We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much fun for words”

Africana Famous Club
Ranked #5 of 5 Nightlife in Praiano
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ritornato alla ribalta nell’estate 2011, dopo un’accurata ristrutturazione l’ Africana Famous Club è il nuovo punto di riferimento della vita mondana in costiera amalfitana. Impianti audio e luci di ultima generazione garantiscono una perfetta diffusione audio e un ottima illuminazione della grotta. La programmazione artistica propone sempre grandi nomi per la musica live, lounge e disco.
Reviewed 12 July 2017

What a unique setting, under ground in a cave, Very lively American music and drinks were inexepensive, Felt like a special experience. Especially for a 42 year old.

Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALVATORE D, Owner at Africana Famous Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Dear Laura,

thank you so much for your visit and for your review.
Africana Famous Club is glad to host guests like you, always ready to enjoying life, party and forever young.

We hope to see you again in the club
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"amazing location"
in 5 reviews
"great music"
in 4 reviews
"amalfi coast"
in 19 reviews
"shuttle service"
in 2 reviews
"the cliff"
in 3 reviews
"bottle of wine"
in 2 reviews
"dj"
in 10 reviews
"cave"
in 29 reviews
"disco"
in 6 reviews
"dinner"
in 12 reviews
"table"
in 8 reviews
"sea"
in 11 reviews
Filter

20 - 24 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

Horrible experience. This was one of the only times in Italy that I was scared. They gave us four paper cards when we entered, but didn't tell us that we had to have the cards to exit. Each of us had two drinks each, and tried to pay at the bar but we weren't allowed to pay there. We had to pay upon exit but one of my friends lost her entry card on the dance floor. There were three employees at the exit. They charged us €170 to exit the bar. €170 allowed two of us to exit but they blocked the other two girls from exiting. Three men (6.5 ft/ 200 lbs) blocked my 5'3/ 130 lb friends from leaving the bar. They harassed us for more money and used physical force to keep us in the bar. Finally I called the Carabinieri. The Carabinieri came and I wrote a statement. I intend to press charges on the men who restrained us from leaving the bar. Hopefully this place will get shutdown or have a complete change of management. It's clearly very corrupt and if I hadn't called the Carabinieri, I'm not sure what bad things could have happened to my friends and I.

15  Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALVATORE D, Proprietario at Africana Famous Club, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Dear Amanda,

First, we want to thank you for your visit at the club.
However, in this review we found you really confused about your experience.
Our staff always explain that our system gives to our guests the chance to enjoy music and drinks, giving them a drink card at the entrance.
Only before to leave, on the front desk, guests should be charged of their cards that include entrance fee and drink/s.
Of course, if someone lose his card, we must charge the total amount of the card (that can be maximum 100 Euro each).
We offer very proudly bar with awesome cocktails, transfer from all the main town of Amalfi coast, and exclusive music entertainment and wherever you go you must pay for these services. Sorry if we cannot give it all for free.
No one has ever been restrained or held against his wishes in this club and our staff is very polite and professional and that’s why I am really disappointed to read your lines.

We invite you to come again in the club and have the possibility to change your mind about this club.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017

We unfortunately visited this place in June. We are an engaged couple and were having a lovely holiday and after having a very nice meal locally we came for a few drinks. We want to stress that everywhere else we have visited and been to was absolutely lovely and it is one of the most amazing places we have ever been to. When we arrived there was only a girl on the desk who was very nice and showed us to a table. Drinks have to be paid for at the bar and every drink we had was paid for at the bar before you receive them. The minimum bar spend is £10 and a shisha pipe is £60. The place is beautiful and we enjoyed ourselves until one of the bar staff who was trying to look out for us gave us some tokens and told us that we should look after them as without them we would be charged to leave the premises. This was the first time we had been told of any charge and to be charged to leave a place is criminal in my opinion and very dangerous for obvious reasons such as not having the money to pay etc. When we tried to leave which is also only possible through an elevator there was several guys/security in suits waiting. We produced the tokens that they then threw on the floor and demanded £100. This was the first time we had ever heard of such a charge or fee ( I have never come across this in my life before) . They then tried to force my partner back in to the elevator saying you are in trouble and to withdraw money, he resisted and had to fight to stay out of the elevator. He refused and eventually a manager appeared only to tell us if we didn't apologise we would be in big trouble ( apologise for what?? refusing to be extorted) and the whole time I was been pushed around myself. When my partner refused to apologise and pay them their money the manager instructed the security guys to take him outside where they then tried there best to push him to the floor and beat him up. Luckily they weren't successful but still managed to give him loads of bruises. Please avoid like the plague as it is just plain dangerous and the police will give you no help what so ever and in fact will possibly arrest you instead.

18  Thank Olya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALVATORE D, Proprietario at Africana Famous Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Dear Olya,

First of all we want to thank you for this review, written during such an important day as the New years' Eve and six months after your visit.
We are really sorry to know your bad experience.
Usually, we used to give a drink card to our guests at the entrance, which should be "signed" from the bartender every time you ask for a drink. Before you leave, only in that moment, you should be charged on the front desk (and not at the bar) of the amount of your drink card (that includes the entrance cost+drinks). In exchange for the card will be gave to you the exit pass that all the guests have to show to the security guys to leave the club by one of our 3 exit.
This payment system should be better for the customers because they don't have to manage money during their time at the club, so they can just enjoying music and having fun adding all the drinks on their drink card and paying all before to leave.
If this system will not be enjoyed by other guests we will evaluate the chance to change it, but for the moment the majority of our customer seems to love it.

Anyway, we hope to have the possibility to change your mind about us in the future and we send you best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Africana night club is unlike anywhere else in the world! It is a bar/nightclub in a seacave. It is open to the elements on one side (being a natural cave), but lit up with colored lights inside like a modern disco. But look up and you will see that you are inside a cave. Very modern, but ancient at the same time. It is quite stunning with it's dramatic location and cave setting. This place also has some history too. It was quite the hangout for the stars and VIPs in it's heyday. We were lucky to have Nello (the DJ) and one of the other staff come to pick us up near our villa in their two cute little cars. We are a group of 7 women from California staying in Praiano with no vehicle, so getting all of us to a destination together was always an issue. It was a slow night, so it was "no problem" to come and get us. Once there we got a private tour from Nello. He said he was very "proud" to host 7 women from California. It was mid September, so the crowds of August were gone and we were the party. We arrived, were presented with Prosecco, and soon we were all dancing. We danced and pretty much did not stop for hours, except for the occasional water/alcohol/bathroom break and maybe a scenic detour here and there. It's hard to not stop once in awhile to admire the gorgeous sea views outside. Nello was a great DJ, professional, yet fun, and very cute and sweet! He made sure that we had a fantastic night. He played upbeat music, a good mix so he kept us dancing all night. He was very kind in letting me share the DJ booth (and the cooling fan) with him throughout the night. We danced, sang, and partied up there on that platform until my legs almost gave out. Be forewarned though that it gets very hot in the cave. Being a cave, it is humid and there are lots of zanzare, so bring insect repellent and stay hydrated. It does become like a sauna. We were drenched, but happy! It's not just a place for the very young... as Nello said, age is no matter, every one is young, and he is right. We never felt old while we were there, and I'm pretty sure we were actually the oldest people there. It was truly an amazing night!!! Thanks to Nello for making our night at Africana one of the most memorable nights ever. It is a night we will never forget!!!

4  Thank domrocsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALVATORE D, Proprietario at Africana Famous Club, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Dear guest,

First of all, thank you so much for your visit and for your amazing review.

We are pleased to know that you and your friends had an unforgettable night at Africana Famous Club.

We constantly strive to satisfy every guest because for us you are our number one priority!

Please feel welcome to reach out to us on your future visits to Italy.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2016

The location of the club is amazing being situated right by the water. There is an outside terrace and the rest is inside a cave/grotto. You don't get any better of a setting. At this time of year it is only open Fri and Sat from about 11 pm to 6 am. Depending on the night the entrance fee varies from 15 euros to 30 euros. Included in the entrance fee is a 10 euro drink (All drinks are 10 euros unless you are having bottle service which I don't know about.) On the night we went - we arrived at 12:30 am. There was no line up at the door and the greeting host asked if we had reservations and we said no. That was no problem for getting in and we had checked online before and I knew the entrance fee was 20 euros for that Sat night. They don't say on their site that a 10 euro drink is included with the entrance fee which was a pleasant surprise. They also told us they had a wedding party of 100 people when we asked how busy it was and they said more people had made reservations that would be coming in the next half hour since we thought there was no line up that maybe the club was empty. The wedding party had the whole terrace area reserved - which is fine. However, only people who made reservations had tables to sit at. There is little in the way of sitting - they certainly can't seat anywhere near the number of people they can accommodate in the club - so a lot of people are standing all night. The club got very busy a little later which was great. The music was also great and the dance floor was packed. Maybe about 500 people. I do caution you that you need to hang onto your drinks (which are terrific) because if you leave them alone for a second - waiter staff pick them up thinking you are done with them!!!! Even when they are full!!! We complained right away to a manager and he gave us new drink tickets after we pressed him on it. We enjoyed our time at the club in spite of these issues.

1  Thank perrysoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALVATORE D, Proprietario at Africana Famous Club, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Dear guest,

We are delighted to know you enjoyed your night at Africana Famous Club.

Thank you for your visit and for your detailed review that would help us to identify points that can be improved.

We hope you will come back to us during your next visit to Amalfi Coast.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Africana Famous Club also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Praiano, Amalfi Coast
 
Praiano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Africana Famous Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing