We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“These hosts are professional - and much much more.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa San Tommaso

View from terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from terrace
View from terrace View from path leading to the studio apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
View from terrace
View from terrace
View from path leading to the studio apartment
terrace
Studio flat
steps to the flat
Praia Beach
Walk from Praiano to Vettica - panorama Positano
Positano
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Province of Salerno, Campania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Steve W
Kingston, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“These hosts are professional - and much much more.”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Everything you would expect from a seriously professional organization, but that's just the beginning. They live below the studio, and are readily available to happily assist with any question or concern. We had many questions during the initial booking process - our first holiday in Italy - and they were impossibly patient, with personalized, detailed and prompt responses every time. They amazed us with their flexibility to accommodate our special needs. Many of the reviews laud the location and the scenery, and there is no exaggeration in any of them. Bonus! The studio comes with a fitness program! (I refer to not just the steps, but the entire gruelling topography of the place. There is considerable research as to why Italians have such low rates of heart disease - I know! It's because they climb cliffs to go home!) TA doesn't list much to do in the area, but there is. Side trips to Capri and Pompeii, boat excursions, hiking trails, cooking lessons at local restaurants, and of course many gastronomical offerings from the many nearby restaurants. Hard to improve on a holiday at Casa San Tommaso.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality!
Liked least: Only 1 comfy chair!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2014
Thank you for your kind words (and your medical conclusion!), we are delighted you enjoyed staying with us. We pride ourselves in making sure that all who visit enjoy their stay and if needed, we are at hand to help in just that.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BN1965
Cambridge, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A quiet serene village with breath taking views!”
Reviewed 18 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week in Oct 2014 in Praiano at Casa Tommaso. What a wonderful time from the weather, accommodation and hospitality of our hosts. So happy to have chosen to stay away from the chaos of Amalfi, Positano and Sorrento. Enjoyed the large terrace with breakfast at dawn to dining under the stars. The studio was lovely and very well equipped. Our hosts Pasquale and Giovanna are very charming and interesting and made us feel so welcome. Our visit in Praiano was the highlight of our month long visit to Italy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The terrace views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jukka P
Espoo, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our special haven between the sky and the sea”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

After returning to Casa San Tommaso after 7 years, we were happy to see that the good things had remained and some things had even been improved. This small, tidy, well kept and romantic apartment is perfect for couples. This time we had the exceptional benefit of brushing up our Italian with our kind and generous host Pasquale who provided lots of useful info about the town's history and local customs. Sisina who also lives next door was always available for support if needed. Thank you - we will return!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely fantastic view and peaceful location
Liked least: Carrying groceries and beverages over all those stairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale B
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning views and peaceful location”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful week here in June. Of all the places we've travelled to, the view from Casa San Tomasso is hard to beat! Fantastic terrace, perfect for eating out on! Once you get used to the steps up from the apartment to the street (about 70 of them), it's a short walk down to the supermarket tutto per tutti which although being small has everything you need. For such a small resort there's no shortage of restaurants either. It's a good central location to travel around the Amalfi coast being sandwiched between Positano and Amalfi. We hired a car as we travelled down from Rome but we left it parked up for the week as the coastal road is scary to say the least! The buses run frequently and are cheap to use. The apartment is the perfect place to relax and totally switch off. The owners Pasquale and Giovanna were the perfect hosts, very helpful and hospitable. Pasquale was over at the same time and made us feel so welcome and comfortable, even cooking for us one of the evenings! If we return to this part of Italy again (which we'd love to) we would definitely like to stay here again :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The steps to the apartment
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb54833
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“UNSPOILT LOCATION WITH STUNNING SEA VIEWS”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Casa San Tommaso in April 2013 and had a brilliant holiday. Praiano is the perfect spot on The Amalfi Coast if you're seeking a quiet and unspoilt location and want to avoid the more touristy resorts. The studio is just as described and very well equipped. Definitely worth a mention is the ample amount of wardrobe/ drawer space, quite unusual in a holiday rental. The main feature of the property is the huge terrace with fantastic views that one could never tire of. We spent many days relaxing on the sun loungers, reading, soaking up the sun and enjoying the amazing vista. Other days we visited Pompeii, a must, and Amalfi and Positano. We travelled by Sita buses which we found to be very reliable and far more relaxing than hiring a car and negotiating all those treacherous bends! There are plenty of restaurants in the village but the take away pizza, up the hill from the shop, was our favourite. It was very good value, the food was excellent and you could also eat in or sit at the tables outside. Giovanna's sister lives downstairs and manages the property. We found her to be very friendly and helpful even though she doesn't speak English. We had a wonderful time here. I do hope Praiano retains its charming local atmosphere and stays unspoilt.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The huge terrace with incredible views
Liked least: The steps
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing