'imported from El Salvador.
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

We found this place on TripAdvisor then noticed that the most recent review was 3 years old. That almost kept us from coming here. I am happy that we did take the walk and try it. It was a fantastic meal. The tortelli was great as was the tagliolini al cutatello. Our waiter (possibly the owner) kept things moving by himself in an almost full restaurant. You could tell that he had a lot of pride in the quality of the food and service.

Prices were quite reasonable. Dinner for four with appetizers, entrees, a bottle of wine and a few other drinks cost us under €80. Definitely worth a stop here if in Reggio Emilia.

Date of visit: September 2017
1  Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2014

The reviews are in and they are absolutely right, this is an outstanding restaurant. We were met at the door by the very friendly owner who is delightful and speaks excellent English, which is a big help for those of us not familiar with Italian language and many of the Italian meats. One thing that one needs to be aware of, is this is not your typical Italian pizza/pasta place. This is a "Salumeria" and specializes in the very best of Italian cold meats and cheeses. You will not be disappointed. We requested the owners recommendations for both the meal and the wine, and also for the desserts. Everything was wonderful. He took the trouble to explain each meat and it's origin and its process. The wine suggested was an excellent Lambrusco, which was something new to me, but paired with the meat perfectly. Best of all, it was very reasonably priced, which is always and nice surprise when traveling.

When you are go, you may find it a little bit difficult to locate. It is just off the Piazza San Prospero, immediately beneath the old "leaning" tower. This is a true local experience which is rare these days.

Date of visit: October 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

In 11 days in Reggio, I ate here 4 times, and could keep going back to try other dishes on the menu.
Alessandro and his staff are very welcoming and helpful. Although they speak excellent English, they were patient with my attempts to speak Italian. They provide an attentive but not intrusive service.
The boards of cheese and/or salumi are excellent - such a variety of choice. There are different sizes to allow for different appetites and for sharing. The other dishes are also wonderful - freshly prepared and tasty.
There's a good choice of wine, even by the glass, so I was also able to taste different wines, with Alessandro recommending different ones depending on what I ate.
And don't miss out on the Bargnolino - simply fantastic wild plum brandy.
And all at a very reasonable price.

Date of visit: March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro B, Proprietario at Cantina della Torre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thanks Kate! hope to see you soon! the bottle of bargnolino is waiting for you!! Bye!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The meal we ate here was among the best I've had. Everything was sourced locally and was just delicious. The owner was very kind, and even gave me an amazing wild plum brandy to cure my cough!

Date of visit: December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank awgRichmond_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

On October 19, 2013 my wife and I ate lunch at Cantina della Torre. We were greeted by Alessandro, the owner. Thankfully, he spoke English very well. With his guidance, we ordered a selection of local meats, cheeses, caprese and wine. The plate came with two types of honey. One was an amber colored chestnut honey and the other was significantly lighter, to the point of being almost clear. All of the food was wonderful. We finished our meal with barngolino, which is a local digestive. It is made with local berries and has a distinctive sweet, fruity flavor. If you would like to buy a bottle of the digestive then you will have to find one locally since just a short distance out of town it is unheard of. Alessandro's service was excellent. He understood that we were looking to learn about the local area and was able to guide us across the menu to the best choices. As an American, I also appreciated the spotless restroom and the fact that they had hand soap. So many places in Italy have terrible bathrooms! Overall the experience was very enjoyable and an easy choice for anyone that is in the Reggio Emilia area.

Date of visit: October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BrittaniMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro B, Direttore at Cantina della Torre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thanks a lot!!!! i will send to you a bottle of bargnolino!!!!
Enjoy!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cantina della Torre also viewed

Reggio Emilia, Province of Reggio Emilia
Reggio Emilia, Province of Reggio Emilia
 
Reggio Emilia, Province of Reggio Emilia
Reggio Emilia, Province of Reggio Emilia
 
Reggio Emilia, Province of Reggio Emilia
Reggio Emilia, Province of Reggio Emilia
 

Been to Cantina della Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing