We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful View”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of CASA AZZURRA

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Province of Salerno, Campania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Scenic606...
1 review
“Beautiful View”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This house is exactly as it is pictured, beautiful view from the balcony and spacious inside. It is stocked with everything that you could need with a grocery store about 10-15 min away. Praiano itself is built into the cliff so hills and stairs are inevitable in this location. The house is up a good amount of stairs so if staying here you may want to consider that with the luggage you are bringing. The beach is an "easy" (quotes for the hills and stairs involved!) walk and is secluded that if you get there early enough you can get a chair and umbrella, the water is beyond clear. There are some good restaurants in surrounding hotels and it is the perfect spot to get on a bus to Positano or Amalfi for the night. The hosts were extremely helpful in getting us checked in and checked in a couple of times to make sure that we were okay and didn't need anything. They were helpful in answering any questions that we had right away.

One thing about Praiano is that the bus system can be VERY confusing. If you are staying at this location they give you landmarks to look for on the bus but I would recommend asking for bus stop numbers to use.

We loved eating at Costa Diva and took the day trip to Capri on a 12 person boat (sold near the beach).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Ciao!
Thanks again for coming and for the review.
Let's keep in touch.
Giovanna.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanmsus...
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A fabulous place to chill and savour the delights of the Amalfi coast”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Casa Azzurra was amazing. It is about 140 steps up from the main road but is an oasis of peace and tranquility. It was spotlessly clean and equipped with everything we needed for our stay. The bedroom upstairs had an arched ceiling which, being tall, was a bit awkward for us. However we kept everything downstairs ( masses of storage space) and just used upstairs for sleeping and that worked out perfectly as everything we needed was on hand downstairs so no trekking up and down stairs for stuff. The balcony is big and is equipped with two deck chairs, two su beds, a small side table, a very large dining table, 6 dining chairs and two sun parasols. There is also a bamboo canopy which provides welcome shade from the sun and , on the odd occasion that it rained , it gave us shelter from that too . We just loved the balcony and spent masses of time out there gazing out on an open view of the sea and the coastline. It is also very private as most of it is not overlooked by anyone else. There is a small supermarket up the road which will provide you with just about everything that you need. Apart from the litre carton of wine at 1.50, the rest of the wine in the supermarket was very expensive. However, if turn left at the top of the steps (instead of turning right to go to the supermarket) and go downhill for 50m there is another little grocery shop which sells bottles of wine at more reasonable prices. The walk up to the supermarket is beautiful and l have included some photos later in this review. All the locals we met were very friendly and helpful. We ate out twice in Prianao. Once at the Costa Diva and once at La Morressa ( above the supermarket) and bothmeals were excellent. Giovanna was really helpful, right from the start of the booking process until the moment we left when she waved us off in the private transfer car which she had arranged for us at a very reasonable price. If you are looking for an apartment on the Amalfi coast you would be daft not to seriously consider Casa Azzurra for all the reasons above and the fact that it is placed half way between Amalfi and Positano and it has boat services to various other parts of the coast. We would go back in a minute!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fabulous balcony
Liked least: The steps but we got used to them and l suppose it helped work off some of the wine and ice creams!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Dear Susan,
Thanks a lot for coming and the great review!
You are always welcome here.
All the best.
Giovanna.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony g...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stairway to heaven”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Luca and Giovanna, the owners, are fabulous and did everything to make our stay a great experience, including a welcoming glass of limoncella, pastries and even a parting gift of ceramics!! The villa really does have breathtaking views and eating out on the large balcony at night was awesome. It is worth every cent but there are two possible problems. The first is parking if you have a rental car. We contacted Giovanna before arriving and she was able to find a secure parking place for 20 euros a day, good considering it was high season. The second depends on your age and level of fitness because the stairs up (we counted over 140 steps up from the street) are challenging. We are in our late 60s and struggled on the first couple of days but we soon got used to it and became more confident as the days went by. We actually went back fitter than when we arrived ... and burnt off all that pasta!!!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2016
Ciao! Thanks again for coming and the review.
The private parking, when available, is a very good option because close to the apartment and not that expensive (considering that the public one, if you are lucky to find some free space, costs €3,00 per hour).
Anyway, everything is at close distance so using the public transport is recommendable.
About the steps, It's an own Praiano characteristic. One hundred steps is the minimum to climb up!:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caviwa
North Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little slice of paradise on the Amalfi Coast!”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Everywhere on the Amalfi Coast seems beautiful but out of all the towns, we were so glad to have chosen Praiano, and Casa Azzurra for our accommodation.

Praiano seems quieter than the rest of the coast, and it feels much less discovered and more untouched by tourism. There are a couple of small supermarkets and some nice cafés and restaurants nearby and for us, it had everything we needed. It was a pleasure to come back to the peace of Praiano and Casa Azzurra after a long day of walking.

We arrived fairly late due to the buses, and Giovanna's father Luca met us with the warmest of welcomes. He walked us up the steps to the apartment and showed us our beautiful accommodation for the next 5 nights. He even treated us to some cakes and Limoncello on arrival, which after a long journey, was so very welcome! As we were quite late, he also very kindly gave us a lift up to a restaurant nearby.

The apartment is extremely clean and well equipped, complete with local wines and products you can purchase if you wish. We made use of the cooking facilities whilst we were there and found there to be everything we needed, including cleaning products and even a washing machine! The bedroom is upstairs and the ceiling is a little low, but we slept so well in the comfy bed!

The highlight for us had to be the balcony area. What a view!! Being so close to the sea, it feels as if you're on a private cruise and we even spotted a pod of dolphins swim by whilst having breakfast one day! The view was so good that we spent most of our time outside, piling on coats when the sun went in! It truly is a stunning setting.

Throughout our stay, Giovanna kept in touch to make sure we had everything we needed. Unfortunately, my wife sprained her ankle quite badly on the penultimate day, but Giovanna was very helpful in letting us know about pharmacies, and pointing out that there is a very well-equipped first aid kit in the kitchen.

Luca made check-out very smooth, and once again was the perfect host, bringing us delicious coffee to start our morning. As it was the Easter weekend, we had struggled to find bus tickets for our onward journey - in fact there were none left in the whole of Praiano. As a result, he so kindly took us all the way to Positano in his car in order to find some!! In every way, Giovanna and Luca were the best hosts we have ever had and they went well above and beyond the call of duty to ensure we had a perfect stay at Casa Azzurra.

We stayed in some beautiful hotels for the rest of our holiday, but we secretly felt that nothing else lived up to our stay at Casa Azzurra. We had a fantastic holiday and we will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The incredible views from the balcony
Liked least: The steps once I had sprained my ankle!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2016
Ciao Tom,
Thanks a lot for the review and thanks once again for coming.
All the best.
Giovanna & Luca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minealone...
Los Gatos, California
1 review
“Highly recommend - Delightful Stay at a Delightful Apartment”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The apartment was wonderfully located for access to transportation or to walk to everything. It was SPOTLESS and very nicely presented. Everything we needed to get started was in the place (either just for the sharing or for purchase. And everything in the apartment worked

Giovanna was easy to contact and responsive, helpful and flexible throughout

The balcony was gorgeous and we spent a lot of time out there, both day and night

We have rented a lot of places over the years - as an overall experience this rated amognst the VERY BEST

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cleanliness (some of our experiences have absolutely not met our expectatiosn
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing